We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, cozy, and relaxing”
Review of Orchard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchard Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Saluda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming, cozy, and relaxing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We visited in late July, and the temperature never got above 70. On one rainy day we relaxed in front of a crackling fire, browsed books from the Inn's library, and looked out over the misty mountains.

In terms of restaurants and activities, Saluda has good options. I recommend eating dinner at the Inn for a true 5-star meal. In town, the Purple Onion is quite good, and the barbecue joint is consistently tasty. We had a family kayak trip on the Green River with Green River Adventures, which is located 5 minutes from the Inn. It also offers guided nature and waterfall hikes.

The owners of Orchard Inn, Marc and Marianne, are very friendly yet professional. We had our two children with us, ages 7 and 11, and they had a great time. We had family card games and pool games in the inn's recreation room. All of our breakfasts were delicious. Morning coffee was superb. On Friday and Saturday evenings, delicious appetizers were offered to all of the guests.

This was our fourth visit to the Inn, and it met all of our needs and expectations. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
146
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Everything was wonderful from our breakfast, horsdouevres and dinner to the magnificent grounds and view . The cool mountain air came through our open bedroom window each evening making for some of the most restful nights sleep I've had in a long time. The innkeepers Marc and Maryanne where delightful hosts. We will definitely return and I hope it will be soon. I highly recommend that you have dinner at the Orchard Inn during your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came down a few days early to revisit favorite spots in the area before picking grandsons up at camp. What wonderful hospitality and what a lovely place tucked back a lane with a beautiful view. Peaceful, beautiful, and oh so comfortable. Loved the steam shower in our room. We will be back and can't wait.

Peggy and Barney King

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
571 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We only spent one night at the Orchard Inn, but we will definitely be going back! The Inn is absolutely beautiful and Marc and Marianne were incredible hosts. We stayed in room #2 and enjoyed it greatly. It was very clean, quiet and it had wonderful views. The bed was super comfortable and we both slept very well. It was nice sleeping with the windows open so we could enjoy the cool, clean mountain air. The grounds are breathtaking. We really enjoyed watching all the beautiful birds moving about the garden while we sat in the dining room and on the back deck. We relaxed in the hammock for a while and could have taken a nap there if we had more time. One of the highlights was the incredible breakfast. Everything served was perfect....from the coffee and juice to the homemade granola, muffins, french toast and sausage. We just left today and we're already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were at the Orchard Inn for 4 nights and 5 days last week and had such a restful time. This time we rented a cabin (the Bentwood). The best part of the cabin is the fully screened porch perched "in the trees."

It did rain more than we anticipated, but it did not stop us from having a wonderful time. We visited and toured Hendersonville and Saluda. We also hiked at the DuPont recreational area (wonderful! with beautiful falls), and the Pearson Falls area. The Innkeeper does a morning hike through the property with their boxers and those trails are great as well.

The Bed was great, the Breakfast was delicious (we didn't need lunch at all!), and the hospitality offered by Innkeeprs Mark and Marianne and the whole staff was a perfect balance of friendly and privacy. The main inn is lovely, the cabin was cozy, and the grounds beautiful.

We had dinner on Thursday evening and Marianne and staff put together a delecious dinnertime treat.

It was a perfect break from the heat and humidity in Chapel Hill and a time to wind down for a few days.

Room Tip: The website shows good photos of the rooms. Last time we stayed in the Inn and it's very nice...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were happy with the practices and we tried to do our part. Linens/laundry are changed every second day. Only one televison in the Inn recreation room, that's a good thing.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cafemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Orchard Inn was wonderful!!! You feel like you're away from it all but close enough to Saluda, Hendersonville or Asheville. Mark and Marianne have done a superb job - Inn is pristine, very delightful and the meals are worth the drive. Dinner is served Thursday- Saturday with brunch on Sunday. Both are great in the kitchen. The bird feeders, the Boxers and the garden help you relax - the hammock greets you as you arrive. We like the "keeping room" but all are special. The views off the back are spectactular and corner rooms have a little more space.
This is a special Inn with a long history.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vg6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, GA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What a lovely and comfortable place to spend a few days away from "the real world." Our family of 6 rented the Laurel Cottage and it was perfectly suited to our needs.

+ The cottage was like home - it was comfortable and spacious, had movies, games, puzzles, extra linens, pillows, and blankets, well-lit, and the kitchen was well-stocked.
+ There was a king bed, a bedroom with two queen beds, and two twin beds.
- The shower heads did not seem to be "low flow." Our teenagers turned the water on full-force and used up the hot water before everyone showered. If you adjust the water flow to just what you would typically use at home, there should be enough hot water. In our case, the hot water heater heated the water quickly, however, so it was not much of an inconvenience.

The owners and their staff were welcoming - and the two boxers, Murray and Rocko, were a joy for this dog-loving family.

The Main House was a wonderful place to relax, read, and enjoy the views.
+ Coffee, tea, and soft drinks are offered throughout the day and evening
+ There is a large screen TV and pool table in the finished basement - we watched movies there
+ Breakfast was absolutely delicious! Maryann even worked around our early departure time and provided a wonderful breakfast.
+ There are TONS of books about North Carolina, hiking, and site seeing in the main house, as well as a full library of other books.
+ The front porch is a wonderful place to read and relax.
+There is a small garden in the back and a nature trail on the property.
- WiFi is not available in the Cottage - but it was strong in the Main House.

We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluda
6.8 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
7.7 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites
Mountain Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
285 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
749 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Inn

Property: Orchard Inn
Address: 100 Orchard Inn Ln, Saluda, NC 28773-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 mi. south of Asheville where the foothills meet the Blue Ridge Mountains, the rest of the world melts away the moment you enter the long winding driveway and approach our elegant mountain top escape, comfortably nestled on 12 peaceful acres. As you walk up the front steps, graciously framed in boxwood hedges, the cozy rockers on the Antebellum style porch are calling. Enter the open and airy living room with it's great stone fireplace, and you immediately feel at home. The Inn was originally built in 1926 by the Brotherhood of Southern Railroad as a summer retreat for members' families. Transformed into a B&B in 1981 it is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, member of Select Registry as well as Chaine des Rotisseurs. Fine dining restaurant serving dinner Thurs-Sat. 14 rooms tastefully decorated in period pieces & antiques all with luxurious linens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hotel Saluda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing