We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an old hotel that they tried to re-new.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Reviewed 22 January 2012

As usually happens when the Holiday Inn Express brand tries to make an old hotel new again, this one was a failure. The building must be from the 1970's -- very cramped quarters, old design bathrooms, etc. Not a comfortable place. Don't stay here unless there is absolutely nothing else available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank emhprogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

The facility was very clean and the rooms handsomely appointed. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and numerous amenities and toiletries were provided and replaced the next day as needed. Housekeeping was excellent. A small fridge, micro and large flatscreen tv with numerous channels included. Although I didn't sample the breakfast I plan to on my next visit.
I would give this hotel a solid five stars if they replaced the horrible so called eco-friendly lights. They only diminish the otherwise well conceived design of the rooms. Why not use daylight spectrum lights? A small change that would considerably add to the coziness of the rooms.
I would stay here again and hope i had quieter neighbors next time. The first two nights were fine--we simply live in age where lack of respect for others sometimes runs rampant.

Room Tip: Ask if others will be residing above you on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h0lidaytraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was a nice little hotel with a good staff. Nothing much to rave about either way, but it was clean, comfortable, and about what you would expect for a 2.5 star hotel. The free breakfast was good and the room was as expected. The staff was attentive and helped us get some sheets for a pack-and-play as well as a pull out sofa. I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have stayer here several times and it is always better than the last. Pizza for dinner, breakfast to go, clean, nice people. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QAnnBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The lighting in the room was awful. You can feel your energy draining from the fluorescent lights. The air conditioning kept turning itself off so it was miserably hot and stuffy. Every SINGLE move in the room above could be heard, as if there were elephants in heat above us. The art if in the room was depressing. I could paint better, actually my four year old could paint better. The refrigerator was unplugged when we got to the room, which was just annoying. We booked a king room but were placed in a double bed room. You are not allowed to smoke anywhere on the premises, even the parking lot. SMOKERS BEWARE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Now, by no means is this a 4 star hotel, but it really wasn't that bad.

The Good:
The rooms were nice size. The breakfast was actually tastey. They have an agreement with the local YMCA so that you can use their facilities for free (much better than the small workout room and even smaller swimming pool). A lot of choices for eating out nearby.

The Bad:
The website said they had a hide-a-bed (they were able to give us a roll-a-bed). No elevators (only 2 floors -- hopefully you don't need it).

We stayed overnight for my son's swim meet the next day. With 2.5 stars I wasn't expecting much, but it was better than expected.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PelicanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I made my reservation over the phone & the hotel made the check-in date for Thursday instead of Friday. They charged me a cancellation fee & insisted their reservationist actually remembered me making the reservation 2 months earlier & they didn't make the mistake. Since I had nothing in writing, they refused to remove the cancellation fee.
So like the heading says, Better get it in writing.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank stephanie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
2 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#4 of 8 in Shelby
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
9.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn-Gaffney
Quality Inn-Gaffney
#1 of 8 in Gaffney
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC

Address: 2001 E Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-6909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Shelby)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range: £72 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It s Destination Cleveland County for unexpected Historic Treasures and Scenic Pleasures such as Broad River Greenway, Gardner Webb University,, Harvest Works, Firehouse Cook-off and Hurst Jaws of Life,Historic site of a turning point in the Revolutionary War, hometown to Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson.Holiday Inn Express Shelby welcomes you to our 100% smoke free hotel! Shelby, dubbed 'City of Pleasant Living', is convenient to Charlotte, Hickory and Asheville, NC, Greenville and Spartanburg, SC.Take a walk through time; visit our restored & operational award winning antique carousel and train, or enjoy a tour through one of our art galleries or wineries. Holiday Inn Express Shelby is located on Highway 74 adjacent to Cleveland Mall. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool, business center and fitness center on-site. Take advantage of complimentary access to Dover Foundation YMCA and their full service facility. For our guests who Stay Smart , enjoy the Express Start hot breakfast including cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy with biscuits daily from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM, guest reception Tues-Wed-Thurs 6:00-7:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shelby Hotel Shelby
Holiday Inn Shelby
Shelby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing