We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning wedding venue and B&B”
Review of Laurelville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurelville
Ranked #2 of 16 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning wedding venue and B&B”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I married at Laurelville in April 2013.

Laurelville made such a beautiful backdrop to our wedding weekend. All our wedding guests commented on what a beautiful setting it was. Our closest family and friends stayed with us in Laurelville's rooms, and they were all delighted with the quality of the rooms and all the little details.

Sandra was incredibly helpful, making suggestions along the way and pulling all the strings on the weekend to make sure that everything ran smoothly, without us having to worry.

We are looking forward to a return visit soon as well as coming back to spend our wedding anniversary.

Thanks Sandra and Phil.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    12
    0
    1
    7
See reviews for
19
60
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Laurelville is a beautiful, gigantic old house, a pleasant walking distance from the main strip of York. As much as I like York, there is normally not a lot to do there, so Laurelville is a perfect place to stay - the lovely hosts have provided enough things to do to while away a relaxing weekend.
There were games, billiards and to our surprise a delicious selection of fresh, home made cakes put out on saturday afternoon. We weren't the only guests to enjoy a glass of wine and a book in the sun on the balcony in the afternoon.
Te rooms were lovely, with great views out over the valley, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was great for the cold winter nights.
I have to disagree with some other posts - My partner and I were welcomed by Sandra (who was lovely) and Phil, and never felt like less than honoured guests.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with a view towards mt brown are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had our wedding at Laurelville in May. It was our perfect dream wedding.. and the venue was one of the main reasons for that! It is very reasonably priced and Sandra went above and beyond to help us before the wedding and even setting up and on the day of the wedding! We did not expect her to include a lot of the things that she did, which was a very pleasant surprise - especially before the wedding when everything is so stressful!

Our entire Bridal Party stayed at the Manor for the weekend and every single bedroom was amazing and immaculate! Everyone who went into the Manor was amazed and so impressed by the house and all of the details. Sandra has thought of everything - every bedroom is beautifully decorated, they have little fridges, heated floors in the bathrooms, heated towel racks, electric blankets - which were all amazing especially on a cold morning in May! Every room even have beautiful little tea sets, chocolates and lollies to keep you going.
Every one who stayed commented on the amazing bedding - we all had the best sleep of our lives and the beds were so comfortable and beautiful!

In the mornings Sandra goes around and asks everyone what they would like for their cooked breakfast and her husband cooks everyone their own meals, as well as having a full continental breakfast buffet set up. There is tea and coffee machine facilities in the dining room so you can self serve, but Sandra was always offering to make them for us so we wouldn't have to worry! She was amazing the entire weekend. On the day of the wedding she also had prepared lunch for everyone to ensure we were all fed.

The effort they go to for weddings and the things they include, is amazing. They set up lawn games for your guests to play, they set up two huge amazing chandeliers in the trees for us, they have all of the gorgeous white tiffany chairs, they set up an entire bar area for you, the list goes on! We had so many extra things and details we wanted and Sandra and her staff helped us set up the entire reception, as well as helping us pack it all away again.

The manor is incredible for wedding photos as well, there are so many beautiful spots and details. The bridal room is also perfect for a wedding! There is even a dressing room with a huge rack to hang your gown and all of the suits and bridesmaids dresses. In the ensuite their is a beautiful white claw foot bath tub. The room is seriously amazing.

I honestly could go on and on about how perfect and beautiful this venue is! We will definitely be going back next year for our 1 year anniversary! I cannot recommend this venue enough!

Thank you Laurelville for making our wedding perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessStuart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Laurelville is a beautiful property, ideally situated on the outskirts of York town. It is within easy walking distance to the main attractions of York. It's hard to sum up this building as words to justify its elegance are hard to find.

My partner and I came to York for a weekend break... We wanted to get away from the city and relax and be comfortable. Laurelville more than exceeded our expectations. Arriving late on the Friday night, we found that Sandra had very kindly upgraded us to the bridal suite as it was not being used. If the bridal suite is available for your stay, it is certainly worth the money- the bed is fantastic, the bathroom is large and spacious with underground heating and there's also a separate living space adjoining the bedroom and bathroom.

The property in its own right deserves 5 stars, however it is the additional touches that he owners have added that truly make this place what it is.

In our room, we had three jars of sweets/lollies, dressing robes and slippers, plentiful free toiletries, hair dryer and straighteners, even a torch and of course free tea and coffee (with a multitude of choice of tea) and a jug with fresh milk in our mini fridge.

Breakfast was beautiful, served in a dining room with a free coffee machine and biscuits/marshmallows for guests to use throughout their stay (and and an even greater variety of tea bags to choose from!!).

My partner and I took a walk to mount brown lookout, and on returning to laurelville we were greeted with afternoon tea- freshly made scones with cream and jam, and a freshly baked caramelised pear and ginger cake. Furthermore, the logfire had been lit in the billiards room- just what we needed after a wintery walk! Beer and wine were offered to us as well.

We were so comfortable and relaxed that evening that we decided we didn't even want to leave the house for dinner, instead opting for a Chinese takeaway allowing us to stay in the comfort of the bridal suite.

I was once told that the difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra...
And laurelville certainly offers lots of extra.

So if you haven't booked laurelville already- do it now, as only negative thing about this place is having to leave it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A cynic might wonder about the origin of some of the negative reviews.
This place is a gem. Beautifully decorated to the point of opulence, but a relaxed atmosphere at the same time.
Hosts at no time intrusive, but somehow always there if needed.
Both as elegant as the house itself.
50th birthday party weekend , whole place booked, with a fairly boistrous lot.
Wonderful time had by all.
A very affordable way to really pamper yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, understated elegance is the most fitting description for this hidden jewel in the West Australian countryside. The exquisitely appointed rooms and the unintrusive friendliness of the owners who, without fuss or ceremony, make you feel like you have always lived here. If you are looking for a peaceful, relaxed and stress free escape close to Perth, or the ideal location for a fairytale period wedding, I cannot recommend a better place in WA.
We spent the weekend at Laurelville in the company of 13 friends to celebrate a 50th birthday and left feeling relaxed and special.
The reverse cycle air conditioned rooms have either heated floors or heated towel rails and luxurious fine quality NZ linen and Bemboka woolen blankets. All the extras you would expect from 5 star accommodation are provided, as is a wonderful cooked to order breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCock123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

after reading that Laurelville was rated in the top weekends away in the sydney morning herald, i decided to book a night for my sister and me when i last visited her in Perth.

it was really wonderful. Dionne my sister loved the dainty little teacups and chocolates we found in our room and adored the garden, she spent ages pottering around the vast garden beds coming up with ideas for her own garden.

i loved the luxury of the really comfy beds, fine bedlinen and beautiful decor. it felt like i was in a luxury manor house in the countryside.

we ordered the cheeseboard and sat on the front veranda drinking cold white wine and watched the sky change as the sunset.

Phil and Sandra are really warm and helpful and really made us feel special.

Room Tip: i liked the upstairs room with all the windows overlooking the york hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sel512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Faversham House York
0.7 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
0.9 mi away
Hillside Country Retreat
0.6 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#9 of 16 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelville

Property: Laurelville
Address: 18 Panmure Rd, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurelville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the side of Mt Brown overlooking York and the Avon Valley, Laurelville is a stately turn-of-the-century Edwardian two story residence with wide bullnosed verandas, distinctive gables and elegant turrets, very high ornate ceilings, open fireplaces, an ornate timber staircase and polished original timber floors. Laurelville has been completely refurbished to create a beautiful, elegant and uniquely Australian country house destination. Relax in luxury and experience the finest of Western Australian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Laurelville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing