We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine lunch spot on the waterfront”
Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dugspur, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A fine lunch spot on the waterfront”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stopped for a lunch rendezvous with friends while passing through Southport. The outside seating on the water provided great views of the waterfront. September temps were mild and summer traffic gone.
Enjoyed a variety of dishes including the fishy basket, fried flounder sandwich, grilled tuna pita and pasta for our young traveler. The servers were knowledgeable about the items and service was prompt and courteous. All of the meals were well prepared and tasty. The sauces were nice additions.
A very nice location for a lunch and would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    436
    227
    98
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great View, OK Seafood”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The view is fantastic. My wife and I traveled by boat up to Southport to enjoy the day. We stopped at Fishy Fishy because they had an open dock. Wide open in fact when all of the other restaurant docks were packed. We got Grouper Bites that were fried in what tasted like old oil. We ate several but left most of them. The outdoor seating is a little disjointed and was not very clean. This would regularly get 2 out of 5 except for the location and view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fishy Fishy Really??”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My first clue this was not a place to enjoy fish was the specials....Buffalo wings and chicken soup...REALLY?

What we ordered was the Fishy basket....what a disappointment...Yes we knew it was fried but about 10 very small shrimp. HARD fried chips. and coleslaw in a tiny container. This type of container was also used for cocktail sauce. What a skimp! for $10!!!

The only saving thing was the setting but change the name that better reflects the menu...skimpy skimpy - no fish specials.

Very disappointed. Coming back to Southport but won't eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksgalnnc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views, atmosphere, service, food”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just like the title says... The view from the outdoor tables of the Southport waterfront are spectacular. The casual, seaside bar atmosphere is laid-back and perfect for the area. The servers are friendly, professional, and very knowledgable. The food is great - maybe not spectacular but really good especially compared to the other waterfront seafood places in Southport. Go for lunch or for an afternoon drinking session with some appetizers. At night especially on summer weekends it gets very crowded and a little crazy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Went for our first weekend get a way and completely enjoyed this restaurant- atmosphere, wait staff, & good were amazing! A must if visiting the area. I know we will be going back :-)

Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing