We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
216
35
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
35
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand housesconeshomemade yogurtgrand pianohome madecontinental breakfast ishome away from homeother guestscomplimentary portevening portpoached pearon arrivalattending a weddingmodern homea great place to staytown centre
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our 3 bedrooms unit was super comfortable with lots of extras - videos, extra rugs, big screen TV and best beds. Residents lounge with fire place, port, wine, tea and coffee. Felt like staying with friends. Highly recommend

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhouse6302, Owner at The Grandhouse York B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi Jill, Thankyou for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our upstairs three Bedroom family "View Suite". We love watching the sunset through those huge windows and I am sure you managed to enjoy it as well.
It is our aim to treat our guests the way we like to be treated, and we are honoured that you felt like you were staying with friends - it is certainly the way we prefer our guests to feel.
PS We LOOOVE those beds as well!
Once again - thankyou :) Kindest Regards Ron and Leanne Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We had 4 nights at the Grandhouse - it's rather a standout as a B and B by its hosts kindness thoughtfulness and generosity. Homebaked afternoon tea, a complementary cooked brekky thrown in, and we were upgraded out of kindness.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank GingerK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhouse6302, Owner at The Grandhouse York B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thankyou for your kind review. We try to upgrade our guests to a larger room whenever we are able to do so and I am pleased that on this occasion we had the availability. (I personally love arriving somewhere and being advised I have an upgrade - YAHOO I say!)
An extensive continental breakfast is provided as standard for our guests, but our multi night mid week guests can also look forward to the odd treat/bonus (or two!) as a special acknowledgement our of thanks. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed these extra "treats" and we wish you safe future travels, wherever they make take you. Kindest Regards Ron and Leanne Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Our stay in the Grand house was fantastic. Leanne made our time in York a memorable one. She helped us beyond what normally could be offered. Loved fresh egg country breakfast.

Many thanks Leanne and we will come back again.
Seema and Sangram Jadhav

Room Tip: Great Service and Hospitality
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jadhavsangram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

From the moment we arrived at the Grandhouse on the Friday afternoon until the time we check out on Sunday we were made to feel very welcome, the complimentary wine and beer were very much appreciated on arrival and Leanne's hot blueberry muffins to take with us on our journey home were wonderful.

Leanne was a wonderful and thoughtful host who provided us with a delicious breakfast on both days of our stay that included lovely home made muffins and gorgeous stewed pears from their own fruit trees.

The Grandhouse itself is a wonderful purpose built B&B tastefully decorated to ensure that guests feel at home, the house includes a piano for those so inclined and the hosts have a good selection of board games and dvd's for those cold winter days snuggled up by the fire.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandhouse6302, Owner at The Grandhouse York B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

So pleased you enjoyed our blueberry muffins and stewed pears -they are definate favourites of our guests .
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and we wish we you both Good luck and good fortune with your future cycling endeavours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed two nights with a number of other family and friends attending a wedding in York. Leanne was a wonderful host and full of local knowledge that made our stay all the more interesting, informative and entertaining. Our room was comforatable and spacious. The residents' lounge was warm and welcoming. The breakfast was substantial - and on one morning we opted for the cooked breakfast, which was delicious: as were the scones that appeared one afternoon. All in all a first class B&B and would highly recommned it. Paul & Shelley Griffiths, MIlton Keynes, UK

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Paulmk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews