We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Country Retreat
Ranked #5 of 16 York B&B and Inns
perth
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“peaceful oasis”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in peppercorn cottage this pastweekend, what a lovely place to unwind and enjoy the quiet country life. THe cottage was well equipped with everything one would need, huge tv, lots of dvds to choose from, heaps of reading matter and very cosy chesterfields to relax in. The cottage has 3 bedrooms and a modern kitchen with microwave, a gas cooktop and oven, a coffee pod machine and a drip filter machine, all the cutlery and crockery, drink wear and cookwear is all provided. The beds are so very comfy and clean. Joy is an excellant hostess, very attentive, lovely to chat too and she cooks a great breakfast, we had stewed apples, toast, eggs (any way you want) bacon, sausage, tomato and mushrooms, plus fresh juice and coffee. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and i asked Joy what time is breakfast, she replied she worked breakfast in with her guests, so that to me was a huge bonus.

Thank you Joy and Andrew for your hospitality, you have a wonderful property, we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carinastarr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the Julians cottage which has 4 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and brilliant views over the valley. A short walk to the City centre, yet total silence and endless views. We rented the place for a team building event and it was simply the best location for that. The rooms were brilliant, great kitchen with all appliances you need, great welcome by the owner. Will definitely come back: maybe for a romantic weekend and then rent the cosy Stable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Els V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My gal pals (3 in total) decided to stay here 9th February 1 night prior to taking the plunge out of an airplane doing a tandem skydive in York.
What a pleasant surprise when we drove into this property. The owner was not there when we arrived (being in Perth for his Mother-in-laws 83rd birthday), however the groundsman that showed us to our Cottage (Julien's Cottage) was very friendly and helpful, the owner arrived back some time in the evening and came out to greet us on our return from going into town for dinner, his name was Michael and what a friendly, lovely and accomodating man he seemed to be.
What a lovely cottage, really wished straight away that we had decided to come up a few nights earlier and stayed longer than 1night. The cottage has everything you may need for more than a comfortable stay, plenty of room, crockery, cutlery, views and ambience. Lots of artwork on the walls that could keep you occupied and fascinated for a while and the balcony sit out is amazing (albeit a little dry being February), fully airconditioned and 2 bathrooms.
The other accommodation also looked interesting, however I am not able to give a review on all the offerings as did not have enough time to explore. I would suggest that this place would be good for more than a 1 night stay, perhaps 3-4nights minimum next time to take it all in.

Room Tip: Julien's Cottage was absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthSuzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed 4 nights and was very sad when I had to leave. I just love this place. Our art club held their annual Getaway here, and the grounds and cottages were just beautiful. So much inspiration on this property alone, I did not have to venture into town for more. Rooms look like mini antique shops, very clean and comfortable. Lots and lots of secret gardens to relax in, while munching on mulberries picked fresh from the trees. Well equipped kitchen and large bathroom a bonus. Andrew and Joy are wonderful people, making sure everything was OK. We will be back next year without a doubt.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Lodge. A one bedroom cottage with kitchen and living area, separate bedroom and larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed two nights and Joy & Andrew made our visit to York that much nicer. We have wonderful memories of this special region of WA. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast more than ample and delicious. served in a delightful Tea Room. The gardens are beautiful and the decor imaginative and fun to look at. Thank you Joy & Andrew for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in one of the ensuite rooms during a business trip and it made a long couple of days much more enjoyable. So glad now that the pubs in town had been booked out!
The room was quiet and comfortable, and I had everything I needed to relax after work. Breakfast in the garden room was a good start to the day, and there was enough of everything.
Good location too, within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcIntyre010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent a Friday and Saturday night at Andrew and Joys excellent B&B. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed with the old Womans Day magazines a real feature. The weather may not have been friendly, but the hosts were with a great breakfast in the morning. The memorabilia and rustic decore was in keeping with York and their premises. For the practical the bed and bathroom were great. For a lazy weekend (we hardly left the room) it's a short drive and for a winters stay with the pot belly fired up just the best.
Thanks Joy and Andrew
Peter & Lynne

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Faversham House York
1.0 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
0.6 mi away
The York Palace Hotel and Terraces
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laurelville
Laurelville
#2 of 16 in York
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#9 of 16 in York
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Country Retreat

Property: Hillside Country Retreat
Address: 30 Forrest Street, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillside Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing