We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for couples or families”
Review of Fairway Forest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairway Forest
Rock Hill, SC
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful for couples or families”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I wanted a getaway for our anniversary, and found a 1 BR unit at Fairway Forest available. The weather was perfect - cool for late July in the SE, and the accommodations fine for relaxing and eating in. Set in "The Land of Waterfalls," we did see several. Rental here also gives access to the Fairfield / Wyndham resort facilities of Indoor and Outdoor pools, mini golf, gem mining, grass tubing, hiking, fishing, etc. Also near NC's newest state park, Gorges - which is gorgeous! We also visited the Botanical Garden in Highlands.

Room Tip: In our 1 BR unit the decor was a mix of ultra-modern W/D and 80's drapes. Not the most comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grand9mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    29
    6
    6
    8
See reviews for
26
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom full kitchen unit. It was large and had a fantastic view. The master bedroom has a great tub although you use all of the hot water to fill it. We were close to Cashiers which has a large grocery store plus several places to eat. We had dinner at cornucopia and it was very good. We tried to eat at slab pizza but just didn't get a chance to since we were always on the go exploring the area. There are several beautiful waterfalls to see (many within a short 10-20 min hike) and include whitewater falls the tallest waterfall east of the rockies. We took a day trip to Bltimore in Asheville (so worth it) and took a train ride with the kids on the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad. If we want to take another trip we will consider coming back. They have a private lake and hiking trails plus an indoor and outdoor pool.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NavyWife58026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I just spent a week at the Fairway Forest and absolutely had a wonderful time. Cashiers and Sapphire, North Carolina is the most beautiful part of the North Carolina Mountains. We enjoyed having the luxury of a full grocery store with Starbucks, yes I said Starbucks! in it. The accommodations at the recreation center were great too. This is my second time staying in the Cashiers, NC area and I absolutely love it. The only negative to our stay was having to kill multiple spiders in our room. I think because it was the beginning of the busy season and the unit we used probably hadn't been used in a little while.

Room Tip: Bring pillows if you don't like foam. The beds are foam beds and foam pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VonIII28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trussville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Really can't say enough about this place. It was really amazing. The condo was exceptionally clean, very well organized and had everything needed for a great vacation . More than enough storage including walk-in closets. The memory foam mattress (while not my preference) was extremely comfortable, the master bath was huge and clean with very nice plush towels. We had neighbors on both sides and never heard a sound thru the walls. Everything was so good that I have to say I did not even miss not having granite countertops, so for those of you who would complain about not having granite...."get over it" as well as not having internet available in the unit. After the first few hours of internet withdrawal, I was able to relax and enjoy our vacation. You can go to the rec. center to connect to the cyber world. We spent most of our time hiking and enjoying the beautiful fall scenery and the quaint little towns.

Room Tip: Our unit had a nice view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2520Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

After visiting Fairway Forest two years ago with an RCI exchange, my husband and I bought a time share here. The Sapphire Valley area is lovely with lots of wonderful hiking trails and waterfalls. We are there early October when the fall foliage is glorious. The town of Cashiers (which is 10 minutes west on US 64) also has a fabulous Fall Festival Craft Show, usually the second week of October.
Sapphire National Golf Course is located here and the course is beautiful and challenging. Also available are a driving range, tennis courts, indoor swimming pool and exercise center.
The unit we own is a two story townhouse with two bedrooms and two full baths. The master bath has a large, spa tub. Being that we live in Florida, we really enjoy having a fire in the fireplace. The unit well supplied, clean and comfortable. The WiFi signal was also very good.
Be sure to visit the Sapphire Mountain Brewing Company Restaurant that overlooks the 8th and 18th greens.
Next year, we hope to stay for a month!

Room Tip: There are a lot of two lane, windy roads around this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom townhouse with two full baths and kitchen. The townhouse was huge. Plenty of room for the four of us. There are signs telling you where to check-in and based on the other reviews we were worried but its signed and after hours you go to public safety. Yes you drive to the centralized amenities but we drive to our indoor pool at our house so it didn't matter. We could walk to the sapphire brewing Company if wanted. Cons are no Vacumn in the unit or hair dryer. I requested a crib and high chair but no one answered the phone so I left a message and no one returned my call so I had no idea if there would be a crib or not. So we brought a pack and play and arrived and there was a crib and high chair in the unit. They should have returned the call. I did appreciate the high chair. We requested a Vacumn twice but one never arrived. I always Vacumn after every meal with a toddler so this was a huge disappointment. It wasn't the cleanest place I really wanted that Vacumn! Centrally located to see lots of waterfalls and see biltmore, gorgeous scenery and cute towns (Highlands). The restaurants have lots of older people not really kid friendly clientele. We would lose time hiking and then it was hard to find somewhere to eat not fast food in our hiking attire. Some nights we hit the grocery store and cooked so that was convenient. The area should be visited at least once in your lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank ctcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We are RCI members so the stay at Fairway Forest is a great value. We have a 2 bedroom unit (not an A/B). The first thing we noticed upon entering is that the carpets and upholstery were recently shampooed. The place is CLEAN!!
Yes, some of the appliances and fixtures are dated but nothing looks its age except its design (in other words things might look old but aren't worn out). The beds are comfortable. The grounds are immaculate. Maintenance arrived in minutes to replace a toaster that didn't work. It was a long drive from Asheville to get here, but it's quiet and lovely. Would come here again! Only criticism is weak WiFi and cell phone signal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoozieKabloozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sapphire
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
2.0 mi away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Sapphire Valley
11.0 mi away
Skyline Lodge and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Park On Main Hotel
The Park On Main Hotel
#2 of 7 in Highlands
211 reviews
2.6 mi away
Brook Trout Inn
Brook Trout Inn
#1 of 2 in Sapphire
59 reviews
2.0 mi away
Foxhunt at Sapphire Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Forest

Property: Fairway Forest
Address: 4350 US Highway 64 W, Sapphire, NC 28774-9694
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Jackson County > Sapphire
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Sapphire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Forest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Fairway Forest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Forest Hotel Sapphire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing