We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Mountain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Saluda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top of the Mountain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Saluda Mountain Lodge is a family owned property that is a perfect spot and value for visiting the Western Carolina Mountains. The rooms are furnished with quaint and high quality furnishings and every effort is made to offer comfort to guests. Wayne and Wendy, the proprietors offer authentic southern hospitality. Our room had a king bed, microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mntravelers55129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at he lodge in the beginning of November. We made it the last week of the leaves changing befor they were all brown. The owners of the lodge were very friendly and even started a fire outback in the firepit for us and provided smores making ingredients! HT room was very nice the bed quite comfy and a big ol tv.A reat place to spend a nite or two. we will be back to o ziplining next door. Locally owned and operated not a huge corporation! Wayne and Wendy were fantastic!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chef ben m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Saluda Mountain Lodge over Veteran's Day Weekend. We arrived really early and Wayne happily checked us and talked to us for awhile. We unloaded and went behind the building to check out the amazing views. Amazing with all the color changing going on. The room itself is tastefully decorated and included a king size bed, big TV, frig, microwave. Coming from Florida and 80 degree temperatures, it was quite a shock to awaken our first morning to temps in the 20s. We had such busy days we were worn out each evening when Wayne or Wendy would like a fire in the pit our back and set out the fixings for smores. What a nice treat this will be next time we go up and in is not so dang cold outside.

Room Tip: get a deluxe room for the fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne_Trisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angier, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

First we would like to say thank-you to the owners Wayne and Wendy, you guys are wonderful. Your hospitality was above and beyond anything we have ever experienced. We can honestly say we have never stayed anywhere that made us feel more welcome as the two of you did. We went there not knowing what to expect and within five minutes after check-in; we knew we had choosen the perfect place. Thank you. I would recommend your lodge to anybody....even to the pickest of travelers. The rooms were immaculately clean, the decor and furniture was just beautiful, the views were breath taking, the fire pit was the perfect touch. Saluda is a beautiful place and we can honestly say the restaurants Wayne recommended was delicious and greeted by the kindest people we have ever met. We thank you and look forward to returning as often as we can. Until next time....Alan and Michelle

Room Tip: We stayed in the "honeymoon suite". Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tryon, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Tremendous views, excellent hospitality. A short drive that's a world away. A must stay for any occasion. Treat yourself, you will be glad you did. Great Christian family to help with all inquiries. Places of interest, things to do, all within a small walk or drive from your door. A lodge by name, your own cottage nestled in the mountains. Wine snobs, leave your ego at home and enjoy the best accommodation in the whole of POLK COUNTY!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a door to the mountain side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zrayhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Really the only hotel we will stay at in western NC, worth the drive just to sit and look at the breath taking views, roast marshmallows, or make smoore's by the fire, play corn hole or golf in the yard. The owners live there and are so spirit filled Christian people, making any arrangements to help lodge guests find places or things to do in the area. So cozy and quiet, you can see for 50 miles and no houses or buildings in site. Not another place like it on the east coast. Take the time at least to check out the view and meet Wayne and Wendy and I promise you wont want to stay any where else. You wont find a cleaner room any where. Thank you Saluda Mountain Lodge for many wonderful nights just off the interstate!

Room Tip: rooms with a door out the back to enjoy the views are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

(If you are a five-star snob, don't bother stopping here—the love will be wasted on you.)

Here you'll find genuine Southern hospitality, pristinely clean rooms, and the perfect balance between "what-can-I-do-for-you" fussing and being left blissfully alone.

First I have to comment on the owner/hosts, Wendy and Wayne. As soon as you meet them, you are treated as dear friends. It feels more like you're visiting your favorite relatives than staying at a hotel. They will stop at nothing to please. When we stayed there, we were treated to s'mores by the fire and sincerely compassionate service.

The view behind the hotel is stupendous. Think "Grand Canyon" of the Blue Ridge. I could've sat forever in the Adirondack chairs by the fountain/fire pit, listening to the peaceful music and soaking in the incredible view. Truly soul-healing. (Thank you!)

The lodge may not be the fanciest place you've visited, but it will not be surpassed in natural beauty, heart-driven service, and attention to details. If you need a place to rest, think, heal, and allow others to care for you, this is it. I will return every chance I get.

About Saluda--there is much to be enjoyed here! Gift shops, antique shops, pottery, great restaurants, and beautiful mountain views at every curve in the road. Everyone was very friendly. My family will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Every room is unique and beautiful. The rooms with doors opening to the area out back are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluda
7.4 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.5 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Orchard Inn
Orchard Inn
#1 of 7 in Saluda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saluda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saluda Mountain Lodge

Property: Saluda Mountain Lodge
Address: 1793 Holbert Cove Rd, Saluda, NC 28773-8515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Saluda Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Saluda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing