We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Family Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones. Private Pool and Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
7 bedroom beach house, five minute walk to the beach, golf, gym, marina and tennis privileges
Private 8' x 14' Amish-built Pirate Ship. A great playset for the little ones.
Private Pool and Hot Tub
Sit at the counter or around the large dining table that seats a crowd
Wicker seating area
Living room with new couch, new tile, LCD TV, TIVO, Netflix, Blu-Ray, 600 DVDs, and Onkyo 5.1 Stereo
Fully appointed kitchen - New for 2018: Granite countertops and stainless steel appliances
Golf Privileges at the nearby Kilmarlic Country Club
BR 1-Captain's Quarters, King bed, Jacuzzi, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, DVR, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 2 - Surf Shack, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 3 - Beachcomber, Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, Blu-Ray, NetFlix, Deck Access
BR 4 - Adirondack -
 Queen bed, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 5 - Crew's Quarters -
 Two bunk bed set, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 6 - Pyramid Room -
 One bunk bed set (twin/full), LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
BR 7 - Garden Room -
 Two twins, LCD TV, 475 channels, DVR, Blu-Ray, NetFlix
Discount adventure sports (Hang Gliding Lessons, Wright Flyer) through K-Club
Free Tennis Privileges (2 courts, backboard, and shaded Gazebo)
Game room fridge, microwave, sink, iPhone/iPod compatible stereo
Wall art in the game room
Dog kennel under live oak tree (dog welcome inside house), one mature dog allowed w/ $75 fee
Horizon Ocean Views
Decks face East and South
Volleyball court - Kids love it as their own giant sand box
Marina Privileges
Marina Privileges - great sunsets
Walk to the Ocean
Manicured lawn, palm trees, w/ basketball hoop
Dolphin Inn - Great Getaway
Wall art in entryway
BR 1 - Captain's Quarters Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 2 - Surf Shack Detail
BR 3 - Beachcomber Detail
Hallway detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Southern Shores, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BoardingP...
1 review
“Excellent Family Vacation”
Reviewed 21 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our family's first vacation to OBX! It was awesome! The landlords Jorge and Susannah Herrada were very friendly and very prompt in addressing any and all of our concerns. The house is beautiful, the pool was very inviting with all of the pool toys and chairs provided! The children very much enjoyed the Pirate Ship play area as well as the volleyball in the sand! Fortunately we only had a portion of a day with rain, but it was nice to have options from the hundreds of DVDS to help entertain the children in the "getting ready to go out" times.
The house was very clean. The Herradas kindly supplied outdoor dishes for safety purposes around the pool which was nice to not have to pack along with all of our other items.
We vacationed very comfortably with 9 adults, 4 children and 2 infants. The Dolphin Inn was a very easy walk to the beach only a block away and although we did take our own beach stuff, The Dolphin Inn provided a wagon that we used to carry items to the beach. The house provided us with new and reliable appliances so we were able to do some 'in house' cooking as well as the convenience of the local restaurants in nearby communities! We had 4 vehicles as well as a trailer with plenty of space to park on the driveway. The Dolphin Inn was easy to find, easy to get to and easy to depart.
Discounts were offered for surrounding activities, we had a great time at HBO2X Water Park which we HIGHLY recommend...thank you Dolphin Inn for the discounts!
In the area, we also recommend Jimmy's Seafood Buffet in Kitty Hawk for Wednesday Night All You Can Eat Buffet with 10 varieties of Crabs, The Roadside Grill in Duck, and a little outdoor place behind the shops in Duck that has darts, a band and lots of fun! Needless to say we had a great time! We would highly recommend The Dolphin Inn for a welcoming, clean and very helpful vacation place. They are definitely an great asset to the OBX area!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhettburk...
Ruther Glen, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect! Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The description for this house is incredibly accurate...it is a beautiful home!! Susannah and Jorge are perfect hosts and very attentive. They provided binders in the house with detailed information about their home, the local area, and the Outer Banks.

The house is immaculate and well appointed...including a gourmet kitchen! Upon your arrival you will immediately feel "at home" and be excited to enjoy your vacation! The common areas inside are very large for everyone to gather and enjoy the games, movies, etc. There are multiple decks to enjoy extending your living area outside to enjoy all hours ... especially for sunrise! The fenced backyard feels like you have
your own private resort with amenities to provide hours of entertainment for everyone! This home is perfect for all ages. If you have a dog, be assured it will be safe to play as well!

The location is perfect! The beach is a short walk away (only 1 1/2 blocks)! Shopping and restaurants are minutes away.

I highly recommend this property for your vacation!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LORFD
Athens, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Dolphin Inn”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

That Dolphin Inn is a fantastic home for a vacation in the Outer Banks! We had family ages 2-82 years old and everyone had a great time! The house had everything we needed to enjoy our stay and was immaculate. We all enjoyed the pool, hot tub and wonderful quiet beach!
Jorge and Suzannah were fabulous!!! They responded to emails and questions very quickly and called to check to make sure everything was good.
I highly recommend staying at the Dolphin Inn!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolB174...
1 review
“Spoiled by southern hospitality in Southern Shores”
Reviewed 22 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This house has everything: location, pool/spa, shady backyard play area for kids/pets, amenities (every kitchen tool/appliance you could dream of), lovely impeccably clean bedrooms/bathrooms/open spaces, a full library of books & movies for rainy days. Best of all, the owners are thoughtful and accessible should you need anything at all. Their detailed information provided on the house and area, as well as local favorites, was invaluable. 2 recommendations: eat nearby at Steamers and tandem hang glide with Kitty Hawk kites!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla R
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Birthday Beach weekend”
Reviewed 11 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Not sure I could say enough good things about my experience with Jorge and at Dolphin Inn. Jorge was a great host! He went above and beyond to make sure we had all the info we needed and always reassured he was just a phone call/email/text away. Anytime I reached out to Jorge he always responded quickly. The house its self was also great- Looks just the pictures! I was most impressed with the kitchen. It was stocked with just about anything you could need and had plenty of dishes and silverware. Also, Jorge has gone above and beyond to label and keep everything organized in the house which made it easier for us to find what we needed. And I mean EVERYTHING! Even the movies were organized by ratings. The house is also in a perfect location. Surrounded by only houses, it felt remote. But, everything you needed was only a very short drive away. Overall, the house was very well maintained and helped make for a wonderful long weekend celebrating my husband's birthday! I would 100% recommend this house to a friend and would rebook for future visits without any hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trinityti...
Pine Grove, California
1 review
“It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This!”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I have utilized vacation home rental agencies for a number of trips to France and in the United States. We’ve always had good experiences. However, I have to say that our weeklong stay at Jorge & Susannah Herrada’s Dolphin Inn at the OBX of Southern Shores, North Carolina, was no doubt the best experience of all! Not only was the location ideal with its proximity to the beach (as well as the amenity of free membership privileges in a local athletic club!), but the spacious house and grounds had everything you could think of and was beautifully maintained. Check out the description of the Dolphin Inn. It’s all true, plus the price was very reasonable for us four couples…perhaps the best deal we’ve ever gotten. However, the pleasant surprise was Jorge’s personal, proactive communications and his speedy response to any questions or needs we might have had before or during our stay. We four couples never felt so “cared for” before by the owner of a vacation rental property. It was like we were old friends rather than renters! I give the Herradas and their Dolphin Inn a 10 out of 10. Rent this place! You won't be disappointed.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joan w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A glorious beach stay in the PERFECT vacation home!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Dolphin Inn provided the perfect stay for our long-awaited family vacation! It housed 16 adults, children, and babies comfortably. The house was in top condition. The swimming pool, hot tub, and sand volleyball court provided hours of "in house", relaxed entertainment, as did the very short walk to the beach. The pirate ship playground was also a novelty attraction. Our family shared great times in the large, open living/dining/kitchen area. The quaint town of Duck was a short bike or car ride away. We spent one afternoon feasting on oysters at a nearby wine and oyster bar. The local fish shack owner provided us with all the ingredients we needed for a shrimp boil, plus many interesting stories about the history of the Outer Banks. Jorge, the owner of the Inn, could not have been more gracious as he answered questions and provided helpful information to make our stay even more enjoyable. I cannot recommend this spacious and extremely comfortable beach home highly enough. We can't wait to go back!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing