We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Fishy Fishy Cafe

Fishy Fishy Cafe
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had not been to Fishy Fishy in several years. Given the recent great publicity, we thought we would try it last weekend (7/19/2014). The place was crowded and it does have a great ambiance. We were able to sit outside which we enjoyed. The food, however, was not good. Two at our table had the fish tacos which they renamed egg rolls. They were unlike any fish tacos we had ever seen. Another had a salad which was fine. The shrimp with bacon was a disappointment. It certainly was not worth the price charged.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof6NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    450
    231
    99
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You are paying for location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food here was not as good as expected. The menu looked great but the food was bland and the service was slow.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Anjie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton OH
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed several times in Oak Island NC and had been looking for a fun seafood restaurant with a beach vibe, preferably on the water. My husband got a recommendation for Fishy Fishy from his fishing charter captain, then checked it out online--they have a live camera feed. Well, we finally got a chance to try it out, and we'll be "regulars." Southport is a short trip, 15-20 minutes.

We couldn't be any closer to the water; in fact, we saw a seagull come in and sneak food off a plate! A boat next to us was unloading scuba divers--there was plenty of ambiance!

The four of us enjoyed tropical drinks and fried seafood, several appetizers (a highlight was a combo plate with black bean hummus and pimento cheese spreads) but my fish tacos were...weird. I never experienced fish tacos that were made of finely minced white fish rolled up in a tortilla and deep-fried like a burrito. But it came with some great guacamole and sour cream, and was delicious. Just weird.

The dessert menu looked great and we were sorry to be too stuffed to try one! Service was great, and we enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brownsherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Fish Taco was delicious. Yes it's only one taco but it's huge! The calamari was awesome, too. You can't beat an amazing view from the covered dock as you eat dinner. Awesome food, atmosphere, and ambience. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcc0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location...sub par food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My first night in Southport, and decided to take my daughters to Fishy Fishy...mostly because it looked like a good spot to try.

Location and atmosphere...as amazing as they are...cannot make up for the average (at best) food at an above average price. I will not be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JiangxiBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishy Fishy Cafe also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Oak Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fishy Fishy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing