We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brunswick Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Brunswick Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Mount Olive, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Wife and I went down for our 26th annv. and loved it. Jim & Judy the inn keepers were great folks, and the charm of Southport is beyond statement. it was really laid back, no t.v. telephones or radios, but they want missed. loved the feeling of trust in the area. loved the "cat in the piano".

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
2
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Jim and Judy are nothing short of incredible hosts! They not only cater to your every need, but treat you as a Friend and Guest in their home from the moment you arrive. Morning and evening chats about the area and Jim and Judy's banter are just one of many examples that illustrate this true labor of love for both of them.

Accommodations were charming and comfortable, as was the rest of this delightful historic home. From the awesome home cooked breakfasts, to the delightful evening wine and snacks, to the walks along the shore, to the incredible ocean view from the 1st AND 2nd story decks, the Brunswick Inn is an all around winner! We will certainly visit again and thank Jim and Judy for sharing their wonderful home with us.

Kevin and Kathy DeLillo,
Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at the Brunswick Inn B&B when I participated in an en plein air event. The old house was so completely charming! It was very nicely decorated with many personal items from the Clary's travels. Breakfast was yummy, too! In fact, it was necessary for me to be out and painting by 8:30am, but breakfast not to be served until 9:00am. Mrs. Clary made a special effort and had yogurt, muffins, and coffee ready for me by 8:00am. I really appreciated that she, and her husband (who made the coffee!), went to that length to make sure a guest was happy.

This is definitely a place we would like to return to!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room as they are all quite large. And noise is not a problem as So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

A beautifully maintained historic property.....Fabulous is every way....If you are seeking a most memorable experience along the North Carolina coast, this Inn must be on your short list....We could add additional detail, but that might serve to obscure the fact that Brunswick Inn exceeds both reasonable and unreasonable standards.....The Clarys are grand inn keepers.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldnavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brunswick Inn for a 3-day trip in October, 2013. We thoroughly enjoyed the Inn and the owners, Judy and Jim Clary. They are funny, engaging, responsive and always have a good story to share. The Inn is beautiful. It was so relaxing to sit on the porch(es) and enjoy the waterfront. I would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were so fortunate to get reservations for two nights at this B&B in early August. We had a wonderful stay--Jim and Judy have everything in tip-top shape and have lots of historical information on the inn and area. Breakfasts were delicious. Linens were very nice (fluffy towels/smooth sheets--I am a little picky). Three porches with rocking chairs offer lots of seating and beautiful views. We stayed in the "Governor's Room." Very nicely appointed with private bath and jacuzzi tub (and fireplace for winter months!) We will absolutely go back as soon as we can!

It is a short walk to waterfront restaurants but don't miss Mr. P's Bistro on the main street. (Also a short walk)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstanley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Jim & Judy were fantastic hosts! Their impeccable attention to detail when it comes to hospitality went without notice! We would have never found this gem without watching the movie "Safe Haven" and wanting to visit Southport, NC...Thank you for a wonderful experience and your AMAZING breakfast each morning!
Terri & Jaimi from Toledo, OH

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarp3575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
9.8 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
24.5 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Property: The Brunswick Inn
Address: 301 E Bay St, Southport, NC 28461-3911
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing