We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the Faint Hearted”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norseman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Motel & Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not for the Faint Hearted”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The review dilemma is: does one compare it outright with other motels? Or does one give special consideration for special circumstances? As a motel it doesn't quite cut it: the room had a fridge, cups, spoons, coffee and sugar but no kettle. The state of the building and the bathroom reminded us of an Alfred Hitchcock thriller. I do understand there are other rooms with very nice spas etc.
But if one is a realist and considers that the place is cheaper then a backpackers it comes into a whole new light. The lady who runs the place, Therese, is lovely, and confirming what other reviewers said, the linen is good, clean and fresh. And there's a simple, but free breakfast included too.
Would I come here again? If I was traveling with my grand mother or with infants probably not. But if I was traveling with a few mates and just needed a clean bed for a night; yeah why not?

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    51
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
63
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed overnight here before driving East across the Nullabor. I took a budget room in the main hotel building and the large sweeping staircase in the foyer was nice. As it was a budget room, it was basic and that was OK, the bed was comfortable. Whilst the room and its fittings were old and you could say aged and the common bathroom similarly old, both were clean. There is the character of the "old days" goldfields hotel here in the accommodation and some restoration would definitely add to it. In the mornings you can watch the ore train roll past from the rear balcony.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed in room 1. Clean, spacious with all necessarry amenities. Two bedrooms with a total of three queen and and one single beds. Therese the owner was most accommadating and engaging. If you are overnighting in Norseman this is a good option.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geelong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We were well pleased with our one night stay at this historic establishment. The day was hot so the air conditioning was very welcome. Being able to help ourselves to a continental breakfast early in the morning was convenient allowing us to hit the road whilst most were still in bed. Quaint place, accommodating hosts, comfortable room and value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stopped by without booking and although we were initially unsure about the hotel you only have to walk into the reception area to realise its fine. We stayed in the two bedroom "flat". We had two bedrooms, a bathroom and sitting area that were all immacutely clean. Both the bedrooms had air con which were needed as it was one of the hottest WA days. Another reviewer has mentioned the linen and I can only agree - the bed was very comfotable and the linen was lovely! The shower was excellent. This hotel will be gorgeous when the owners have finished the renovations.... yes the paint is a bit flaky in places and the wooden floor is ready for a re-sand but really the cleansliness and value make up for this.
We enjoyed the self serve breakfast very early before setting off to Perth.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Therese the host was a lovely lady who made us feel welcome. The pub is a short walk away and a self serve breakfast (included) when ever you are ready in the morning is a great service, spot on for those traveling early into the Nullarbor. The dining room was interesting and a nice space to read and relax. True, the room was in need of a renovation but it was clean and our little dogs were welcome inside. For an overnight stay we thought it was great value for money.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brsakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were thinking to stay two days but at the end we have been one week. Great vintage hotel, wonderfull manage. Breakfast incluse and quality/price very good! Therese was excepcional. Does everything for our wellness. Thank you so much.We wish you all the best for 2014!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Railway Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Motel & Inn

Property: The Railway Motel & Inn
Address: 106 Roberts St, Norseman, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Norseman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Motel and Deco Guesthouse provides a cheaper accommodation option with character and a slightly dilapidated charm. The old hotel has been converted into delightful en suite rooms with large bathrooms and spa baths while the motel units are cheap, clean and comfortable. All the en suite rooms have reverse cycle air conditioning, television, fridge, microwave, kettle and hot drinks. The en suite rooms include a light self serve breakfast in the foyer of the old hotel, which is often quite a social event. The motel does not provide evening meals but guests need only walk 200 metres to the local hotel which provides a range of hearty meals or takeaways. There is also a guest kitchen and a barbeque if guests prefer to prepare their own meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing