We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So warm and welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Country Retreat
Ranked #5 of 16 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked in to stay at the Hillside Country Retreat June 2014 and we stayed in the Peppercorn Cottage for 2 nights. I had spoken to Joy over the phone, so wasn't at all surprised that we had a very warm welcome from her. On entering the cottage we had another warm welcome, as there was a blazing log fire in the lounge; it was so cosy. The cottage is on the edge of farmland and so it was a delight to sit out on the veranda. Our dog was also made welcome and that was a huge bonus for us. The veranda was fenced off so we we were quite happy to leave Charlie out there on his own. The furnishings in the cottage were excellent. The kitchen had everything you would need and was very clean. The beds were comfortable and we all had good nights sleep. The entrance to the property is lovely with a drive lined with trees and old farm machinery. There were several cottages on the property and I would suggest that all would be as well cared for as the Peppercorn Cottage.

Room Tip: Whatever cottage you choose, I'm sure it will be charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a great weekend stay in Peppercorn Cottage. It was wonderfully cozy with a fireplace to keep the chill off, comfortable beds (with electric blankets). We enjoyed exploring the local area by walking into town as well as all over the property. We took our 5 month old puppy with and it was ideal accommodation for her with a closed in veranda where we could let her run. Excellent accommodation for family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We arrived to York without a reservation and the friendly lady at the Visitor center suggested the Hillside Country Retreat for an overnight stay with respect to our needs. This is one place we really regretted not to be able to stay longer - it is such a nice and cozy place. After having a look at it we called the friendly owner and he came to meet us and he allocated us the nice and comfortable Beverly Cottage. During the time we went do our shopping for dinner he lit the fire for us and it was cozy warm when we returned - and there was a basket full of wood provided to keep us warm during the night. Weather was cool and foggy so we regretfully could not have dinner or next days breakfast on the nice veranda, but we used the BBQ which was clean as was the whole cottage and the kitchen appliances. We would absolutely choose the Hillside Country Retreat again and would plan to stay longer.
If you depend on Internet, there is free WiFi, however the signal is week and the slow. However you are allowed to use the free WiFi at the Visitor center also after business hours. The signal there is strong enough to use it in front of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed in the Beverly Cottage in May 2014 and had a fantastic time. It took us less than an hour and a half to get there from Perth (which was perfect with our baby) and the map provided was spot on, with great signage around. We found the cottage to be clean and tidy on arrival and had no issues with any of the amenities during our stay. The log fire already had a good base built in it to get it up and running quickly which was a nice touch with plenty of spare wood to keep it going through the night. But most importantly, the cottage has a fantastic view of the hills and the surrounding area was peaceful and quiet and great for walks. All whilst being close to all the local attractions and town centre. The owners were lovely and were happy to have a chat with us. We will definitely be back for another relaxing weekend get away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaenglishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed in peppercorn cottage this pastweekend, what a lovely place to unwind and enjoy the quiet country life. THe cottage was well equipped with everything one would need, huge tv, lots of dvds to choose from, heaps of reading matter and very cosy chesterfields to relax in. The cottage has 3 bedrooms and a modern kitchen with microwave, a gas cooktop and oven, a coffee pod machine and a drip filter machine, all the cutlery and crockery, drink wear and cookwear is all provided. The beds are so very comfy and clean. Joy is an excellant hostess, very attentive, lovely to chat too and she cooks a great breakfast, we had stewed apples, toast, eggs (any way you want) bacon, sausage, tomato and mushrooms, plus fresh juice and coffee. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and i asked Joy what time is breakfast, she replied she worked breakfast in with her guests, so that to me was a huge bonus.

Thank you Joy and Andrew for your hospitality, you have a wonderful property, we will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carinastarr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in the Julians cottage which has 4 separate bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and brilliant views over the valley. A short walk to the City centre, yet total silence and endless views. We rented the place for a team building event and it was simply the best location for that. The rooms were brilliant, great kitchen with all appliances you need, great welcome by the owner. Will definitely come back: maybe for a romantic weekend and then rent the cosy Stable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Els V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My gal pals (3 in total) decided to stay here 9th February 1 night prior to taking the plunge out of an airplane doing a tandem skydive in York.
What a pleasant surprise when we drove into this property. The owner was not there when we arrived (being in Perth for his Mother-in-laws 83rd birthday), however the groundsman that showed us to our Cottage (Julien's Cottage) was very friendly and helpful, the owner arrived back some time in the evening and came out to greet us on our return from going into town for dinner, his name was Michael and what a friendly, lovely and accomodating man he seemed to be.
What a lovely cottage, really wished straight away that we had decided to come up a few nights earlier and stayed longer than 1night. The cottage has everything you may need for more than a comfortable stay, plenty of room, crockery, cutlery, views and ambience. Lots of artwork on the walls that could keep you occupied and fascinated for a while and the balcony sit out is amazing (albeit a little dry being February), fully airconditioned and 2 bathrooms.
The other accommodation also looked interesting, however I am not able to give a review on all the offerings as did not have enough time to explore. I would suggest that this place would be good for more than a 1 night stay, perhaps 3-4nights minimum next time to take it all in.

Room Tip: Julien's Cottage was absolutely gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthSuzieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
York Motel
York Motel
#1 of 2 in York
136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Faversham House York
1 mi away
The Grandhouse York B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avon Accommodation York
0.4 mi away
The Nosh & Nod
The Nosh & Nod
#10 of 16 in York
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Settlers House York
Settlers House York
#8 of 16 in York
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Country Retreat

Address: 30 Forrest Street, York, Western Australia 6302, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Avon Valley > York
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: £121 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hillside Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing