We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service, service, service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service, service, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

WOW!!!!!! As we entered into the restaurant it was packed. The hostess said it would be about 30 minutes, or she could seat us outside right now. We chose outside by the water to watch the sunset even thought it was 58 degrees. The manager came out and offered us blankets to put over us. We declined. Were from the mountains, and found it very nice out. Our waitress Liza was super duper. She suggested some of the best Mohito's i've ever tasted. They were made different from usual with Malibu rum, and mango juice. What a treat!!! Our entee's showed up very quickly as more, and more people decided to come outside to eat. Everyone was having fun, and being offered blankets. I think they prioritised the meals for the people outside. Everyone was exceptional towards us. I think some people that have given this place a bad review should reconsider their reviews. We spoke with several people outside, and when we had one more Mohito inside at the bar. Everyone was super impressed with the entire staff's service, and the food they ate. Bravo man!!!! Yes, i'll be back tonight...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StewReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    403
    214
    91
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average food in a great location with friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to Southport and second time eating at Fishy Fishy. The food is good, fresh, and well prepared, but nothing really special.

The location (whether dining inside or out) is perfect, situated at the water's edge.

Both times we've eaten here the service has been somewhat slow, but we credit that to the laid back atmosphere.

For just the food, I'd say this place is average. But the total package rates the higher rating.

Would definitely return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dugspur, Virginia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A fine lunch spot on the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stopped for a lunch rendezvous with friends while passing through Southport. The outside seating on the water provided great views of the waterfront. September temps were mild and summer traffic gone.
Enjoyed a variety of dishes including the fishy basket, fried flounder sandwich, grilled tuna pita and pasta for our young traveler. The servers were knowledgeable about the items and service was prompt and courteous. All of the meals were well prepared and tasty. The sauces were nice additions.
A very nice location for a lunch and would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great View, OK Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The view is fantastic. My wife and I traveled by boat up to Southport to enjoy the day. We stopped at Fishy Fishy because they had an open dock. Wide open in fact when all of the other restaurant docks were packed. We got Grouper Bites that were fried in what tasted like old oil. We ate several but left most of them. The outdoor seating is a little disjointed and was not very clean. This would regularly get 2 out of 5 except for the location and view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fishy Fishy Really??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My first clue this was not a place to enjoy fish was the specials....Buffalo wings and chicken soup...REALLY?

What we ordered was the Fishy basket....what a disappointment...Yes we knew it was fried but about 10 very small shrimp. HARD fried chips. and coleslaw in a tiny container. This type of container was also used for cocktail sauce. What a skimp! for $10!!!

The only saving thing was the setting but change the name that better reflects the menu...skimpy skimpy - no fish specials.

Very disappointed. Coming back to Southport but won't eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ksgalnnc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing