We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Onslow Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Mackerel Islands(Thevenard Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
26
16
10
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
16
10
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach resortstayed herecomfortable bedoverlooking the watermackerelcheck in was quick and easywashing machine and dryerbirthday dinneramazing viewsstaff were friendlylate checkoutnext morningplace to stayocean viewair conbalconymeals
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I'd like to thank you, Scott and the Team for looking after all of us so wonderfully over the last 5 months (some have been even longer). It has been wonderful staying with you guys, and you have treated us superbly. It truly is a wrench having to leave, but we will definitely come back and visit in the future.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were looked after for the period you were hear. The resort has now been refurbished and is looking even better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What a wonderfull little spot, the rooms are fantastic, well priced and overlooking the water and have all the mod cons that you would expect...!
The motel is only a short walk to everything in town, what a bonus!!
The management couple scott & nikki are extremely helpful and friendly, their customer service is second to none
I will definitely be back to stay at The Ashburton Resort Motel again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivbeeneverywhereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Resort is certainly central to town and in a convenient location over looking Beadon Bay.
We are glad you enjoyed the service and time at the resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Maceral Motel
In a word - Onslow ? - Miss it if you can !

122 km to stay at the only Motel in Onslow is disappointing. Admittably management has changed 3 times since we booked 6 months ago, and it seems the concept of customer service has only declined. Not much in this motel works and they take every advantage to charge. The cyclone shutters are permantly lowered causing one to wonder if they are not really secuity shutters (aka bars on the windows) against 'the more disadvantged' local residents.

The local Council policy of spraying for mosquitos carrying encephalitis every night, is both encouraging and concerning.

The local Pub however is very good value - the meals are fine and fit for a mine worker - mere city slickers can dine well on an entree, at a very attractive price compared with the only 'proper' restaurant in town.

1 night in Onslow is ample - No nights is even better.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sbadert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshburtonResort, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very disappointed to read about your negative experience during your stay in November 2010. We would welcome you back to experience the 'NOW' wonderful Customer Service that is provided along with the attention to detail throughout our Resort. You will be truly amazed.....
Onslow itself is ever changing and the town is blessed by its proximity to the ocean and the Ashburton River, just a half hour drive away. The Mackerel Islands are also a must see, often described as a fisherman's paradise. There are 10 islands located 23 kilometres off the coast of Onslow emcompassing coral atolls which boasts perfect white beaches, abundant fish, and spectacular coral for snorkelling. So a night visit just isnt enough in this beautiful piece of paradise.
All Guests comments are vital, however big or small, in making sure we learn from and continue to exceed all of our Guests expectations.I would welcome the opportunity to discuss any further issues with you personally.

Kind regards
Nikki Dagan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were suprised when we found this place- it was not what I had expected. I really liked the rooms- the couch was so comfy! Both the kitchen and bathroom were brand new and very modern- not super fancy but not cheaply done either. Even with all the construction and mine workers around in the morning, we were not disturbed at all. We will definately go back to Onsow again.

Room Tip: As far as I know- every room is brand new.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Great to hear you enjoyed the facilities at the resort. It is certainly an Oasis in the west and a great place to relax, particularly if heading over to the Mackerel Islands...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

What a great spot with awesome ocean frontage, the quality of the Unit accomodation is absolutely superb and will easily exceed your expectations. My thanks to all the friendly & very helpful staff. I highly recommend this Resort to anyone!

Room Tip: The new Units are brilliant although the older style units have the best oceanfrontage ever!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simnat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardTKBrennan, General Manager at Onslow Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
We certainly pride ourselves on our friendly staff! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews