We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed and definitely not worth $350 for one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Pinjarra B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed and definitely not worth $350 for one night!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My partner and I look at all accomodations available in mandurah and made reservations at another hotel, however we found the Lazy River Botique Bed and Breakfast and decided to book there instead as they had a spa which was the main feature we wanted.
We were unable to use the other activities as we had a friends birthday in mandurah that afternoon/night.
When we arrived at the room we turned on the spa to allow it to fill up, we then turned on the jets after waiting 30mins to see alot of black plastic looking dirt come out of the jets and go all through the water.
The milk for breakfast was also in an old jar with no used by date or no detail of what type of milk it was so by then we were put off wanting to try it. We also couldnt sleep at night due to possums in the roof.
When we complained in the morning we were told "that spa was cleaned 2 weeks ago" which didnt sound nice at all, especially as we were in the spa before we turned the jets on. We were not offered any money back or anything, just an apology and told that it must have been disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiquePinjarra, Owner at Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We are however very disappointed that your stay didn't come up to expectations, a bit of a shock for us as this is the first experience we have had of disappointed guests in our 6 years of operation! We do regularly clean the spas so it was even more of a surprise that your spa had this problem. We have, however, now taken steps to make sure this never happens again and infact have a representative from Diversey Spa products coming to visit us today to inspect all the spas and make sure we have the correct cleaning products.
It was a pity you didn't alert us of the problem at the time as we could easily have offered a solution as the spa next door to you was available and you could have made use of that spa, but we weren't told until you checked out.
We choose to put the milk into nice glass bottle containers instead of the plastic shop containers as we think this is a nicer way of presenting it.
We were sorry you didn't take up our invitation of using the facilities the next day and taking a picnic and going kayaking as we are sure you would have enjoyed that experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
89
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went here for our anniversary over the weekend just a quick over night stay! And i'm really glad we found this place in the end! Its something we needed! A quiet, relaxing place with natural surroundings! It's not too far away from Perth aswell!

Service from Steve and Liz was just excellent, such happy and welcoming hosts! they made us both feel both at home and welcomed us along with both their beautiful, well natured dogs! Played a game of tennis and just chilled most of the time on our balcony and Max (one of their dogs) would come and say hello here and there.

Steve cooked us up a storm for dinner and even attempted to cook us a Tuna Tartare which we appreciated so much since he said he hadn't made it before. was delicious!!!!
Entree we had: Prawn/Seafood soup! Soooo much flavour in that!!! we loved it!
Mains: Salmon with veggies and salad
Dessert: Creme Brulee
Thanks so much for that Steve! Liz prepared our brekky and our dinner table, left choccies on the bed - and yes there was just soooo much food =)

We will definitely be coming back! - Felt like we were hours away!

Thanks again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiquePinjarra, Owner at Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure meeting you both and so rewarding for us that you had such a good experience here. Steve always enjoys the challenge of making new dishes and was delighted you enjoyed his tuna tartare that was new to him! We look forward to welcoming you back to Lazy River!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

5 acres (2 hectares) on the banks of the Murray River. Whisper quiet other than the birds it is only a 50 minute drive from Perth city. Operated by a delightful couple with international chef experience they present the property and accommodation beautifully. Enjoy dinner on your balcony orin your room. Each course prearranged is delivered by golf cart to you. Champagne and canapes, nibbles call them what you like arrived pre dinner at 6.00pm and the table was set A beautiful evening and outstanding meal. The lemon brulee I ordered was first class. I like that I was able to discuss the menu a couple of days before so we could enjoy what we wanted....a great idea. Overall a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeovil32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

After we we're give red balloon vouchers as a present, my boyfriend and I decided to use it for a short get away as we were both in desperate need of a break.
As we didn't want to go to far from Perth when we saw Lazy River retreat it sounded perfect.
Our 2 night stay was amazing. Liz and Steve were very welcoming along with their 2 beautiful dogs. We loved the breakfast hamper and thought it was such a great idea. Along with the chocolates Liz would leave on your pillow.
After having Steve Cook dinner for us on the 2nd night we really regret not having dinner the 1st night as it was amazing. There is no where to eat in Pinjarra that is to Steve's standard. Keep up the good work :)
Having activities available was also fantastic and we loved the peace and quiet whilst Kayaking down the river.

Even after 2 nights we left feeling very happy and relaxed.

Thank u Steve and Liz, you have definitely made something special and we can't wait to come again.

Highly Recommended!

Kerry & Joel x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiquePinjarra, Owner at Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Lazy River and very much look forward to looking after you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We picked Lazy River for a company retreat, to brainstorm idea's for our company. This turned out to be a great decision, as it was very peaceful with lovely scenery and great hosts. We used the communal living area for meetings (as it was during the week) which had a big table and coffee/tea facilities. Steve makes fantastic dinners and Liz thinks of everything for the comfort of the guests, including choccie's on the pillows! The rooms are VERY nice. We also took a quick trip to Mandurah, which is close by. Would definitely recommend Lazy River for a small company retreat or just a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiquePinjarra, Owner at Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review. This was the first time we have hosted a company retreat and delighted it worked so well for you and for us! We hope you will be back for some more inspired brain-storming and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful setting and rooms. Everything was made of wood and was so rich with African decor. We were stuck inside for the weekend due to rain but we didn't mind. We just opened the blinds and watched the horses and the birds and relaxed.
I was hesitant to try the steak because of a medical condition but after sampling the salmon, I gave it a go: best steak I have ever had in my life.
We will definitely be going back for a second sampling.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My partner and I needed to get out of Perth for a night and booked Lazy River based on previous great reviews here, all of which we agree with!

The setting, though very close still to Mandurah and the freeway, is totally peaceful and rural, with horses grazing in the fields opposite the rooms and loads of birds and those crazy guinea fowl everywhere! It was nice to have a range of activities on site that we could do, and on a sunny day there are loads of prime picnic/lazing about spots, and having a little kayak trip down the lazy river was a highlight for us too.

The rooms are fairly simple and small but cosy and have everything you need, including a lovely spa bath, and the communal areas are a good bonus, it would definitely be fun to come back with family or friends.

Steve's food is as promised - we ate far too much but couldn't stop - had to try everything! The 3 course meal was totally worth it, but even the canapes that come with the room are brilliant, and we enjoyed meeting Sue and Liz when they come to deliver the treats each time :)

Only one small critisism - fly screens could be useful as letting the fresh air in also let in a lot of mossies! Though bug spray and citronella candles are provided...

Back in Perth and feeling super relaxed, wish we could have stayed longer....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lutaylor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoutiquePinjarra, Owner at Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed the break you really needed. Our fault.....we should have told you we have fly screens! We have a velcro strip round the glass doors to which we attach a fly screen. We only get mossies and flies for such a short time we came up with the idea of having a 'mobile' screen and for the rest of the year can enjoy uninterrupted views with no screens!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pinjarra
11.0 mi away
Seashells Mandurah
Seashells Mandurah
#1 of 7 in Mandurah
526 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
970 reviews
10.7 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Murray River Lodge Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Pinjarra Motel
Pinjarra Motel
#1 of 1 in Pinjarra
39 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairbridge Village
Fairbridge Village
#2 of 3 in Pinjarra
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Wilson Rd, Pinjarra, Western Australia 6208, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Pinjarra
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pinjarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lazy River Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing