We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

York Information Services
Ranked #8 of 16 things to do in York
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The tourist centre is part of the town hall so the location is wonderful. They had lots of fabulous banners with information about the town and it's history. The banners were informative but not too wordy. Fascinating reading. Lots of great old photos as well.
But probably the best thing about the info centre was the staff member on duty her name was Vicki and she was just terrific. She was a wealth of knowledge on both historical and current events in York and was so friendly and professional. Vicki was the perfect ambassador for York and because of her we are already planning another weekend up there to see the other things we missed.
Nothing was too much trouble and I was given accommodation info that I was not able to find online.
The centre and the hall are well worth the visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nett o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very helpful and knowledgable”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Made our stay in York much better, the lady was very helpful, she was closing when we walked in yet she stopped and helped us anyway

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank voyagermarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Excellent advise, free wi-fi”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The lady at the counter was extremly nice and helpful and went out of her way to suggest accomodation filling all our needs. She suggested the perfect cottage for us and even was counselling us on our further itinerary, giving us all the documentation we needed for the trip ahead. As we depended on Internet for the planning, she suggested we could use the free WiFi the tourist office provide - even after business hours you can get online from the bench in front of the Town Hall building. Great service in a beautifully preserved nice town with a relaxed vibe and a lot of friendly people (e.g. the butcher who not only pretends to be the specialist on lamb, but who also sell excellent beef)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuncurry, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Help on a weekend”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This info centre (inside the old town hall) is most helpful and friendly. Have a free tour of the beaut town hall -- then set out to discover Yorks many attractions.
We loved the York car museum , browsing the junk shops and walking the swing bridge.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cliff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helpful”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The attendant was most helpful and patient. We were at a busy time for her but she still managed to make us feel welcome and handled our enquiries professionally

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Normd381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Information Services also viewed

 

Been to York Information Services? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing