We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay again”
Review of Laurelville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laurelville
Ranked #2 of 16 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We returned to Laureville recently and it was just as perfect and wonderful as last year. Noticeably different was the garden it was in full bloom and smelled divine. We ordered the cheese platter and sipped wine on the balcony all afternoon. We had pre-ordered the soup which was so delicious with fresh baked bread. Breakfast was delicious and I'm still thinking about the rhubarb compote. Thank you to the lovely hosts Phil & Sandra, we will certainly be back hopefully for a 2 night stay.

Room Tip: The verandah room is beautiful it has a lovely bathroom but it is down the hall. This was not a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_relaxed_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a superlative location for a wedding.

No expense has been spared to create idyllic surroundings in this spectacular turn of the century colonial home. Sandra's attention to detail coupled with her experience in event management meant that the entire weekend ran with fairy tale precision.From the minutiae of champagne and chocolates on arrival to rooms which were luxuriously appointed, delicious home cooked meals, crisp white table settings with Villeroy and Boch candleabras, chandeliers hanging from ornamental trees in gardens where hundreds of roses were in bloom, every aspect was perfect.

if you are planning an event of any kind, whether it be a quiet weekend away or a significant occasion such as a wedding, I know of no other place in Western Australia like Laurelville, which can provide the luxury, the attention to detail and the personal touch that we experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was lucky enough to have my partner book Laurelville for us for a mid week getaway for one night. I thoroughly enjoyed Laurelville from the sensational cake baked especially for us on arrival to the magnificent breakfast we enjoyed before checkout. Two nights would have been wonderful also to fully appreciate all Laurelville has to offer. Would definately return. Location is perfect walking distance to town of York .

Room Tip: Bridal suite was breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As a present for their 50th wedding anniversary, we kids gave our parents a couple days stay at Laurelville Manor. They came back raving about a beautifully restored old house, an extremely comfortable & luxurious suite, a 'divine' afternoon tea and a really relaxing, friendly atmosphere that made their trip away extra special & memorable. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband and I married at Laurelville in April 2013.

Laurelville made such a beautiful backdrop to our wedding weekend. All our wedding guests commented on what a beautiful setting it was. Our closest family and friends stayed with us in Laurelville's rooms, and they were all delighted with the quality of the rooms and all the little details.

Sandra was incredibly helpful, making suggestions along the way and pulling all the strings on the weekend to make sure that everything ran smoothly, without us having to worry.

We are looking forward to a return visit soon as well as coming back to spend our wedding anniversary.

Thanks Sandra and Phil.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Laurelville is a beautiful, gigantic old house, a pleasant walking distance from the main strip of York. As much as I like York, there is normally not a lot to do there, so Laurelville is a perfect place to stay - the lovely hosts have provided enough things to do to while away a relaxing weekend.
There were games, billiards and to our surprise a delicious selection of fresh, home made cakes put out on saturday afternoon. We weren't the only guests to enjoy a glass of wine and a book in the sun on the balcony in the afternoon.
Te rooms were lovely, with great views out over the valley, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was great for the cold winter nights.
I have to disagree with some other posts - My partner and I were welcomed by Sandra (who was lovely) and Phil, and never felt like less than honoured guests.

Room Tip: I think the rooms with a view towards mt brown are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We had our wedding at Laurelville in May. It was our perfect dream wedding.. and the venue was one of the main reasons for that! It is very reasonably priced and Sandra went above and beyond to help us before the wedding and even setting up and on the day of the wedding! We did not expect her to include a lot of the things that she did, which was a very pleasant surprise - especially before the wedding when everything is so stressful!

Our entire Bridal Party stayed at the Manor for the weekend and every single bedroom was amazing and immaculate! Everyone who went into the Manor was amazed and so impressed by the house and all of the details. Sandra has thought of everything - every bedroom is beautifully decorated, they have little fridges, heated floors in the bathrooms, heated towel racks, electric blankets - which were all amazing especially on a cold morning in May! Every room even have beautiful little tea sets, chocolates and lollies to keep you going.
Every one who stayed commented on the amazing bedding - we all had the best sleep of our lives and the beds were so comfortable and beautiful!

In the mornings Sandra goes around and asks everyone what they would like for their cooked breakfast and her husband cooks everyone their own meals, as well as having a full continental breakfast buffet set up. There is tea and coffee machine facilities in the dining room so you can self serve, but Sandra was always offering to make them for us so we wouldn't have to worry! She was amazing the entire weekend. On the day of the wedding she also had prepared lunch for everyone to ensure we were all fed.

The effort they go to for weddings and the things they include, is amazing. They set up lawn games for your guests to play, they set up two huge amazing chandeliers in the trees for us, they have all of the gorgeous white tiffany chairs, they set up an entire bar area for you, the list goes on! We had so many extra things and details we wanted and Sandra and her staff helped us set up the entire reception, as well as helping us pack it all away again.

The manor is incredible for wedding photos as well, there are so many beautiful spots and details. The bridal room is also perfect for a wedding! There is even a dressing room with a huge rack to hang your gown and all of the suits and bridesmaids dresses. In the ensuite their is a beautiful white claw foot bath tub. The room is seriously amazing.

I honestly could go on and on about how perfect and beautiful this venue is! We will definitely be going back next year for our 1 year anniversary! I cannot recommend this venue enough!

Thank you Laurelville for making our wedding perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessStuart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Faversham House York
0.2 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
1.8 mi away
Hope Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avon Accommodation York
0.6 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#10 of 16 in York
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laurelville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurelville

Address: 18 Panmure Rd, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £118 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laurelville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the side of Mt Brown overlooking York and the Avon Valley, Laurelville is a stately turn-of-the-century Edwardian two story residence with wide bullnosed verandas, distinctive gables and elegant turrets, very high ornate ceilings, open fireplaces, an ornate timber staircase and polished original timber floors. Laurelville has been completely refurbished to create a beautiful, elegant and uniquely Australian country house destination. Relax in luxury and experience the finest of Western Australian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Laurelville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing