We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meat N 2 in town ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood

Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Smithfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
344 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Meat N 2 in town ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a good meat & 2 restaurant you need to go to Holt Lake. Great service and wonderful food. Have been a repeat customer whenever I am in town after being told about this place by locals. Grilled pork chops are a favorite!

Helpful?
Thank GuyfromILMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supper with friends”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Six of us went here for Friday night supper. All ordered seafood. The special was fried baby flounder (ayce). I ordered fried shrimp and scallops, everyone else had the flounder. My spouse found the flounder greasy and undercooked, and was unable to eat it. The shrimp and scallops were unremarkable, but edible. I do not recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonsboro, Maryland
1 review
“Best Seafood Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stop every year going to Fl. and coming back. One of the best restaurant from Md. to Fl. Just wish we had one in Boonsboro, Md

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spooky529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We fell in love with the hushpuppies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We're from the North so we don't ever eat hush puppies, but they bring a basket out to you instead of bread. Sooooooo addictive! The barbecue pork was excellent but I found the beans kind of can-like and mushy. Brunswick Stew was very good. Our waitress, Shannon, was terrific and that made the experience even better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank minandmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good fish/seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have eaten here numerous times, and everything on the menu is great! You cannot go wrong with the family style option of fried chicken, barbeque, and sides. The fried chicken is crispy on the outside, and incredibly juicy and flavorful on the inside. The barbeque is lightly seasoned, but the restaurant provides extra sauce if you want more punch. Hushpuppies? The best! But you really need to try the fried seafood. I don't know how a restaurant located in the middle of the state serves better fried seafood than virtually every restaurant located on the coast of North and South Carolina, but they do. If you are in Johnston County, you need to try this place. You will not be disappointed,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mgm819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Holt Lake Bar-B-Que & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing