We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Culinary Delight in an Unexpected Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Santos

Chef Santos
Ranked #7 of 173 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Culinary Delight in an Unexpected Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

When you pull up, you may wonder if you're in the right location. Chef Santos is located in downtown Salisbury and if you weren't looking hard, you might drive right by it, but if you do, you could be missing one of the best meal's you'll ever experience.

Chef Santos is a native Brazilian, that was recruited to New York to run a very successful restaurant. When he was ready for a slower pace, he opted for the small town feel of Salisbury. So it's an unexpected find.

The restaurant is located on Fisher Street, just off of Main Street. It is very small with limited seating, but maintains a casual atmosphere.

Each meal starts with fresh made bread, dusted with parmesan and lightly toasted, and served with a basalmic dip (made with a secret recipe). The menu offers a range of entrees with chicken, steak and seafood, but there are also spectacular specials depending on what Chef Santos has picked up fresh that day. The average entree price is around $20.

Several members of our party ordered the special shrimp scampi, but we also filets, pasta, and salmon at our table, and everyone truly loved their dishes. The vegetables were cooked perfectly and the flavors were delicious. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyTravelsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The food is awesome and service is good everyone is friendly. The food is hot and fresh and absolutely love eating here . recommend eating here if you are in Salisbury nc

Helpful?
Thank Chanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Located downtown Salisbury. Dont judge by exterior. Best bread made fresh anywhere. Will return if we get within 50 miles. Had sautead scallops. Wife had steak. Both outstanding. Good wines and beer.

Helpful?
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My goodness, yelp was right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Thanks to all for sharing the great info about Chef Santos. I was looking for somewhere new to try and not in Uptown Charlotte with all the extra traffic from the tournament. I read about Chef Santos on yelp and decided to take the 30 minute drive to try it last night. The place was packed but we waited only 10 minutes before being seated in a quite corner of a noisy restaurant filled with happy people. I must say the food was truly amazing. My wife had salmon stuffed with all sorts of Brazilian goodies and I had flounder francaise that was to dies for. Both served with salad or soup, pasta, and grilled veggies. The portions were large and delicious. My wife had to send hers back to be warmed up, a reflection I think of how busy the place was. But a quick heat up and it was excellent as well. Service was friendly and helpful. Desert was a fabulous tiramasu that was just as good as advertised. And before I forget the bread that comes with the meal is to die for. All in all, we can't wait to make it back to Salisbury to try again. CAn't tell a book by its cover as the outside does not give you a clue of the goodness inside. Prices are very reasonable for such excellent food. I will give them a pass on the not hot dish of my wives based on everything else that night.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank artlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“santos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I travel the entire United States and a few foreign countries and the dining experience at Santos is with out a doubt the best anywhere. Hand made, cooked to order everything. Perfect for all occasions. The best

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Santos also viewed

 

Been to Chef Santos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing