We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest for the Weary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

A group of us from our church stayed her while doing mission work. The whole hotel was very clean and had fresh,modern decor. Breakfast was full of delicous cinammon rolls, pancakes, fruit, eggs, bacon, etc. The pillows on the bed are labeled. Two are "soft" and two are "firm".The maid was extra friendly and went out of her way, to get us anything we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delwaydarling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel based on previous reviews. Good of this hotel and bad of other hotels in the area. Once we figured out how to get here from the historic uptown Shelby we realized it wasn't as far from town as we thought. We ate BBQ for lunch and wood fired pizza for dinner and recommend you go in to town for both.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyBGrapeview_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A comfortable hotel with modern room amenities - clean facility and conscientious staff. Multiple dining options nearby. You would have to drive to get to a convenience store for snacks etc in your room.

Room Tip: its easy to hear activity in the hallways. stayed on 2nd floor and could hear nearby room doors slam...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tommyvoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed at this Holiday Inn when I most recently came to Shelby, NC for a family member's Homegoing Services and the front desk staff was very pleasantly accommodating. The room was clean and so was the bathroom. The hotel is situated in an area that was conducive for walking to a Shopping Mall and Movies, as well as Ruby Tuesday and McDonald's. I will stay here again and strongly recommend this hotel for your stay in Shelby, NC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Eric T,

We thank you for your recent review of our hotel and am pleased to note that you made mention of the clean rooms and hotel staff service. It is comments such as yours that highlights certain areas for us to focus on to become the best hotel in the area and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had a meeting on Monday morning so I was looking for a local hotel in Shelby. I looked at Tripadvisor and found the Holiday Inn Express to have good reviews. Upon arrival, I was greeted with a smile and quickly checked in. I asked for a room change and had no issues getting one close to the front desk to reduce walking. The room was clean the TV had all the channels I liked. Room temperature was easy to adjust to meet my comfort.

Next morning, breakfast was ready and the nice lady greeted me with a smile. We talked about life and how to enjoy the simple things from the "good old days". Check out was quick and again a smile from the desk rep. I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Hotel is not on Hwy 74, so watch for signs and turn at the McDonald's opening.

Room Tip: Hotel is in the shopping center behind McD's.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I know they don't rate the Holiday Inn Express using the diamond system, but if they did, this little jewel would rate five! You are greeted at check-in by a cheerful desk clerk and the smell of chocolate chip cookies baking. The rooms are always clean and well prepared( we have stayed here many times). Morning coffee and breakfast is much more than you would expect from an express hotel. Only drawback, if you didn't reserve early enough to get a ground floor room, you will have to carry your luggage up to the 2nd floor----no elevator.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheboyganvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

when you open the room door - the bathroom sink is immediately on the open side of the door. if your wife was drying her hair you would smack her with the door

clean room - comfortable, but layout was starnage from my perspective

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear Kevin B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelby
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Shelby
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Charlotte Shelby
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Shelby
Comfort Inn Shelby
#5 of 8 in Shelby
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Shelby
Days Inn Shelby
#6 of 8 in Shelby
186 reviews
9.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling Springs - Gardner Webb University
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Boiling...
#1 of 1 in Boiling Springs
99 reviews
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kings Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC

Address: 2001 E Dixon Blvd, Shelby, NC 28152-6909 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Shelby)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Shelby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Shelby
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It s Destination Cleveland County for unexpected Historic Treasures and Scenic Pleasures such as Broad River Greenway, Gardner Webb University,, Harvest Works, Firehouse Cook-off and Hurst Jaws of Life,Historic site of a turning point in the Revolutionary War, hometown to Earl Scruggs and Don Gibson.Holiday Inn Express Shelby welcomes you to our 100% smoke free hotel! Shelby, dubbed 'City of Pleasant Living', is convenient to Charlotte, Hickory and Asheville, NC, Greenville and Spartanburg, SC.Take a walk through time; visit our restored & operational award winning antique carousel and train, or enjoy a tour through one of our art galleries or wineries. Holiday Inn Express Shelby is located on Highway 74 adjacent to Cleveland Mall. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool, business center and fitness center on-site. Take advantage of complimentary access to Dover Foundation YMCA and their full service facility. For our guests who Stay Smart , enjoy the Express Start hot breakfast including cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy with biscuits daily from 6:30 AM-9:30 AM, guest reception Tues-Wed-Thurs 6:00-7:30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Shelby NC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Shelby Hotel Shelby
Holiday Inn Shelby
Shelby Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing