We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a historic feel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pine Needles Resort and Country Club
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The hotel is historic, but the rooms and accomodations show it as well. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but you would think you had stepped back in time to the 1940's. Just be aware of what you are getting. Still a nice place and experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hal-ThePlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived late to the hotel, and at check in was greeted by an unfriendly front desk person - no smile, no greeting, no nothing. Luckily check in was quick and we were on our way. The "resort" is very quaint, definitely lodge/cabin style and 4 rooms were in one building with many buildings throughout the property. Building are old, but well kept and lawns are manicured nicely.

When we opened the door to our room...somewhat a nasty surprise to see how small the room was!! (room 133 in the "birdie lodge"). It had been updated, carpet was great underfoot, flat screen TV which are all nice touches BUT i would not recommend staying in this room if there is more than 1 person!!! The bed itself was comfy BUT the sheets looked well used (old) and there were only 4 feather pillows on the King sized bed, they had cream colored pillow cases on them, which, at first glance, we thought they were stained and dirty because the sheets were white! (who does that!? white sheet, cream pillow cases)....we had to turn on all the lights and inspect the pillows just to make sure. Though the bed was clean, with the lack of proper pillows (feather pillows flatten to almost nothing when you lay on them) and only a blanket on the bed, this caused us to have the worse 2 nights sleeps ever! :( Combine that with the A/C unit sounding like a trailer truck barreling down the highway every time the air came on....we left the hotel so tired and exhausted from lack of sleep.

Bathroom is way too small also - you can only fit 1 person in there at a time. Placement of the small fridge right next to the entrance of the small bathroom also made it difficult to walk in/out of the bathroom, me and my bf kept bumping into one another. I did like the soap (coconut and lime) and the heat lamp, but ...there was no space to put my make up bags!!!

The room also came with its own coffee/tea but we never used this....and also an ice bucket. But strangest thing really...was the fact that while we had an ice bucket...where on earth do you go to get ice???? apparently at the front desk area (but who will be walking outside in the dark at 20 degree weather to get some? not me).

On the morning of check out, (at 9am!!) the housekeeper started vacuuming outside our room and the room next door. We were woken up pretty violently from the sound of the vacuum! The walls are so thin, it felt like she was vacuuming in our room!!! The housekeeping staff need to keep in mind that there are guests in the other rooms and should not make loud noises until after check out time or a more decent time on a Sunday morning.

Overall, if you are a golfer and spend most of your time out of the room, need only basic amenities, and want a quit entry/exit to your room/car, then this is a wonderful place. BUT, if you want to have a good sleep and proper amenities with friendly staff, I would go and stay elsewhere. We tried it, I really wanted to like it.... but.... it was the first time and last time for us. Sorry Pine Needles... I need sleep and room to move when I'm on a getaway!!!

Room Tip: The 2 Double Bed rooms are a lot bigger than the King Bed rooms, so if you want space to move around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deidre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This resort is very homey with a lodge feel. The updated rooms are very comfortable with excellent dining and of course great golf. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank free2be2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed at the Pine Needles Lodge over Christmas holidays . Stayed in a master room at the Putter Lodge chalet . The room was big and well decorated , we had a 2nd floor room with a view of the pratice are and partial golf course and large balcony. The only negative comment is the AC/Heather unit .. kept going on and off most of the night. We had to shut it down so we could sleep.
The staff was very nice, courteous, helpful. and friendly all around the resort . The food was great , we had dinner on Christmas night. cozy dinning room and beatiful views, with a huge fireplace. The ln-the-rough lounge was very nice for cocktails and snacks as well as full meal menu. the seating area with fireplace , located just outside the lounge was great for just seating around , reading , using internet service. the pro shop was nicely equipped with merchandise . the course Pine Needles was amazing, even at this time of the year it was in a great condition , fairways and greens immaculate. I know why it was chosen for the US Women's Open in 2007. All around a beautiful place.

Room Tip: master lodge is really nice and large . for group you can stay at the Wedge Lodge it has bedrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth29867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We live in Pinehurst and are members of one of THE country clubs in Pinehurst. However, for a change of atmosphere we went to the Lodge at Pine Needles for Thanksgiving Dinner. THE BEST THANKSGIVING BUFFET ever. All of our family and guests commented on how everything was seasoned perfectly and the temperature was nice and hot. Great variety. We will be making this our new tradition. Thank you very much for making us look good with our family and friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank TravellinMomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel E, Food & Beverage Manager at Pine Needles Resort and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

“ Dear TravellinMomNC,

Thank you for your gracious comments. Chef Taylor and all the staff worked tirelessly to put together such a flawless day that was special to many. We are glad we could make you look good to all your family and friends as we know how much is at stake when trying a new restaurant. It’s a leap of faith and I’m relieved to know you landed softly on your feet. We look forward to welcoming you back with an even larger group of family and friends next year. If you cannot wait until Thanksgiving again we also have a wonderful Mother's Day and Easter brunch buffet that will be on par with Thanksgiving.

Warm Regards,

Daniel Eldredge
Food & Beverage Manager
Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club
Daniel.Eldredge@rossresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Pine Needles epitomizes the great American golf resort. It has two courses, Pine Needles and Mid-Pines across the road, both classic Donald Ross designs from the 1920s. Ross's greens, especially when the breeze comes up and the sun shines, are big, subtle and slippery. They'll test your short game. The fairways are wide and the rough, for resort play, is kept mercifully short. (When the course hosts a big tournament, it's another story.) The holes wend through corridors of towering pines and the courses are beautifully conditioned. It's a pleasure just to strike a ball off the firm, sandhills turf. The practice facilities are superb--a big, grass-tee range and expansive short-game area. The golf staff is friendly and accommodating; they actually seem pleased that you've chosen to play their courses. The clubhouse is cozy and comfortable, with several fireplaces and a great bar overlooking the practice range and first tee. The rooms are spacious and very well furnished, with leather couches, good desk space, and wi-fi. I'd give the food in the dining room a B. It's not a gourmet destination, but the buffets at breakfast and lunch are quick and satisfying and the wait staff is very efficient. I last visited with an extended family group, and everyone loved the place. It's also a great site for buddy trips and golf schools.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of the lodge buildings have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloktwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Rustic suites and Southern hospitality make this place feel like you're visiting your old home town (if you were lucky enough to have a home town as charming as Southern Pines). From reservations to our last wave good bye the service was prompt, cheerful and friendly. The Pine Needles Golf Course, famous site of LPGA tournaments, was in tip top shape.
The rooms were immaculate, large and comfy. My only complaint is that the rooms are starting to age and could use better lighting. Wifi was also spotty. Lunch at the resort was scrumptious....I recommend the Southwest Chicken wrap. We never ate dinner there though I'm sure it's equally good. The towns of Southern Pines and Pinehurst have so many wonderful dining choices we were not there long enough to try even a fraction of them. We did not use the spa, fitness center or pool but they are available. Great for families, couples or golf groups.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southern Pines
0.3 mi away
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
Mid Pines Inn and Golf Club
#8 of 12 in Southern Pines
90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Olmsted Village (near Pinehurst)
1.4 mi away
Jefferson Inn
Jefferson Inn
#1 of 12 in Southern Pines
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Southern Pines Aberdeen
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Southern Pines-Pinehurst
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#3 of 12 in Southern Pines
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Needles Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Needles Resort and Country Club

Address: 1005 Midland Rd, Southern Pines, NC 28387
Region: United States > North Carolina > Southern Pines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Southern Pines
Price Range: £81 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pine Needles Resort and Country Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the fragrant pine forest of North Carolina, you will find an experience unlike any other: For nearly a century, golfers have reveled in the serene ambiance of Pine Needles and Mid Pines Resorts. Two 18-hole Donald Ross designed resort golf courses have earned us our place among the country's best golf resorts – and one to which our guests and USGA Championships return to time and again. We deliver brilliant golf paired with southern hospitality in a casual atmosphere right here in beautiful North Carolina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pine Needles Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Needles Resort And Country Club Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needles Hotel Southern Pines
Pine Needle Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing