We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and atmosphere”
Review of Newman's

Newman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Newman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Saluda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$64
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Fresh local ingredients, many from our organic garden, combine with European inspired cuisine to create a delicious and healthful fine dining experience. The seasonal menu changes daily. Save room for the amazing Viennese deserts. Our dining room with its stunning mountain views is open to the public year round Fri & Sat nights, Thurs-Sun in summer, and anytime for parties of 6 or more. Complimentary hors d'oeuvres served from 6:30-7:30, while you enjoy the mountain views from the terrace or by the fire in winter.We have an excellent selection of wine, beer, and champagne - by the bottle or by the glass.Casual elegant attire required. Jackets for gentlemen suggested. Call for reservations.
Reviewed 27 June 2018

I spent a long weekend at the Inn and dined every night at Newman's. The experience was out of this world and the food, staff, atmosphere and surroundings absolutely amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchardInnSaluda, Owner at Newman's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

The peaceful, inviting atmosphere begins on the way up the driveway and continues throughout the building, porches, and grounds. The best aspects of our experience were: 1. Hospitality of every staff member we encountered, 2. An excellent menu and wine list, 3. Each dinner course was A +++ !!, 4. Cathy, our server made us feel right at home; she explained the choices thoroughly and answered our questions clearly, 5. The dining area was almost full, but with the placement of tables and the view we never felt even a bit crowded.
Fantastic evening !!!

1  Thank sam h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchardInnSaluda, Owner at Newman's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for your kind remarks. Our philosophy is to create more than just fine dining, but a true farm to table dining experience in the mountains. You describe it even better than I can. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

This is our favorite restaurant. The menu changes constantly, but always offers great selections. The first and second courses are generally quite unique and make choosing one very difficult. Wait staff is among the best you will find anywhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hpnc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchardInnSaluda, Owner at Newman's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you for your kind remarks. It is most appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

If you want the best food, the best service, the best view of mountains, eat at Newsman's at The Orchard Inn in Saluda, NC. The food is locally sourced, highly creative, and artistically presented. You might say, "It's too pretty to eat." But don't let that you stop from enjoying one of the best meals you'll find in these parts. Normally, the evening meals are served late in the week and on the weekends. Because the restaurant is in an Inn, it does not serve lunch. You'd be wise to reserve a table in advance. The evening meals have a fixed menu with a good selections of options, usually including beef, chicken, fish, veal, etc. I think there are four courses -- served in courses on white linen. And the wine list? Fantastic! It's not cheap, but not the most expensive restaurant either. Dinner runs about $65 per person, note including the wine. But it is a wonderful experience to sit in the dining room, looking at the mountains and be served beautiful, creative, and great-tasting food. Go there for that special occasion. Go as often as you can.

Thank Just4Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrchardInnSaluda, Owner at Newman's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for such an eloquently written review! It's greatly appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We just came home from a 5-night stay at the Orchard Inn, which included 3 dinners in a row at Newman's, all wonderful. The menu changes weekly (to offer what is seasonally available), so we had the same menu each night, but, with the options they offer, we were able to enjoy new flavors each evening. There were 3 choices for 3 of the courses, plus 4 main course options, every option delicious and beautiful and prepared with great care. Each item provided layers of lovely flavors, all enhancing that course's primary focus. We had all four of the main course options, each fabulous (beef tenderloin, veal tenderloin, duck confit, and tilefish), as were the desserts. For other courses, we loved the ramp and potato soup, the salad (simple but awesome!), and the perfectly prepared and shrimp and scallop offerings. The excellent wine list provides any matching you could want, with great choices by the glass, and the menu offers suggestions to help those who may not know wines well enough to choose the perfect pairing. The staff is professional, warm, friendly and knowledgeable, and every experience we have ever had (many, many times over 34 years!) has been delightful. We believe that the dinner experience is an excellent value for the price, including the wine offerings. Please give yourself the treat of coming here!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barbaraholman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Newman's also viewed

Saluda, North Carolina Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Mountains
 
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
Saluda, North Carolina Mountains
 
Saluda, North Carolina Mountains
Flat Rock, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Newman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing