We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Charges”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Asheville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extra Charges”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

For a Holiday Inn Express, this isn't a bad hotel. It's probably the best option in Shelby. Unfortunately, the hotel decided to charge me for another 2 nights stay after my 2 night visit. When I called and inquired about the charges, I was told that I indeed stayed at the hotel for a total of 4 nights when I really only stayed there 2 nights total. I explained very calmly that they must be mistaken, but they were pretty rude and thought I was lying. After a week of going back and forth with management they finally came to the realization that their computer system had a glitch and charged me for 2 extra nights. I would have appreciated a bit more tact on their part during this inquiry.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank macgaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear macgaddy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your this stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects during your visit. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had and for the dissatisfaction the level of service provided by our staff has caused you.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that your comments will be used to reconsider improvements. We look forward to being of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    23
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
26
9
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Checking in hotel was easy and the desk clerk was pleasant. We needed extra linens and were given what we needed. Breakfast the following day was good. Hotel was renovated about 3 months ago and they did a great job. Room was clean and did not have any issues. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. You will not go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrholiday30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Having never been to Shelby, I was leery of some of the hotels based on not so great reviews. This place had the best rating, bar none and is well deserved. It is actually located on the Cleveland Mall property. It's important to know that, because all of the driving directions I got on line had me making a U-turn and going back to the hotel---nope, just turn into the mall!

I know that some people have given this place a less than stellar review, but we had a pretty good experience. I find it hard to believe that it was so different from what other have written, but that happens.

Let's look at the not so great first:
The elevator rattled on the way up, but not on the way down.
The hallway seemed quite narrow.
The bathroom door did not 'click' when shut so you could push on it and it would open.
Had to call a person in another room and couldn't hear anything after hello. She could hear me, but I couldn't hear her at all.
Room never got dark enough for my personal liking--I like it really dark
Someone had opened and used a very small amount of the mouthwash.

That's it for bad.

We had a queen suite with the fridge and microwave. Both were clean.
The room was very roomy with a decent size sink and mirror. Yes, it was just inside the door, but since it was a 'split bath' set up (sink separated from toilet and tub) I don't know where else they could have put it in that room.
The wi-fi worked well for us.
The beds were amazingly comfortable-once we went to sleep, that was it for the night. Great pillows and one of the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel lately.
We got bottled water and a snack at checking-freebie!
Never heard any noise from the hallway...very quiet.
The food offering in the morning was better than most. Biscuits and gravy, cheese omelettes, muffins, several cereals and lots of beverage choices.
Breakfast was ready early (we had to be on the road quiet early that morning) and it was hot and ready when we were.
Every single employee we met was polite, friendly, and very helpful giving us directions to where we needed to go that night.

Would we stay here again? Yes! It was a clean, safe place for us to stay in a strange town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNCELTICLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It wasn't clear to me how old this facility is, but my room appeared to have been refurbished not long ago. A couple of choices they made in the room were odd. First, when you walk in the door, you are met by the sink. Now maybe it's because I have not seen this layout before that it struck me as strange, but I found that I didn't care for having my toiletries on display to the world every time I opened the door. Also, the choice of cool white CF bulbs in the main room and bathroom rendered the space sterile and unwelcoming. Lastly, what is the deal with the satellite TV programming? The little card in the room lists all the analog channels, but when you start surfing down to the 80s, all the digital channels start showing up - many three or four times. Perhaps this is the norm for satellite TV (I'm a cable user), but it made the evening ritual of channel surfing nearly impossible. The HVAC does not have a wall thermostat, but rather is controlled by the analog knob on the device under the window. A cold spell had hit Shelby, presenting me with a cold room upon my arrival. The heat worked very well, but because I had to guess where to turn the knob to get about 70, I spent the rest of the night dialing the heat down because it had gotten oppressively hot. Perhaps because the hotel was not full, I did not find external sounds (parking lot, hallway, slamming doors) intrusive.

Outside of my room, staff were generally courteous, breakfast serviceable and the evening something (manager's reception?) was fine.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stay at LOTS of hotels. Very Nice people here but Not top of the Holiday Inn line.

Hotel is "stick" built so you hear every toilet flush, footsteps and door closing in the place. Rooms are nicely furnished but they have the wrong colored fluorescent light bulbs in every lamp and fixture. A bit like being in an operating room or a 1950's kitchen. They would do so much better to replace the cool light with a warmer fluorescent. I would NOT come back based on the uncomfortable feeling in the room generated by the awful lighting

Bathroom was tired... cracking calk, dirty corners on the linoleum floor.

Hotel lobby had on FOX news but we were able to get them to change the channel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Room was unbearably musty, smelled like the basement of an old house. AC unit had little rocks blowing around in it. Shower curtain had a strong mildew odor. No other rooms were available. Repeated attempts to get the manager to call me were in vain. Finally reached her 3 days later. She was rude and defensive. Said the room was fine, and that I got a discounted rate (AAA). She offered to give me extra priority points, but never sent the email confirmation.

Room Tip: You can't tell from the outside, but this is an old hotel that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank dlynngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graniteville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I had to wait in line to check in. A third person came in to check in behind me. Apparently, this was someone that the staff knew. As I began my check in, another employee came to the counter. The person checking asked me in, asked me to "step aside". She had me then go to the other person while she checked in the person she knew. When the person checking me in had a question, she was outright rude in her reply. As for the room, it was clean and comfortable. The only issue was the AC unit. It had a strong musty smell when running.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvilletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
37 reviews
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#5 of 8 in Shelby
179 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
9.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Address: 2001 E Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-6909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Shelby)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It s Destination Cleveland County for unexpected Historic Treasures and Scenic Pleasures such as Broad River Greenway, Gardner Webb University,, Harvest Works, Firehouse Cook-off and Hurst Jaws of Life,Historic site of a turning point in the Revolutionary War, hometown to Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson.Holiday Inn Express Shelby welcomes you to our 100% smoke free hotel! Shelby, dubbed 'City of Pleasant Living', is convenient to Charlotte, Hickory and Asheville, NC, Greenville and Spartanburg, SC.Take a walk through time; visit our restored & operational award winning antique carousel and train, or enjoy a tour through one of our art galleries or wineries. Holiday Inn Express Shelby is located on Highway 74 adjacent to Cleveland Mall. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool, business center and fitness center on-site. Take advantage of complimentary access to Dover Foundation YMCA and their full service facility. For our guests who Stay Smart , enjoy the Express Start hot breakfast including cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy with biscuits daily from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM, guest reception Tues-Wed-Thurs 6:00-7:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shelby Hotel Shelby
Holiday Inn Shelby
Shelby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing