We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“R & R with beauty, peace and quiet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salter Path
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
William and Garland Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salter Path
Reviewed 21 August 2010

I, along w/my husband and in-laws stayed for 4 nights after a hard 3 weeks of working and we had the best time! It is the perfect place to rest, hang out on a beautiful beach, walk to some pretty good restaurants and have the pleasure of getting to know Peggy, William and their 3 dogs, Molly, Winnie and Woodroe. There is a private trail from the motel to the beach that is about a 2 minute walk and what a beautiful beach! We fished (and caught a shark among a bunch of other fish) and collected a huge assortment of shells. The rooms are quaint, we had one with a kitchen, but there are a variety of rooms and mobile homes to rent. My dog Snoopy was even invited for play dates with their 3 dogs. The motel is on a busy street but you don't hear a sound whene you're in your room. Each room has 2 chairs by your door if you want to sit outside. If you need anything Peggy and William and their staff are there for you but if don't want to be disturbed, then you won't be. I would definately stay again and highly recommend going there, you'll become a fan! Thanks for a terrific stay Peggy and William, we hope to be back. Mary, Dan and Snoopy

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3cruizers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

We recently returned from another wonderful visit with Peggy and William at The William and Garland in Salter Path, N.C.. My wife, two kids, Boston Terrier and I stayed in one of their fully furnished mobile homes. Everything was clean, neat, and in great shape! Our towels, wash cloths, soap and toilet paper were restocked daily. The nature trail and beach were clean and not crowded. We grilled fresh seafood from Willis' which is right across the street and enjoyed shrimp and oyster burgers from Big Oak which was next door. Thanks Peggy and William for another excellent vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Orastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This was our first family trip to the east coast. We wanted to show our grandkids the beauty of the ocean and experience coastal living. This was the perfect place for us. The efficiency room was way more than we expected. It was very clean, had comfortable beds, dishes, pots & pans, a front porch, a clothesline and peaceful inviting atmosphere. The owners were extremely friendly and seemed to really appreciate their guests. Even the resident cat came to join us for dinner each night.They provided a lovely path just a short walk to the beach. Everything we needed was nearby. A seafood market right across the street, grocery store within a short drive, hardly any traffic, just the perfect place to stay if you're a beachbum at heart. We hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lora1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We love it! So quiet, at ease with our babies (our pets) with us, and knowing that the people who were there cared enough about their babies to bring with them also.

Thanks for having such a wonderful place.

Adrienne & Trey Rice
Massiy (cat) & Weezer Bunny (dog)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adb0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

MOLDY rooms, it was disgusting, especially room 5!! AVOID! Very old fashioned, tiny tv, tiny shower, no locks on bathroom door, but most importantly, the owners are extremely rude if you have any complaints. They will attempt to kick you out and say "we didn't want you here anyway". My mother and I are respectful, quiet people but we had to say something after waking up not able to breathe (because of mold). Only plus is location-nice private beach. Keep in mind, the owners won't clean your room unless you ask.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JENNN2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

My parents, grandmother, husband, and I stayed at this motel for a vacation trip.The reason we stayed at this motel was because we could bring our two dogs. Once we entered the rooms we immediately smelled mold. After one night of stay we had side effects from the mold: sore, closed up throat, coughing, etc. I decided to sleep in the car it was so bad. When we confronted the owner about the problem she stated that there was no mold and she refused to inspect the rooms. After taking a shower, we also found that there was a huge puddle of water near the bed. We confronted the owner about the leaking pipes and she stated "someone wet the bed". We are all grown adults (over 21) and clearly we don't wet the bed anymore! The owner was very derogatory and disrespectful in dealing with the situation. We immediately wanted to leave a day earlier than planned (which she said that we HAD to leave or she would call the police (for telling her that we smelled mold and we were not satisfied with the rooms! ). My husband also killed roaches crawling up the side of his bed. If you are used to roaches, mold growing behind walls, and inhospitable owners (who are clearly in denial about their problem) then I would say this motel would be great for you! The health department needs to be contacted with this building because it is a health risk for those who enter it. The owner stated that the health department inspects the rooms and gives them a high rating monthly but she was not able to furnish any supporting documentation. I truly feel sorry for anyone who goes this place. As a registered nurse, I was completely disgusted and concerned for my family's well being.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveler144467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posmith, Owner at William and Garland Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Our motel is a small family motel. We do not have a swimming pool or phones in the rooms, but we do have air conditioning, color tv with cable, full efficiencies and all linens for the room, free wifi and each room is provided with clean towels and wash cloths every day. If our guests need more, then they are welcome to ask for whatever they need. If we have it, we will provide it. We do go in the rooms and change towels and wash cloths every day that the guest is here and we also take out the trash and replace trash bags. We have Orkin come and spray our rooms every month. We have not received any complaints about roaches and we have not received any complaints about mold and mildew. In fact, we are told that our rooms are fresh and very clean and we do receive a 100% grade from our health department inspections. There are very few motels that have a grade that high. We do all our own work and if we received complaints about anything that is relevant and true, then we handle them in a quick manner. Not all guests are happy and if that happens then we return their money and they leave. There is not any reason at any time for them to make a scene or get ugly. We usually have great folks who come and stay with us, but there is always someone who is not happy and feel as though they have to 'get back at us' for whatever imagined reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

My husband and I have stayed here many times. WE love the selucsion, and the hospitality you receive when going. The owners are very nice, and dogs and cats are welcome. WE don't have any but our daughter has a small dog which is great since her family goes with us some times. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends. It's not a luxury hotel but it's affordable, clean, convenient, and quite all of which we want. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loveracing9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salter Path
6.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
8.3 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
271 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
778 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
220 reviews
8.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#7 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to William and Garland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about William and Garland Motel

Address: Highway 58, Salter Path, NC 28575
Region: United States > North Carolina > Salter Path
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Salter Path
Price Range: £34 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
William And Garland Hotel Salter Path

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing