We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Grandhouse York B&B(York)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
York Motel(York)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Courtyard Faversham House(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
112
25
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
25
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roombrown roomlemon butterdining roomservants quartershomemade jamsother guestscomplimentary sherrycontinental breakfastthe ownerlord and ladypepper treebalcony accesssister hotelshort walkold world charmtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We had read the reviews and had high expectations of Faversham house and it did not disappoint! Beautiful house and gardens just a couple of streets back from the main street of York, steeped in history and crammed full of historic furniture and possessions. Alex, the current manager, showed us around the many rooms explaining the history of the house as he went before taking us to our room-and what a room. Very spacious, top class fixtures and bedding and obviously loved by the current owners (who were unfortunately on holiday- would have loved to have met them). This leads onto the verandah with fantastic views of Mount Brown and the surrounding countryside. Alex kindly booked us in for dinner at Alice in the Palace and after lunch and a wander around town we returned to Faversham house, bottle of wine in hand, to sit on the verandah and enjoy the view. Complimentary sherry in the drawing room was a lovely touch and we and other guests in the house made use of that and the lovely wood fire which kept the chill off as the evening drew in (be prepared to get to know your fellow guests, it is that kind of place!). Breakfast in the morning was very good, cereals, fruit and yogurt and lots of homemade jams and lemon butter to have with toast. We felt very privileged to stay in the house with so many historic and rare artefacts on display, the trust is immense.

Room Tip: Mount Brown room leading onto the verandah is perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We had an amazing experience at Faversham house! Beautiful House and beautiful staff! We stayed in the oriental suite which was absolutely luxurious! Breakfast was delicious! We especially loved the home made jams. Beautiful views of York! We enjoyed every minute of our stay! It was an absolutely perfect getaway and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veronica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We booked only a single night to stay while attending the BWA York Cyclo Sportiff. We had huge dramas with making our reservation using booking.com. We booked online, entered credit card details etc and even received a confirmation email. 2 days later booking.com emailed to say we were charged the incorrect rate and we had to pay more. A couple of phone calls later and it was sorted - They agreed on the original price as it was not our fault.

The week before our arrival we received a call from the owner to say that the rate charged was still incorrect. Backwards and forwards, and we had to cancel the booking.com reservation and book directly with the hotel at the higher rate to maintain our reservation. Very stressful when we needed the accomodation for an event in only a few days time. In the end we were given a 'special discount' and the total was only $5 more then the original reservation weeks ago. Really not worth the stress and mucking around for $5. Why they even bothered is beyond me.

The muck around with the reservation aside, once we arrived the place was lovely. The sitting room was relaxing, and even had sherry in a decanter for all to share. We stayed in the Olive Tree room, which was just as described. The included breakfast was delicious.

We went for dinner to the sister hotel in town. Alice in the palace. Again there was a muck around with reservations, and ordering - I am allergic to garlic. I ordered the beef cheeks originally, but was told at the last minute it couldn't be prepared without the garlic mash side, even with checking before ordering, so had to change to the gnocchi. All the other mains were great.

Was a little confused by the policy of adding 10% to the total for split billing. Not an issue for us, we just split the bill ourselves.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola B, Owner at Faversham House York, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Jason

thanks for taking the time to give us feedback.

Firstly the reservation was made on a single person rate through Booking.com, though you wanted a room for two persons. The single person rate has now been removed, as it caused issues for you, another guest and also for us. Hopefully it will not be a cause for stress any further.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the House though, and hope you will return on another occasion.

I'm sorry that your meal was less than satisfactory. The waitress could have served the meal without garlic mash and offered chips, but when the chef realised that this was not a matter of choice, but of allergy, he informed the waitstaff that the beef cheeks also included garlic. That is why you were told that it 'all' contained garlic and hence my remarks when I table checked you.

Regarding the split bills, recently we have had large parties asking at the end of the meal for individual bills (not just split evenly) which has meant that staff are held up at the till processing up to 20 bills, most with credit cards. This means that service is then delayed to other customers. 10% is only added if the split is 4 or more, and this is to encourage guests to do what you did, which is to do the math and pay once. 10% on an average meal is only $4-$5. Many restaurants will not accept split bills at all. We try to find an equilibrium that suits everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

The house is more than a hundred years old and all of their furnitures and decorations are very authentic. Despite this, you won't feel burdened by its old age but will only be charmed and comforted due to great management and well-thought out renovations of the house. The authenticity of the place is added tremendously when the manager gave us a tour and explain the house's history to us. The living room with a fireplace where we can freely read books or relax (or use free wi-fi because we know you would) was also very cozy. They truly deserve to be more well-known.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gawin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola B, Owner at Faversham House York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Gawin

thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at Faversham House. Alex our lovely Italian manager, has embraced his role so passionately and this shows in his interest in showing guests over the house and explaining the history. This is all the more remarkable considering that his previous home was in the most historical part of Rome! Praise indeed. Please come and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

My parents stayed here when they visited us in WA. We accompanied them to thus B&B and we're invited in for a tour. What a wonderful place it is! The owner tells a lot about the history, which is so nice. And the rooms are great! I would definitely recommend this place to everybody. If is an attraction on its own.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank François V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nola B, Owner at Faversham House York, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Francois

Thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to Faversham House. I'm glad you were able to see over this grand place. So much history, you really need several days to fully take it all in. And we have not sacrificed comfort to enable guests to enjoy this part of WA's past. thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews