We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Counting down until next year”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Counting down until next year”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a wonderful find! Looking forward to next year. What a great location and you can't beat the view. We stayed in #4 and it was perfect. Clean and enough bspace room for the 2 of us and our bikes to be comfortable. We enjoyed the back swing, watching the boats, walking in the grass. Just a great motel in a coastal town!

Room Tip: Any of the 8 are great rooms! I believe 1 and 8 do not have the waterfront rooms. But 2-7 do. Enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swink, CO
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As others have noted, this is an older hotel, though well maintained overall. It is not a polished example of modern innkeeping. We stayed in #5, which was clean, and everything worked. The back patio gives a great view of the river, and as we sat on the bench swing, we watched a number of trawlers, private sportfishermen, and the Bald Head ferry go by. We saw an incredible number of pelicans; the most we have seen in one spot in eastern NC. And, as sunset approached, a seemingly endless series of strings of white ibis flew by. It was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and we slept very well. Our whole experience here was very good, and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant close aboard the eastern end of the motel. If you want a good view of the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeSteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've stayed here several times, and it has some great points (although if you're looking for a modern, sterile motel room, this is not your cup of tea). It's right beside the Cape Fear River, and most of the rooms have a back deck with chairs/swing, so you can sit out there and watch the boats go by, in some cases huge oceangoing freighters. Also there are lots of birds around - I watched a pair of white ibises on the lawn between the deck and the river. Also, great location as far as being in the quaintest part of town, and close to restaurants. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed, although there's not much space to spread out stuff.

The downside on this visit was the humidity (which I suppose is also a result of being right next to the river). The night I was there, it was storming pretty seriously, and everything felt damp and sticky, and the room smelled mildewy. I don't see much they can do about this, considering that most people want to leave doors and windows open and sit out by the river.

The motel is affiliated (co-owned, I guess) with the B&B across the street. Lady over there who checked me in was very very nice and eager to help with anything. I'm generally not a fan of B&Bs, but next visit I might try that, just because a big Victorian house might have less humidity than a low-profile motel right by the river.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodieOnAHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of WA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This motel is a bit rustic looking and if you are looking for a Four Seasons experience, this is not it. But, it is clean, the lady checking us in was most pleasant and helpful with local information, and you are a couple of blocks from the visitor center, restaurants, lovely historic homes, quaint shops. The motel is right on the waterfront. You can sit on the porch in your swing and watch ocean-going vessels, ferries and all sorts of pleasure boats passing by. We were planning on staying one night, liked the area and motel so well we opted for one more night.. There are only 7 or 8 rooms, of which I believe 5 have the porch view, so reservations may be wise.

Room Tip: The two end rooms don't face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winekatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Ridge, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I have stayed in this motel several times with no problems .
October 22, 2013 I checked in too room # 4 , mid afternoon, took river photos then had dinner and went back to my room ..
With out notice or warning as I walked into the bath room ,,, I found my self on the floor with my left arm and head in the tub and my left front side against the tub edge..
.Alter gathering myself I could see the bathroom floor was higher than the bed room floor and my shoe had caught on the taller tile edge,, tripping me .. Tired and upset I lay down and woke at 4 AM

I left early the next morning 6:00 AM with some pain but had to be in Wilmington early .

I hope this problem will be corrected, for I'am in much more pain,, feeling now, I may have a cracked rib .. I would not want anyone else to trip on the uneven floor....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sray1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CINCINNATI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Sits right on the Cape Fear & there is a nice porch swing & 2 chairs to enjoy the river activity. The room was charming & clean. If we are able to return to Southport we will stay here. We didn't need much from the owners but the people we talked with were very pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RICHARD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Caroina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This motel is older and looks it on the outside but the rooms are clean and have had some updates. Need another mirror in the room. We stayed in #5. Additional fan helped keep room cool and it was quiet. Love the swing off the back porch and the view of the sound is awesome! Wonderful location within walking distance of waterfront restaurants and downtown shopping. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetcarolinenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
527 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Property: Riverside Motel
Address: 103 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3801
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Motel is Southport's only motel on the riverbank in historic downtown. All rooms come with fans, phones, coffee, cable TV, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms also have porches with swings facing the river with a panoramic view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing