We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We booked on line for the room for $40 got there it was cheaper rate on the door but they charged me the higher rate. Filthy rooms the remote did not work shower was not or ever cleaned mold mildew. We were dead tired so we just sucked it up and passed out. In the morning we did not take a shower because the bathroom was so discusting. Then went down for our breakfast there was un sanitary food and discusting coffee.I will never stay there or at any of this hotel chain ever. U can get a better room for the same price or mabie ten dollars more please do yourself a favor and make your long trip comfortable do not stay here.Oh and the lobby smelled of beer and puke.

Room Tip: Don't keep going
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ransom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Ransom D,

I appreciated that fact that you took the time to share a review with us. We do offer toast, bagels, muffins, sausage biscuits, juice, coffee, and fruit on our Continental Breakfast. The foods are served fresh each day. I apologize for the housekeeping issues as well. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.


Regards,
Henna-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2013

Only stayed over 1 night here on the way down South. Average hotel - Not much of a view from any of the rooms that I could tell. The Inn was sorta off the beaten path - not real easy to find. We could see it from 95, but getting to it was a different story. Make sure you get good directions! Beds were pretty comfortable - breakfast was so-so. Good for a one nighter heading either way on 95.

Room Tip: No good rooms that I could see - views of parking lot, highway and closed down pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mako13Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear MakoMan13,

Thank you for posting a traveler review with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am sorry that you had a hard time finding our location. We hope that you stay with us again should you return to the area.



Regards,
Henna-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

not bad for $35.99 a night. ok hotel for 1-2 nights stay. there are other hotels in area too but i like this place since its right off highway. right in the middle from Newyork to florida route.furniture needs upgrade and wifi had little issue but with the price of 35.99 i can go with it

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK28311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

DK28311,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you stay with us again should you return to the area.



Regards,
Henna-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This is a hotel that we've stayed at before & it was just average like most hotels on I-95 for the price. This stay was very unpleasant. The rug was pretty new but the towels were bare threads and the bathroom in need of replacements. The hanger rack was rusty & the room smelled of a strong air freshener which remained on your clothes.
After retiring for the night, a phone call came into our room at midnight & woke us up. The caller identified himself as the assistant manager & claimed that our car was hit and if there was any damages, we should walk to the front desk and get a 25% discount on our next stay. He spoke about us contacting the police. At this point, I handed the phone over to my husband who began questioning this guy. My husband hung up and went to check the car and then to the front desk. The person on duty said there was no assistant manager for the hotel and the caller requested our room. When asked why he put the call through without asking who was calling, he said he thought we may have told someone where we would be staying. We believe that on the other side of this hotel, they have residents who were playing a joke. I had a hard time going back to sleep feeling very uneasy and annoyed. Never again will we stay there even if they gave us the room for $.99!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear beaches,

Thank you for bringing the issues you experienced to our attention. We are taking some additional measures with our front desk staff regarding call screening. I apologize for any inconvenience.




Regards,
Henna-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This place should be torn down. We had reservations for 2 rooms. When we got to the hotel the desk clerk did not have any knowledge of them. I had printed the comformation and showed it to her. She called someone on the phone and was told to give us our rooms. My key card didn't work, so I had to walk back and have it scanned again. It was late so there was not a close inspection of the rooms. The internet needs a password, when you call the desk, she says you do not. there is a desk , but there is no outlet that you can plug you laptop into. The bath tub was filthy, it looked like somebody stood in the tub with shoes on. Bathroom door doesn't close. The bed frame was broke, we did make it thru the night without a cave in.In the morning I open the TV cabinet and it was white with mold. If we had noticed it the night before we would have left. Our friends in the next room also had mold. The ironing board was just tossed in the corner. The breakfast was an insult. I would be afraid to eat anything they had. When you check out you ring a bell and no one comes out. I think that they are scared to face anybody. I have stayed at Best Value Inns before and I will again. This place needs the healh inspector to check the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Adak C,

On behalf of the staff and management, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you encountered with us. Please know that I am addressing these issues with our housekeeping staff. We hope that these improvements will enhance the overall experience for our future guests.


Regards,
Henna-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hotel was at best average. Even though it has a number of great amenities all of them are minimum, such as, the wifi barely gets to the rooms, very low connectivity, the pool is non existanant i (it says seasonal) but its the end of summer. The place needs some good yard work and the pavement repairs. The wife and i researched this place before coming and saw the negative reviews and due to the initial visual thought we were going to experience the same. The clerk was lounging on the couch watching TV and playing on his laptop (probably the wifi killer) and only got up after i was standing at the counter. Professional, and quick but sloppy on doing his job. Got lost due to the uncommon way the rooms are numbered, and the maintenance man looked to appear to bee attempting to break into the room, and when he saw we knew what he was doing he have us and dirty look. The room was clean other than stains on the sheets, and the soap left in the showers used, which tells me that they don't clean the showers between customers.

The key stops working every day. And push real hard for the ice machine.

Extensions are smoothly added.

Female manager is average on service but you can tell she is intelligent and can fix any problems.

Respectfully added,

Jeff

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffery F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Jeffrey F,

Thank you for posting a review with us. I am sorry to hear about the negative experience you encountered during your stay. Our WIFI signal is stronger at the rooms nearest the office area. We would have gladly changed your room if we had known that you were experiencing issues with the signal. I am sorry that we could not meet your expectations.

Regards,
Pradeep-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My children and sister were traveling together on vacation. It was late and we were tired. We stopped at this hotel, thinking it looked a bit better kept than the one across the street. Once we got into our rooms, it was a different story.You can see my sister's review in this thread. My room didn't look bad at first glance, but upon further inspection we found only 2 bath towels in the room, one had a brown stain on it. No wash cloths, no hand towels. The carpets and shower curtain were filthy. The air conditioner was unplugged, and when I went to plug it in, I noticed that the plug had scorch marks on it. As my son started to climb into bed, he noticed sesame seeds on the sheets. The next morning, I noticed an earwig in the bathtub.
I decided to complain upon checkout, but there was no one behind the desk. Just a sign saying to ring the bell if assistance is need, to which no one responded to. I also then notice a hand-written sign stating that there would be no refunds on rooms beyond the first 15 minutes of check-in. My sister said she did not see that when she checked in. I suspect it is only posted in the morning, when people are checking out. Had we seen that, we would have gone on down the road!

Room Tip: My tip to get the best room is to choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abvismithfield, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear JJGlasgow,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing anything less and an excellent stay. I apologize about the lack of hand towels and wash cloths provided in the room. We have trained our housekeepers on providing an adequate number of towels in the room. These corrective measures should help improve the overall experience of our guests. I hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located throughout the Country.

Sincerely,
Henna-Manager
Americas Best Value Inn-Smithfield, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithfield
0.4 mi away
Best Western Smithfield Inn
Best Western Smithfield Inn
#2 of 10 in Smithfield
849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn and Suites by Carlson, Smithfield
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Smithfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 6 in Selma
162 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Selma / Smithfield I-95
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Smithfield-Selma I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 197 Mallard Rd, Smithfield, NC 27577-7103 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Inn Smithfield)
Region: United States > North Carolina > Smithfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Smithfield
Price Range: £40 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, part of Johnston County, NC, located along the Neuse River. Our hotel's advantageous location allows you a gaze into the past at the Johnston County Heritage Center, Hinnant Family Vineyards and Winery, Tobacco Farm Life Museum of North Carolina. Whistle "dixie" as you "march to the beat" of our forefathers at Bettonville Battlefield. Relive the glamorous life of a big screen legend at the Eva Gardner Museum. Shop until you drop at Carolina Premium Outlets or TWM Antique Mall. Bask in the sun at Cobblestone Community Pool or Tucker Lake Recreation. Chipotle, Bob Evans, Ci Ci's Pizza, Applebees, Zaxby's, Hibachi Grill, Texas Roadhouse, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesdays,Mucho Mexico and Smithfield's Chicken*n BBQ are also sure to please.Our hotel offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast and a free cup of coffee. Relax by our seasonal outdoor pool or have your children frolic at our on-site playground. Step into our guest rooms and experience absolute relaxation with free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, coffeemaker, 32 inch flat screen plasma cable TV, hairdryer, iron (upon request), ironing board, desk with lamp, wake-up service and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Smithfield, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Smithfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing