We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step back in time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Needles Resort and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Needles Resort and Country Club
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
333 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The resort looks very rustic driving up on the property. The years and shady pines give all the exteriors a aged look. However, the feeling is quickly replaced with a genuine feeling that you've stepped into a time machine. The only sound as one steps out of the card is a mockingbird chittering away and if you listen carefully the occasional Whack of a golf ball. There is nothing ostentatious about the place just timeless southern charm. The rooms are divided into Lodges(or buildings) and we were assigned one in the Eagle Lodge. Great location. The room was rustic, elegant, spacious, and VERY comfortable. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    28
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
18
25
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I make at least two trips to Pine Needles, one in May and a second trip in the Fall. Just less than 15 minutes from the Village of Pinehurst, Pine Needles is a golfer's dream. The resort is owned by the Bell Family, and even though it has a down home feel, do not let the this fool you. The Pine Needles Golf course is one of the best course, and the companion course, Mid Pines, is a jewel as well.

The rooms are lovely, clean, and create a great space to relax after playing 18, 36 or more. Pine Needles is very female friendly, as well as family friendly, for those who want to stay and play.

The pro shop staff are knowledgeable, and for those who play for the outfits, men and women alike, you won't be disappointed with the shopping at both Pine Needles and Mid Pines. Two years ago, the Executive Chef changed, and it was for the better. The new chef hails from the Cloister in Sea Island, and his food, is to die for.....his crab cakes are famous, and he makes one of the best lobster rolls I have ever had--and I am a native New Englander.

Hospitality comes easily for the Bell Family, they are wonderful hosts, and this is translated to all of the Staff at Pine Needles. Make sure you meet Kathy, who works at the front desk of the resort, she knows it all, and takes good care of each and every person who stays or visits at Pine Needles.

If you are lucky, and have the chance to meet Mrs. Bell, the LPGA Hall of Fame member, she is long on personality and charm---this is demonstrated by how she greets each person she meets, and her family, who are often a stones throw away--are also equally lovely.

Don't pass up a trip to Pine Needles, it is a great place for anyone who loves to golf, or just to relax!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

My girlfriend and I spent 3 days at Pine Needles in April 09.

We found the staff to be friendly and willing to always help. They always went above and beyond to help us out.

The rooms at Pine Needles are a bit older but have great charm and are very comfortable. The floors do creek a bit but this did not really bother us at all. We stayed in on of the small buildings and had a great view of the 18th green and fairway from our room.

We where on a golf package and played twice at Pine Needles and once at Mid Pines.

Mid Pines was a very playable course with generous fairways and good but not overly fast greens. It was a pleasure to play and the afternoon we played there where not many people on the course so the pace of play was wonderful. We played 18 holes in about 3 and a half hours with stops for pictures and a sandwich at the turn. Enjoyed the back nine very much and the 18th hole is a good finishing hole with the club house as a backdrop.

We ate dinner at both properties and enjoyed both. We loved the rustic atmosphere of the bar area at Pine Needles. Even with the kitchen fire that damaged the dinning room and pro shop they did a great job and we loved eating in the bar with the Masters on TV.
If we could do it again, we would have been happy to eat at Pine Needles. Just like the rustic style and lighting of the room better.

If it is possible for a course that has hosted two Women's U S Opens, the course at Pine Needles is highly under rated. It is a classic Donald Ross and on par with any of his best. The course conditions where fantastic and the greens rolling around 12-13 on the stimpmeter. They where a pleasure to putt on and where as fast and true as any I have seen on a course open to the public. In fact, better than many private courses I have played.

One of the best features of this course is the multiple tee boxes. In our group we had a 1 hcp who played from the tips, me a 13 who played from the middle tees and my girlfreind (a 20) who played from the front tees. Many times our drives all ended up at about the same distance to the green. It made it great fun to be hitting second shots into the always interesting and never easy Ross greens. My girlfriend felt that it was one of the fairest golf courses she had played from women's perspective. She never felt like her tees where in a position where she had to strain to get the ball in play or to the fairway. it made for very enjoyable golf for all of us.

Both course had good driving ranges and putting greens. The range at Pine Needles is a little flatter than the one at Mid Pines. Both offered grass tee areas and not matts.

If you are looking for a slower pace, relaxing atmosphere and great service, good food and golf this is the place for you.

If you are looking for Four Seasons like rooms and lots of night life this is not the place for you.

We loved it and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parcapecod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2008

The Pine Needles is an old established golf resort which, along with its sister hotel, the Mid Pines, is beautifully run although in need of some paint and wood updating. Our room, in one of their small lodge buildings, was really a suite with a full living room and kitchenette. On this particular weekend, we seemed to be the only guests who weren't with a business meeting.

Our stay was quite an adventure. We started to have dinner in their dining room, with a beautiful view of the golf course, when the waitress told us we had to evacuate because of a gas leak. (A tree had hit a power line which set pine straw on fire, which melted a gas line, which blew out an old gas line in the hotel). We were bussed over to the Mid Pines where we were served a good dinner in the bar, partly in the dark due to the power failure. The menu was probably just for us, since everyone else seemd to be a business cocktail parties. I bring this up because the staff was very gracious and tried to help us in any way they could, as well as dealing with the business conferences. I can't say enough about their professionalism.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Pine Needles or Mid Pines, I don't golf, so have no opinion about those facilities, although they are Donald Ross courses and quite well known.

We took a great side trip to Seagrove, NC, a town with about 100 pottery studios and galleries.

  • Liked — Comfort of room, attention of staff
  • Disliked — Needs some paint and other refurbishment
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Forsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2002

What a "diamond in the rough"!! When we found the rates at Pinehurst to be more than we could comfortably afford, I called Pine Needles and got a B & B rate there that was comparable to a "standard" hotel rate. Worried that it was "not up to par" we reluctantly showed up last night only to be more than pleased and delighted with the room and all the amenities that went with it. We were delighted with the huge, though rustic, room with very comfortable beds and the service and food at the restaurant was comparable to a 4 star hotel. We are not golfers but I would reccommend this resort to anyone looking for spotless rooms and comfortable, above average accomodations with great food and personal service.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Pines
1.5 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#2 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#6 of 12 in Southern Pines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pinehurst Southern Pines
2.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pinehurst Southern Pines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Needles Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Needles Resort and Country Club

Property: Pine Needles Resort and Country Club
Address: 1005 Midland Rd # 88, Southern Pines, NC 28387-3121
Region: United States > North Carolina > Southern Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Needles Resort and Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fragrant pine forest of North Carolina, you will find an experience unlike any other: For nearly a century, golfers have reveled in the serene ambiance of Pine Needles and Mid Pines Resorts. Two 18-hole Donald Ross designed resort golf courses have earned us our place among the country's best golf resorts – and one to which our guests and USGA Championships return to time and again. We deliver brilliant golf paired with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere right here in beautiful North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Needles Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Needles Resort And Country Club Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needles Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing