We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I had to wait in line to check in. A third person came in to check in behind me. Apparently, this was someone that the staff knew. As I began my check in, another employee came to the counter. The person checking asked me in, asked me to "step aside". She had me then go to the other person while she checked in the person she knew. When the person checking me in had a question, she was outright rude in her reply. As for the room, it was clean and comfortable. The only issue was the AC unit. It had a strong musty smell when running.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvilletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
8
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conway, SC
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding close by.
The.breakfast buffet has many items.
Enjoyed having apples and bananas also. The room with queen beds is a comfortable size. An additional reading lamp would be nice. A nice shopping mall and movie theater is adjacent to the motel. A famous BBQ restaurant is across the highway. Rooms have a microwave and refrigerator.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

10 of us staying here for science conference. One member had her room broken into while she sat at the pool. Took jewelry. Front office not supportive and took two policeman to come for the hotel to tell they have no video cameras in hall and locks on room not working. Worse part was how they treated person. Very, very un professional. Rooms were not very clean and ther person had cockroaches in her bathtub. Would not recommend this hotel. Personel, assistant manager, very unperfessional.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I had a King Room that was extremely clean & comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The front desk was so nice & friendly. The breakfast was good for a continental breakfast & the eating area was clean. The lady working there gave me extra pastries to take with me. I would definately stay here again & probably wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: I was right down the hall from the front desk. Very quiet & convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

As usually happens when the Holiday Inn Express brand tries to make an old hotel new again, this one was a failure. The building must be from the 1970's -- very cramped quarters, old design bathrooms, etc. Not a comfortable place. Don't stay here unless there is absolutely nothing else available.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emhprogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The facility was very clean and the rooms handsomely appointed. The king size bed was extremely comfortable and numerous amenities and toiletries were provided and replaced the next day as needed. Housekeeping was excellent. A small fridge, micro and large flatscreen tv with numerous channels included. Although I didn't sample the breakfast I plan to on my next visit.
I would give this hotel a solid five stars if they replaced the horrible so called eco-friendly lights. They only diminish the otherwise well conceived design of the rooms. Why not use daylight spectrum lights? A small change that would considerably add to the coziness of the rooms.
I would stay here again and hope i had quieter neighbors next time. The first two nights were fine--we simply live in age where lack of respect for others sometimes runs rampant.

Room Tip: Ask if others will be residing above you on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidaytraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was a nice little hotel with a good staff. Nothing much to rave about either way, but it was clean, comfortable, and about what you would expect for a 2.5 star hotel. The free breakfast was good and the room was as expected. The staff was attentive and helped us get some sheets for a pack-and-play as well as a pull out sofa. I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#5 of 8 in Shelby
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
9.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Address: 2001 E Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-6909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Shelby)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It s Destination Cleveland County for unexpected Historic Treasures and Scenic Pleasures such as Broad River Greenway, Gardner Webb University,, Harvest Works, Firehouse Cook-off and Hurst Jaws of Life,Historic site of a turning point in the Revolutionary War, hometown to Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson.Holiday Inn Express Shelby welcomes you to our 100% smoke free hotel! Shelby, dubbed 'City of Pleasant Living', is convenient to Charlotte, Hickory and Asheville, NC, Greenville and Spartanburg, SC.Take a walk through time; visit our restored & operational award winning antique carousel and train, or enjoy a tour through one of our art galleries or wineries. Holiday Inn Express Shelby is located on Highway 74 adjacent to Cleveland Mall. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool, business center and fitness center on-site. Take advantage of complimentary access to Dover Foundation YMCA and their full service facility. For our guests who Stay Smart , enjoy the Express Start hot breakfast including cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy with biscuits daily from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM, guest reception Tues-Wed-Thurs 6:00-7:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shelby Hotel Shelby
Holiday Inn Shelby
Shelby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing