We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, wonderful appointments”

Charles Street Garden Suite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saluda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Charles Street Garden Suite
Ranked #5 of 7 Saluda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The owners of the Charles St. are very welcoming and manage a very well appointed bed and breakfast. I highly recommend staying here. The only quirk is that they only take cash or checks, but that does help keep costs down.

The breakfast provided was absolutely wonderful. They brought down French Toast and bacon with fresh squeezed orange juice.

The gardens are very nice to walk through and offer a broad selection of local flowers and plants.

Plan to stay the next time in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ricemn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Hoovers took us in for one night on very short notice, so we were appreciative before arriving. Upon arriving, we were then also delighted. Though the weather was quite cold, their suite was cozy and comfortable and the owners are terrific hosts. Walter greeted us and was full of information about the town and surrounding area, and Sherry made a lovely breakfast for us the following morning. It was a quick trip, but we were able to relax and enjoy Saluda during our stay. Even in winter, their garden is a sight to see--as is the beautiful, historic church next door. We hope to return in the spring and look forward to staying here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here for one night. I wish I could have stayed for two nights. I loved loved loved all the greenery outside the window and the birds/bird feeder. The noise of the fountain outside could be heard in the suite. it feels very secluded even tho it is just a block or two from the town's main street. Everything was in good working order. It was very quaint. I would not recommend more than 2 people in the suite. Kitchen area is small -- galley type -- but that is not a negative. Bathroom is very small but that was not a negative either. I have already recommended this location, and would stay again. Everything was very very clean, too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SRinSCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This property is not for everyone, but my husband and I love it! The quarters are a little tight in the kitchen area, but the appointments and surroundings more than make up for it. We loved being surrounded by their garden and bird sanctuary and spent some restful time in the sitting area and the garden just bird watching and reading. We visited some of our favorite local areas as well: Connemara, Pearson's Falls, Flat Rock, Hendersonville, and downtown Saluda.

Pictures on the website as well as those posted by another reviewer are spot on. They cannot express just how nice it is to be there, though.

Walter and Sherry are superb hosts: available without being intrusive. There's one great casual restaurant in town (the Purple Onion, closed on Tuesdays), but other than that we tended to go to nearby towns--15-20 minute trips or to prepare a light picnic meal in the suite.

We're returning in September and just can't wait.

Room Tip: There's only the one wonderful suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank low-keytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

You couldn't ask for a nicer couple than Walter and Sherry. They were very accomodating to my husband and I on our recent anniversary trip. The suite is absolutely beautiful, especially the fresh flowers placed in the room. They are grown by Walter and Sherry.

Breakfast was delicious. The gardens surrounding the inn are also very pretty. We were just a short walk from the town of Saluda.

Another thing that makes this place great is it is reasonabley priced.

We will not hesitate to return...hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2009

We enjoyed our visit to the Charles Street Garden Suite. The suite is imaculate and located in the lower level of the home of Sherry & Walter Hoover. It is very private and secluded. The home is surrounded by an amazing garden – it would be nice to see in full bloom.

The full breakfasts were good is served in the suite (French toast one day / poached eggs the other day). If there was one thing that I did not like about this arrangement was the opportunity to chat over breakfast and learn more about the area.

It was nice to walk downtown for dinner on Saturday evening. We dined at the Purple Onion which was very nice. I liked it that they had a live bluegrass band starting at 8:00.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank labrat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

Our hosts, Walter & Sherry Hoover, made our brief stay at Charles Street Garden Suite just perfect. The photographs in their website give you a sense of the natural beauty which surrounds the house. The privacy of the suite simply enhanced our experience. We felt as though we were staying in an enchanted woodland! The suite itself is very large and would be comfortable for long stays. There are good reading lamps on either side of the bed, which is fitted out with charming linens. Comfortable furniture and a wide window seat for viewing the 200+ year-old chestnut oak made the sitting area very pleasant. The Hoovers also include local guides ( 2 of which Walter wrote) and histories of this summer resort area. Saluda provided a cool summer retreat for Southerners for over 100 years.

There is a covered area just outside the door (which has a screen door, too) with a swing. There are seats placed around the garden area which give differing views of the surroundings, as well as the many birds drawn to this natural habitat.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank loose51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saluda
5.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#2 of 5 in Flat Rock
331 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
5.9 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
100 reviews
7.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
231 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saluda Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charles Street Garden Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charles Street Garden Suite

Address: 76 Charles St, Saluda, NC 28773-6782
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Saluda
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saluda
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing