We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a location !”
Review of Riverside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverside Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Right on the water. Big swings facing the river. Great place to relax. Walk to restaurants and shops. Can;t wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank www7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2010

Since the last review was Sept. 2008 I guess it's time for an update. This great little eight room place was built in the 1950's. It has been renovated, and lovelingly cared for by it's owners. The rooms are small as were most rooms of that era, but are equiped with the niceties needed for your stay. They even have a compact fridge, and microwave. The absolute best part are the swings (rooms two through seven) that face the Cape Fear river. These swings are the best blood pressure medicine ever invented. The location is the best. One block from downtown proper, you may not need to start the car until your ready to leave. The staff are great folks, and very friendly. If your looking for the Ritz, this ain't it. But if you want a relaxing stay in a great little fishing village, give the Riverside a try.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RebelYell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We love this waterfront motel. We stay there also every fall. My husband loves to fish and this is where we usually stay. I love sitting on the porch watching the boats come in. The people are also very nice and make staying there a pleasure. We would recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brendalaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

This is a pretty basic motel, but the location makes it. Most rooms face onto the Cape Fear River and Intracoastal Waterway, with a deck and chairs to enjoy the view. However, a couple of end units do not have this view, and one is very close to a busy restaurant.

It would be nice if the bathrooms had an exhaust fan, but at least the window opens. Perhaps to make up for the lack of fan, there is an air freshener that sends out a stinky blast every few minutes. A helpful manager disabled this for us.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Das Eckzimmer hat zwei riesige Betten. Passt für vier Personen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
555 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
10.1 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel

Address: 103 W Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3801
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Motel is Southport's only motel on the riverbank in historic downtown. All rooms come with fans, phones, coffee, cable TV, microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms also have porches with swings facing the river with a panoramic view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing