We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting

An interesting place to stop and visit. We visited with a baby and a 3yo so we did not go down the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
lissabelle
,
Darwin, Australia
via mobile
Stop off on way to Wyndham

The Grotto isn't far off the road to Wyndham. There's a short walk across open countryside, then a... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Judy12343
,
Sydney, Australia
Read all 38 reviews
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
8
23
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
23
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steep climb deep pool wet season rock face lovely place to visit swimming hole worth a visit footwear falls colour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An interesting place to stop and visit. We visited with a baby and a 3yo so we did not go down the steps to the bottom. It was a nice walk around the perimeter though for a look. Pretty awesome landscape too.

Thank lissabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Grotto isn't far off the road to Wyndham. There's a short walk across open countryside, then a series of steps (no handrails) down into the grotto. It has a deep pool of (cold) water that's excellent for a swim. Towards the end of the dry season the water won't be as nice. It's amazing to see how this great green grotto just appears in the middle of arid countryside.

Thank Judy12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

You must visit this place if you are around Wyndham. The locals love it and they go there for swims regularly on hot days.

The stairs down to the grotto are steep so sturdy shoes are recommended. Also take plenty of water with you on hot days.

Once you get there, you will get a nicely shaded water hole. Apparently the water can be over 100m deep!!

The locals mentioned there are water lizards which are not aggressive but we didn’t see any when we were there.

Thank Jane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Hmmm, you have to see it to say you’ve seen it. A couple of kms off the main road, a good car park with lots of turning space, 144 steps down to a pool of very dark green water with lots of big rocks a
few trees with some ferns and palms clinging to a wet rock face. The pool is apparently 100 m deep but has a very unhealthy dark green colour to it.

Thank Wally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

A friend and I decided to tackle the steps down to the grotto and we did not regret it.

The steps down were a bit daunting without a and rail but it was gorgeous at the base. I would not take kids under 10 years of age down the steps.

Thank kmn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Well, that's what it looks like....you have 144 steps to negotiate without a handrail, but it is scary only at the first few meters, afterwards it is an easy descent. You feel small in the presence of huge limestone walls of the Grotto. Good for a swim, but it is mentioned that some places can be as deep as 100m especially in the wet season. I want to go and see it in the wet season with its multiple water falls...

Thank amu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

On our travel between Kununara and Wyndham is the Grotto! An intriguing place 80 ft below the surface. Just looks like a gash in the harsh landscape till you descend down the 140 steps to a very different world below with its cool tranquil pool strange rock formation . The sign says it is 300 ft deep as the rock wall is 80 ft that makes the waterhole 200+ ft deep. We spent a couple of hours there could've stayed down there longer

1  Thank Irene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

We decided to walk to the bottom of The Grotto even though there was no obvious water flow. It was worth the effort. There was lots of water just seeping out of the rock. It's a very pretty place.

Thank paulg19688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a spot to see even if just from the top BUT make the effort to climb down the steep steps & the reward is truly special

Thank Restless59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Well we were encouraged to go to the Grotto and so we went. It was a beautiful view from the Top but with 3 kids and one of them a very active 2 year old we could not walk down the "man made" VERY STEEP steps let alone UP. There is no railing or guard to keep kids and or adults safe from falling and there are some very deep falls if you slip. There were people down the bottom swimming and it looked awesome, had I been on my own with no 2 year old I certainly would have made the trek. Getting up again looks like it would be a struggle for some as well.

Thank Queenserena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews