We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel was immaculately clean which was a pleasure! As others have reviewed the signs and orange barrels made this hotel incredibly hard to find even though it was just a mile off I-95! There are many places to eat in the vicinity but again you have to dodge the orange barrels.

Check in was a breeze...I am however spoiled by other Holiday Inn's and was expecting some cookies or a bottle of water at the very least.

We had a room on the top floor (4th) and thought that would be quiet but around 2 a.m. heard a large party going to their room. The room was well laid out and spotlessly clean. I couldn't find a speck of dust and the bathroom was exceptional. Beds are wonderful.

Breakfast was average with the usual Holiday Inn Express fare. Checkout was also a breeze and very friendly. A great place to stay but not a 5-star yet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Susan L,
Thank you for the great review of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Smithfield - Selma - I95, NC. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate you for taking time to tell us how we are doing. I’m glad that you received excellent service during your check-in. We apologize that other guests kept you from having a good night sleep and that our breakfast seemed average. We have addressed that with the team and improvement is on the works. I hope that you’ll stay with us the next time you need a hotel in Smithfield, NC
Highest Regards,

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

Construction is frustrating and signage is inadequate. However one you arrive it is well worth the hunt even though both entrance signs are marked exit.
Great breakfast, god rooms and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiMiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear TiMiCo,
At the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Smithfield, NC we strive to accommodate you and it is every important to us that your stay with is a memorable and comfortable experience. We are delighted to know that we have exceeded your expectations and very pleased to read your comments, we appreciate your kind words regarding our team. We know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, especially when traveling and we are always happy to know that our guests enjoyed our delicious choices. We also understand how important a good night sleep is to our guests and our Simply Smart linens make that possible.

Construction indeed has made getting to our location a bit frustrating especially after a long drive. Our sincerest apologies.

Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Smithfield, NC

Best Regards,

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I chose this hotel for our three night stay for one reason...The indoor pool! The last time I was in Smithfield, we stayed at the Super 8 which has an indoor pool but the rooms were not that clean. We chose Holiday Inn this time and it was very clean but the indoor pool was out of order! The receptionist said it had been out of order for a few days and they were working to get it fixed. When they finally got it fixed, it was still too cold to swim in. I understand there are circumstances that might be beyond their control but it's still pretty disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vdscott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Vdscott23,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Smithfield, NC. We apologize that we failed to make a great impression throughout your stay because of our pool was not available. Please believe me when I tell you that we are sorry that we weren't able to have it fixed (thanks to complications) in a timely manner. We want you to know that it is fixed now and we would like to personally invite you back to our property in the near future. We appreciate you and we hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

Vanessa Powell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for only a night on our way to SC. The receptionist was very friendly and welcoming. The room was spacious and clean. We liked the high ceiling. Breakfast was good.
The area where the hotel was had many restaurants. We did not go to any. We ordered in pizza and received discount with code printed on the room key.
Understand the hotel is about a year and a half old.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear ArtNYC,
Thanks for your great review of our Holiday Inn Express & Suites Smithfield, NC. Our team prides itself on providing quality service to our guests and we are thrilled that you liked our spacious rooms and breakfast. Hopefully you did not leave the property without having a delicious Cinnamon Roll or our yummy Pancakes.

Please visit us again in the near future.

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Beautiful new hotel with the excellent rooms, amenities and breakfast we look for. Would have liked to have stayed longer. Everything was clean and very quiet. Beds always comfortable. Staff courteous and helpful.
We will definitely be returning on our visits south. Stay February 16-17, 2014.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jpinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear jpinet,

Thanks for the great review of you stay with us! We are excited to see we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and hope we were able to make your time here memorable. I will share your review with our team, I am sure they will be thrilled to read how you rated us. We would love to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again for your generous review and we wish you safe travels!

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I am sitting in what appears to be a brand new hotel. It is beautiful. Our room is big and has comfy chair. I wish I had this desk at home. Bedding of course is the best. So glad to be here. This will be a stop every time we go through here.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank leisuresusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear leisuresusie,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share with us and other travelers, your awesome experience here at the Holiday Inn Express 7 Suites Smithfield, NC. We are happy to know that you love the place and that we will have the pleasure to see you again.

Soon, we will have more choices on our breakfast menu that we are sure you will love. Come back soon!

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Seemingly Brand new hotel with heated indoor salt water pool, fitness center. Rooms are spacious and very well done. Beds and linens were very comfortable. We had 2 rooms- both were very quiet even with us being close to the elevator. The only lackluster experience was the breakfast. It was just ok. We had stayed 2 weeks earlier just up the street at the Hampton Inn where the breakfast offerings were fantastic- so this standard fare was just ok- scrambled eggs tasted like powdered eggs, greasy sausage, biscuits, flavorless gravy, etc. pretty common for free breakfasts. But the local area has a bunch of food choices close by and it sits right off 95 so location for traveling- is fantastic. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank You so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review. We are delighted to know that you had a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Smithfield. NC. We are pleased that you were satisfied with the spacious and very convenient rooms. However, we noted your concern regarding breakfast and we want you to know that the Holiday Inn express brand will launch new breakfast items with a variety of healthy choices.
Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope that you have the opportunity to come and stay with us again soon.

Vanessa Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Smithfield Selma/I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Smithfield Inn
Best Western Smithfield Inn
#2 of 10 in Smithfield
843 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Selma / Smithfield I-95
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Smithfield
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95

Address: 190 S Equity Dr, Smithfield, NC 27577-6034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: £74 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing