We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Dinner @ Fishy Fishy = Good Food & Fun Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
375 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Family Dinner @ Fishy Fishy = Good Food & Fun Times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

In Oak Island for the weekend and we decided to head to Southport for dinner - the wait time at Fishy Fishy was less so we set our sights there. It was a good pick - nice views of the water, our server was a sweetheart - very attentive and took great care of us, food and drinks were good too.

I had a Fishy Bloody Mary - it was a little on the spicy hot side and I like that - so was very enjoyable. I had a Wedge Salad to start; followed by the Fishy Fishy Tacos - Grilled mahi & Cheddar Jack cheese wrapped
in a flour tortilla, deep fried and served with mango salsa & guacamole or sour cream. Other members of the family had the Pecan Catfish - Pecan and potato encrusted catfish topped with an orange jalapeño marmalade and served with cheese grits & broccoli and the Carolina Fried Seafood Plate - Your choice of shrimp, oysters, catfish, flounder or scallops served with home fried chips & coleslaw. Everyone was content and it was great place for our large party of 10 to be seated and have a view of the water.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OSProfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    412
    216
    92
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had Lunch at Fishy Fishy. We ate an early Lunch at 11am. Seated right away with party of six. We had Tina Pita- Excellent and salads and fish. The food is very different from Provision and you cannot not compare the two restaurants because each is different in their own way. I highly recommend and I would try the two restaurants at different eating times for varieties.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I dined here on Mother's Day for lunch. We found it to be much better than our last Southport waterfront dining experience down the way at Yacht Basin Eatery. The menu was varied and we enjoyed the buffalo shrimp appetizer along with our two entrees. It's a little pricey, but the quality was wonderful. They had great live music and we chose to eat outdoors, right on the waterfront. Service was a little slow, but I think our waitress had several more tables than usual since it was a 'holiday.' After lunch, we enjoyed a Southport tour. As we walked back to our car, we saw our tour guide stopping in at Fishy Fishy. Even the locals approve! ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahconrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Went here Father's Day, we live nearby and always love going to Southport! Fishy fishy has a great atmosphere, a great location, and great food! I had the buffalo shrimp wrap, it was just perfect, The service was good too! And we even had a female singer/guitarist to entertain, I will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triad, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Couldn't get any service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived with our hungry kids around 515PM on a Sunday and were promptly seated. We sat there for about 20 minutes and couldn't even get a server to take a drink order for us. There were plenty of staff around and the restaurant was not busy yet. Not sure why we were ignored, but we left and walked over to another restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blargoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing