We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rick and Linda made us feel welcome and at home. They went out of their way to show us around Southport. Rick shuttled us to and from the ferry to Bald Head Island in his fun golf cart. The accommodations were very nice with a lot of nice touches such as wine, water and candy. Breakfasts were excellent!!! It was very hot outside and the Inn was cool and comfortable. They provided bicycles to ride around town free of charge which is a very nice touch. They recommended places to eat and things to do around town. We would definitely recommend this beautiful place and will be going back again.

Jim and Deborah- Apex, NC

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you Jim & Deborah for the wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you both and welcoming you to the Robert Ruark Inn. It was our pleasure showing you the sites of Southport via the electric cart, too.

Thanks again for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn and for the review.

We wish you all the best for a great summer 2012!

Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
178
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I was invited to join friends for breakfast at the Robert Ruark Inn. The Inn is beautiful and rich with history about the author "Robert Ruark". Rick and Linda were so kind and welcomed me along with their other guests. Breakfast was absolutely divine. Thank you Rick and Linda for letting me have the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful Inn and your wonderful breakfast with my close friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We enjoyed meeting everyone very, very much. It was a pleasure having you at breakfast, too. Please stop by again soon!

We appreciate your time and support of the Robert Ruark Inn.
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I would highly recommend this B&B. Rick & Linda were very sweet and accommodating! The breakfast every morning was amazing and the bed in our room was so comfy. Kevin and I had a wonderful stay and would definitely love to visit the inn as well as Southport & Bald Head Island again in the future.

Kristy from Atlanta, GA

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the Robert Ruark Inn. It was a pleasure meeting you and Kevin. So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your time in Southport and on Bald Head Island. We are hoping you get a chance to visit here again soon. Thanks again for your review. We appreciate it very much!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Linda and Rick work together to make this a terrific B & B where you feel welcome and very much at home. I have visited many inns in North and South Carolina and Virginia but would say this place is one of the best. The comfortable accomodations with the jetted showers and great rosemary mint shampoo were part of the charm as well as the soft dreamy bed. The breakfasts were varied, delicious and healthy! Anything you need, they are willing to try to accomodate you if they can. The tour of Southport by golf cart was so much fun and Rick is an informative and enthusiastic guide. I felt comfortable, safe and happy. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margiet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
It was so great having you in Southport and at the Robert Ruark Inn. We were so sad to see you go! It was neat talking with you about all your travels!

We appreciate the comments regarding breakfast and the tour, too. Rick loves giving those tours! Southport has so much charm and history. Even when we think we know a lot, we learn a new detail to tell our guests.

Thanks again for staying at the Robert Ruark Inn and giving us the opportunity to make your stay memorable. And.....giving us the opportunity to meet you! Hope we will see you again, soon!

Take care. Thanks again!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is the historical home of the late writer Robert Raurk, beautifully preserved in every detail, If you are looking authentic southern charm and hospitality, Linda and Rick will welcome you into their home for and experience you won't forget. The host and hostess are warm fun loving folks who have been in the area for many years. The kind of Inn keepers who will help you with any request you may have. By far the best place to stay in Southport, NC. hands down!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms #1Robert Raurk room (A+) and also in the #2 Virginia Room (A+) as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BULALY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review on the Robert Ruark Inn. It was so nice meeting you both! We enjoyed talking with you and chatting about North Carolina! You both have so much energy and looked like you were absorbing every minute boating, biking, walking, dining, etc. around Southport. We were sad to see you leave. We will, however, look forward to you staying again and/or you stopping by when you are on your next, nearby family island vacation!

Thanks again for the wonderful comments! You both take care! Have a wonderful July 4!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Linda and Rick went above and beyond all expectation when my family and I stayed there during my wedding weekend. The rooms could not be more comfortable, the yummy linens, soaps, shampoos and towels were all great. We hosted my bridesmaids brunch there and everything was fabulous. The Inn is nearby everything downtown and if you don't feel like walking chances are you maybe able to get Rick to drive you in their roomy golf cart! They know several people in town and offered all sorts of solutions to any wedding issues we were having. They have great outdoor space for eating and hanging out, and they almost always have some sort of goodies out to eat or drink. Lastly, the breakfast service always made us feel special and it was of coarse yummy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review and comments on TripAdvisor. Rick and I truly enjoyed having you and your family at the Inn. We are so honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn for your family during this very, very special occassion. It was so nice meeting you, your new husband and your family. Wonderful people!

We have often referenced the "wonderful family" who was here earlier in the year for a special wedding weekend. It was also nice to be the venue of your bridal luncheon.

We wish you and your new husband the very, very best every day of your lives! We hope to see you again in the future. Please give our best to your husband, parents and grandparents.

Thanks again for the wonderful feedback and comments regarding the Robert Ruark Inn on TripAdvisor!
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Inn. The house is beautiful, clean and extremely comfortable. Rick and Linda are wonderful hosts, making you feel welcome yet respecting your privacy. The breakfast is very good and is a great way to start the day in a charming setting. We look forward to going back to stay at their Inn and seeing more of the area.

R & M

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and comment on the Robert Ruark Inn.

It was a pleasure meeting you both. We are glad you had the time to explore the Southport area and to spend time at the Inn.

Thanks, too, for the comments about breakfast. We strive to make it a tasty, memorable experience and are always happy to hear these fabulous comments.

Have a great summer! Hope to see you again!
All our best,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Property: Robert Ruark Inn
Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing