We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont be put off by initial appearance!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norseman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Motel & Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stopped by without booking and although we were initially unsure about the hotel you only have to walk into the reception area to realise its fine. We stayed in the two bedroom "flat". We had two bedrooms, a bathroom and sitting area that were all immacutely clean. Both the bedrooms had air con which were needed as it was one of the hottest WA days. Another reviewer has mentioned the linen and I can only agree - the bed was very comfotable and the linen was lovely! The shower was excellent. This hotel will be gorgeous when the owners have finished the renovations.... yes the paint is a bit flaky in places and the wooden floor is ready for a re-sand but really the cleansliness and value make up for this.
We enjoyed the self serve breakfast very early before setting off to Perth.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frequentflyer068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Therese the host was a lovely lady who made us feel welcome. The pub is a short walk away and a self serve breakfast (included) when ever you are ready in the morning is a great service, spot on for those traveling early into the Nullarbor. The dining room was interesting and a nice space to read and relax. True, the room was in need of a renovation but it was clean and our little dogs were welcome inside. For an overnight stay we thought it was great value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brsakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were thinking to stay two days but at the end we have been one week. Great vintage hotel, wonderfull manage. Breakfast incluse and quality/price very good! Therese was excepcional. Does everything for our wellness. Thank you so much.We wish you all the best for 2014!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Out in the sticks, clean and comfortable. It had a good sized fridge and microwave. Floors a little iffy but everything we needed. They even offered breakfast which had everything you needed. Quaint town

Room Tip: Sorry i can't help you. Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This place has received some pretty good reviews, but I have to say that I was a little disappointed. Just like the rest of the town, it has seen much better days. Cracked walls and paint both outside and in. Our room was small with nowhere to sit except on the bed. The bed was a bit on the firm side, but I do realise that tastes vary. The linen was lovely. The TV was modern, but had the worst speaker I've ever come across. I reckon my phone would sound better.
The bathroom was pretty much the same size as the bedroom, with a generous spa bath which worked well. An exhaust fan would be a useful addition to the room. Since we needed to hit the road before 5 am, the "help-youself" toast and cereal breakfast was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogbaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Therese, Mike & Audrey (the blonde dog) are just the best hosts and they make you very welcome. The Hotel/Motel might be old but it has great atmosphere. The “Donga” apartments are clean, comfortable and VERY affordable. The “Free” help yourself breakfast is a nice touch. The motel is pet friendly, so your dog is also welcome. We will be back. Value for money this is the BEST.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Quaint hotel in, pertty much, the center of town. Very friendly management with a cool friendly dog. $95 for a spa room for the night, the most expencive they have, though very clean and comforting. Plus help yourself breaky.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Bryce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Railway Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Motel & Inn

Address: 106 Roberts St, Norseman, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Norseman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Motel and Deco Guesthouse provides a cheaper accommodation option with character and a slightly dilapidated charm. The old hotel has been converted into delightful en suite rooms with large bathrooms and spa baths while the motel units are cheap, clean and comfortable. All the en suite rooms have reverse cycle air conditioning, television, fridge, microwave, kettle and hot drinks. The en suite rooms include a light self serve breakfast in the foyer of the old hotel, which is often quite a social event. The motel does not provide evening meals but guests need only walk 200 metres to the local hotel which provides a range of hearty meals or takeaways. There is also a guest kitchen and a barbeque if guests prefer to prepare their own meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing