We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New ownership terrible”

Sapphire National Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 7 things to do in Sapphire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sapphire National Golf Club, conveniently located in the Sapphire Valley and Cashiers Plateau Resort area, boasts premier playing conditions, tranquil mountain views and dramatic elevation changes. Sapphire National Golf Club is the only golf course in the Highlands, Cashiers, and Sapphire region that is open to the public. Recipient of the prestigious 4 ½ star golf course rating from Golf Digest; the golf course also recently completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Sapphire National Golf Club offers the ultimate memorable experience for all avid golfers, from its dramatic par 4, 13th hole that is nestled beside a majestic waterfall, to the postcard Par 3, 15th hole that hosts an island green. For more information regarding Sapphire National Golf Club call:
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New ownership terrible”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have been coming to play on this golf course for 19 years with my family. Drive over 10 hours to get here and they decided to do a member guest tournament that took up a whole weekend and didn't even bother to post it on their website noting this would be occurring. Pro shop employees are rude. Lied about tee times available. Very disappointed as look forward to playing this course every year. If this is how new ownership is going to run the course will not be playing here again anytime soon.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    3
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tough greens”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tourists were all in a hurry to finish. I like a more relaxed round. Pick a time when no one is there. Summer weekends are bad. Foursome behind us yelling at us while we are trying to make birdie putts. Almost asked for my money back. No marshall to calm down those patrons that obviously weren't taught proper golf etiquette. The course was beautiful and the rough made an otherwise good drive very challenging. The undulating greens make it a challenge even to an avid golfer. I would give it a 4 out of 5 except for the rush and difficulty of location to get there. So...an otherwise 4 gets a 2. The pro could have been more friendly as well so make that a 1.9

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Real Find”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The starter told us, "Be sure to bring your camera." Excellent advice for this beautiful mountain course. In fact, photo ops could upset pace of play. And though the course is challenging, the rewards for good shots are exhilarating and in the end score seems to matter less here than on many other courses. The staff was very friendly, the course in the week before Memorial Day was in fine shape and the weather, an independent variable, was superb. We played twice and can't wait to get back next year.

After a morning round, there's a reasonably good restaurant on the premises. But the slow service that I've noted from earlier reviews hasn't improved. Half-hour between order and serving a hamburger and a sausage sandwich seemed excessive, to say the least.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Editprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBC M, Food and Beverage Director at Sapphire National Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of them because they help us improve. Yes, we have had an issue with slow service and that is being address and soon that will no longer be a problem. I hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, United States
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A beautiful mountain setting golf course”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I have golfed at this lovely course four or five times over the past 10 years and love playing it. The views are spectacular and the course is in wonderful shape. The staff is helpful and friendly. However, we left the restaurant in the clubhouse after sitting there for a few minutes and being ignored by the waitress staff, so we don't know how good the food is.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMBC M, Food and Beverage Director at Sapphire National Golf Club, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It is a spectacular golf course and the restaurant will have a new menu shortly. I'm sorry if you felt ignored by the wait staff. Usually they greet people immediately upon entering and are quite attentive. I hope you return to play another round we will do our best to impress you as much as the course does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Challenging public golf course in Sapphire, NC”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Sapphire National Golf course is easy to find, right off of Highway 64 and a few miles east of the Cashiers "crossroads" at Hwy 107 and Hwy 64. Reasonably priced greens fees, a very accommodating professional staff and a challenging 18 holes await you. Rolling countryside in the mountains of Western NC makes for some challenging, rolling and angled fairways. Very different from playing more level courses! Hole #2 is a target hole par 3, with the elevated green protected by a rock face on the left and a significant drop-off on the right. Not to mention the sand trap on the right as well. Other holes include a difficult but photogenic par 4 "waterfall hole" at #13, and a hard to hit "island hole" at #15. The rough tends to be unforgiving, and can make for easily lost golf balls. So come prepared. Many of the rough areas have been newly manicured, with the weeds cut back significantly. Beautiful scenery, and a dramatic view from the clubhouse, where you can stop for good food and libations after the match. Can be physically taxing if wet conditions and "cart path only". There is no driving range, which is a drawback, but a practice net is available.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sapphire National Golf Club also viewed

Sapphire, Jackson County
Sapphire, Jackson County
 

Been to Sapphire National Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing