We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shallotte
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

As soon as we arrived we noticed a musty smell. It certainly did not improve once we got into our room. Actually went to a local retailer and purchased Glade plug in's to put in room. We didn't even take clothes out of bag because we didn't want the smell to get into them. The entire hotel is like this. Informed the front desk the next day that a spider crawled out of a crevice next to the tub where the grout was coming up. They did make a basic repair to it. There was a piece of gum wrapper on the floor when we checked in. No big deal because I knew they would vacuum. It became a game to see when they would get it. Never did......It was there four days later because they never vacuumed. When I was packing the car up to leave, a member of the cleaning staff actually asked me the fragrance of the plug ins because they've been trying to get management to put them in all rooms. Never again.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor....otherwise you'll be carrying your luggage upstairs because there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NavAcaGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    21
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
14
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Last minute trip to the beach over Labor Day. Only motel with a room. Musty smell in hallway and room. Staff was very nice. No elevator. Had to carry luggage up stairs. On the morning of check out saw three roaches in the room. Outside back door left unlocked 24 hours and a sewage smell after rain. Not a secure motel. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranaerpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shallotte hotels

High Point, NC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Family stayed here for a quick run to the coast for one night. For an older hotel, this place is in good shape. Room are clean, very clean, bedding is very nice. It is quiet, carpet is nice. Only problem for some people, not us, is that there is no elevator. The hotel is very basic. It's a room, a clean room, with a nice TV and a nice sitting area.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rallyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The Hotel needs to re evaluate thier local business recommendations. I made a 4 day advance reservation for a 7Am pickup to airport with East Coast Car Service, they never showed up and never called my mobile number, which they had. Later I was told the driver over slept. Thank you, I missed my flight. This motel is 42 miles from MYR Airport and Wilmington is about 50 miles.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I'm writing this in the breakfast area at 8:00 in the morning, as a crew is drilling and pounding at some tile near the front door. Not exactly the "relaxing" way I'd like to spend my morning. I would think they would save that type of work until at least the breakfast hours are over.
That is one of two things that is keeping me from giving this at least 4 stars. This is a two story facility with interior corridors, and there is no elevator. When we checked in last night, the lady at the front desk told us the only rooms available are upstairs, and hoped that we did not have any issues that would be compromised by using the stairs. Only that we had to take two trips to get everything in the room. Not a big deal, but anyone in a wheelchair, crutches, or otherwise incapacitated would have been out of luck.
Beyond that, this is a very nice facility, very clean, up to date, and the hotel personnel has been very friendly. The breakfast includes eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, fruit, pastries, coffee, cereal...very nice spread, but hard to enjoy with all of the drilling and pounding behind me. Also, breakfast is only until 9:30, would think they would have it until at least 10:00, considering that they are often used by vacationers, not just the business traveler. I'm having to get my family up for breakfast, and I know they'd like to sleep in a bit more. There is a nice pool area and the beach is about 15 minutes away. This is also a good midpoint between Wilmington and Myrtle Beach. We only stayed here for one night, heading down to a beach house today, but would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Definitely request a downstairs room when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMtraveler58134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

After reading some of the reviews we were nervous about staying here and asked to see the room before we decided to stay. The lady at the front desk was very nice and gave us a key to review the room without hesitation. We were pleasantly surprised at how much room we had as there were four of us staying. It was a double room and the couch also made a bed. We awoke every morning to a great breakfast of waffles, bacon, cereal, sweet rolls and more to choose from. There was fruit available all during the day and cookies at night. The pool was small but since we were the only ones swimming, it felt like we were at home! We were within walking distance from BoJangles,Wendy's and Waffle House and only about 20 minutes from the beach! I would love to go back and stay again in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

All of the staff was very accommodating & friendly. Our rooms(3) were very clean& equipped with all the things we required. Made the last day of our vacation a hit with the children in the pool.Will stay again. Great value.Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Very comfortable with a friendly helpful staff as always received with the Choice Hotel chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shallotte
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Shallotte
Days Inn Shallotte
#1 of 3 in Shallotte
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
15.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
15.0 mi away
Sleep Inn at Harbour View
Sleep Inn at Harbour View
#2 of 4 in Little River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 360 Whiteville Rd NW, Shallotte, NC 28470-4506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Shallotte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Shallotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Shallotte
Comfort Inn Shallotte
Shallotte Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing