We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“18 Apl 2014”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Norseman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Railway Motel & Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Room was quite basic but clean. The hotel in general looks a little tired and needs refreshing.
The bed was comfy and we slept well. As it was Good Friday the restaurant was closed. Breakfast was included but is very basic and get your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you are pass through Noresman in Western Australia and just want a place for the night are I would suggest you try The Railway Hotel and Motel. It's not flash but what you get is value for money and a do it yourself breakfast in the morning included in the price.

Room Tip: Hungry? there is a pub about a block away that serves very ordinary pub food but has no end of chara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This motel is an ideal stopover for those needing some bed-rest before they take on the Nullabor or likewise on the other side. This motel is certainly not glamour and glitz but what it is- is an extremely clean and comfortable place to get your rest before resuming your drive. In the morning when you wake you are able to let yourself into the breakfast area to a range of cereal, toast and tea and coffee to put you in good stead for your journey. It is also dog friendly which is a rare find indeed on a drive across Australia! Definitely great value for money!!!

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Simone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The review dilemma is: does one compare it outright with other motels? Or does one give special consideration for special circumstances? As a motel it doesn't quite cut it: the room had a fridge, cups, spoons, coffee and sugar but no kettle. The state of the building and the bathroom reminded us of an Alfred Hitchcock thriller. I do understand there are other rooms with very nice spas etc.
But if one is a realist and considers that the place is cheaper then a backpackers it comes into a whole new light. The lady who runs the place, Therese, is lovely, and confirming what other reviewers said, the linen is good, clean and fresh. And there's a simple, but free breakfast included too.
Would I come here again? If I was traveling with my grand mother or with infants probably not. But if I was traveling with a few mates and just needed a clean bed for a night; yeah why not?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NotQuiteAWinnebago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed overnight here before driving East across the Nullabor. I took a budget room in the main hotel building and the large sweeping staircase in the foyer was nice. As it was a budget room, it was basic and that was OK, the bed was comfortable. Whilst the room and its fittings were old and you could say aged and the common bathroom similarly old, both were clean. There is the character of the "old days" goldfields hotel here in the accommodation and some restoration would definitely add to it. In the mornings you can watch the ore train roll past from the rear balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed in room 1. Clean, spacious with all necessarry amenities. Two bedrooms with a total of three queen and and one single beds. Therese the owner was most accommadating and engaging. If you are overnighting in Norseman this is a good option.

2  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We were well pleased with our one night stay at this historic establishment. The day was hot so the air conditioning was very welcome. Being able to help ourselves to a continental breakfast early in the morning was convenient allowing us to hit the road whilst most were still in bed. Quaint place, accommodating hosts, comfortable room and value for money.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Railway Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Motel & Inn

Address: 106 Roberts St, Norseman, Western Australia 6443, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Norseman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norseman
Price Range: £23 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway Motel and Deco Guesthouse provides a cheaper accommodation option with character and a slightly dilapidated charm. The old hotel has been converted into delightful en suite rooms with large bathrooms and spa baths while the motel units are cheap, clean and comfortable. All the en suite rooms have reverse cycle air conditioning, television, fridge, microwave, kettle and hot drinks. The en suite rooms include a light self serve breakfast in the foyer of the old hotel, which is often quite a social event. The motel does not provide evening meals but guests need only walk 200 metres to the local hotel which provides a range of hearty meals or takeaways. There is also a guest kitchen and a barbeque if guests prefer to prepare their own meals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing