We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carroll, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I drove to Wilmington, NC from Pinehurst for the annual February camellia show. What a nice show! After that we headed for Southport, a trip that ended up being about an hour. This was a nice town! I only wish that we had more time to meander through the shops and back streets....I wanted to visit more of the nice looking restaurants too! We ate at "Mr. P's" which had good seafood. The only problem was some trouble with slow service, which was also experienced by another couple that we met. Fortunately, we were in no hurry. It was ok just to "chill" in the restaurant. The fudge shop was marvelous! There are also several antique shops which are fun to see.
Of course, this review is about the inn, so let's get back to that. Linda and Rick are wonderful hosts. They serve a lovely afternoon snack. They also served a delicious breakfast with quiche, fruit, and sausage. Coffee is available all of the time. There is a parlor for reading; the sun enters that room just right, and you could sit for hours reading! the outside porch with the gas pit are great too....Sitting and rocking on the front porch could also be a fine past time! We stayed on the first floor with a gas fireplace, comfy king bed, and a huge shower. This room was lovely, but without carpet you will get some noise from the upstairs and the kitchen. It actually reminded me of my childhood and hearing my mother fixing breakfast in the morning, which made it ok, along with the delicious smells.
Rick's golf cart tour of the town was incredible! He truly knows the town where he lives, including the many shows and movies that have been filmed here (including Under the Dome), the history, and places to go. The trip would not have been complete without this tour. If I was to go back to Southport, which I plan to do, I would stay again at this clean, wonderful and historic home (maybe try the room upstairs with the balcony), meander the safe streets on foot or on the inn's bike(s), and would go to nearby Bald Head Island...take the ferry (no cars allowed), and would hike it! Stay away on July 4th though, unless you love crowds. Understand the whole area is booked a year in advance for the week long festivities.

Room Tip: One bedroom upstairs is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review. It was wonderful meeting you both. I'm so glad you ventured from your day in Wilmington to spend your night and next day in Southport. We love getting to share our Inn and our sweet Southport with all our guests.

We hope to see you again one day and wish you a wonderful flowering and gardening season ahead!

All our best,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I visited the Robert Ruark Inn for a long Valentine's Weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Rick and Linda are wonderful hosts. We enjoyed the Virginia Room on the first floor. It was spacious, beautifully furnished, and comfortable. It has a large bathroom and huge shower. Rick prepared us and the other guests delicious breakfasts, one day a blueberry strata, and the next a tasty quiche. Rick invited us on an informative, entertaining golf cart tour of Southport, pointing out the historical sites and set locations for all the movies filmed there. The Inn is conveniently located just a block from the shops on the main street in Southport. We highly recommend the Inn and stay in Southport, and look forward to our return visit to the Inn soon.

Room Tip: The Virginia Room is on the first floor, and has easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BMcNeill2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We greatly appreciate the kind review and you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and on TripAdvisor. We value the opinion of our guests a lot!

It was wonderful meeting you both. We feel honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn for your Valentine Weekend Trip to Southport.

We hope to see you again one day and appreciate your time and for choosing the Inn!!!
All our very, very best,
Linda & Rick
P.S. Rick loves to hear people enjoy his tours. He enjoys giving them a lot, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Overall this Inn is very good. Park the car and walk every where. It is just beautiful and we would definitely return. I would ask for a different room as the bed was small and not very comfortable. Not terrible but not great. Breakfast and snacks were good.

Room Tip: Inn was wonderful. Great location, great innkeepers, good food, only drawback, bed as not very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nanci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Inn and your time in Southport. We are pleased you had a nice time and would come back. We would love to see you both again, too. I will make a file note that you would prefer one of the other three rooms. Although Charlotte's Room has a private bath, many windows and vaulted ceiling it is smaller than our other three rooms. We make sure our bedding, furnishings and amenities are all the same but the room is smaller. Sometimes i feel like we have too much furniture in the room. I have to stay out of the antique stores. :)

Thank you so much for your time and for choosing the Robert Ruark Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a very nice BB, my husband and I would highly recommend staying here.
We stayed in the captain's room,very comfortable king size bed. This room also has a private balcony. The room has a private bath also. The Robert Ruark is a charming and beautiful BB!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edwards1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Robert Ruark Inn! We enjoyed meeting you both a lot and hope we will get to see you again one day!

All our very, very best,
Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I went on our honeymoon for a few night's stay and were totally taken away by the beauty and charm of this peaceful home. The Inn is so warm and cozy, charming and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Captain's Room with our own private balcony right outside our room. We were so thrilled to find a wonderful, chilled bottle of champagne in our room upon arrival with small tea lights glowing around our room.
We were amazed at the beautiful coastal town that was small yet cozy. Rick and Linda were the ultimate of host and Rick gives informative and pleasant tours of the town in his golf cart. They provided bicycles for their guests and we took full advantage of the offer. We rode around town for three days, from riding at night to dinner in town, which is perfectly safe, to riding along the bay with all the wonderful sounds of a sea town.
The breakfasts were wonderful; Rick you are amazing in the kitchen. There was wine, cheese, snacks, tea, coffee and water throughout the day.
It was a visit that we will always remember and will return again soon.

Room Tip: The Captain Adkins Room is divine and very private! Most romantic with it's own private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Donna,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It warms my heart to hear you say "it was a visit you will always remember." I get so excited to think that not only did you enjoy the Inn while you were here, but that it will be a memory you will treasure.

One of my favorite sayings is "It's not the breaths we take but the moments that take our breath away." We really do look forward to creating memorable moments for our guests at the Robert Ruark Inn.

We felt so honored that you choose the Inn for your honeymoon. You are a lovely, lovely couple and we wish you much happiness today, tomorrow and throughout your lives together. We hope to see you again one day.

All our very best,
Linda and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I stay at B&Bs all around the country and often we find a beautiful place to stay, or very accommodating owners, or good food, or just a relaxing place to stay. But the Robert Ruark Inn is the total package! The Inn is gorgeous. Virginia's Room is amazingly large, with a very comfortable king-sized bed and a fireplace, and the bathroom is to die for. The over-sized shower has multiple shower heads making showering in the morning like a trip to the spa. The rest of the Inn is beautifully decorated and has multiple charming places, inside and out, to relax in. My favorite is the rocking chairs on the front porch where you can also wave and speak to the friendly townsfolk as they walk by. As if this is not enough, the owners, Rick and Linda, make you feel like royalty. They are charming, accommodating, and helpful and Rick gives the most amazing tours of Southport. The breakfast is also great and if you are looking for a treat later, Rick and Linda also own a charming tea house, Southport Tea House, that will complete your Southport experience. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the location also. It is perfectly placed such that we could walk to the shops, restaurants, and the water (two blocks to anything!). We never moved our car. This Inn is my favorite find and is one that we will definitely return to every chance we get.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much Susan for your kind words and review. We are beaming after reading that we are the "Total Package." We are so happy you feel at home and enjoy the Inn's rooms and private bathrooms. Rick loves to hear that his breakfasts are a hit, too!!!

Thank you so much for your review. It validates that we are achieving our goal of great customer service and guest experience. We keep trying to make every moment memorable for our guests.

See you again soon. We were thrilled to get your new reservation online. Looking forward to seeing you both.

All our best,
Linda and Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is truly a wonderful experience you don't want to miss. We actually enjoyed it so much, we have been back and already scheduling a return trip. The home is gorgeously decorated with rich antique furniture, yet it is very cozy and comfortable. Love having a private bathroom for each bedroom. The friendly Innkeepers make you feel like family and provide many wonderful treats for the guests. The delicious breakfasts served are not your typical bed and breakfast foods. Rick and Linda really make you feel at home, and you can tell they enjoy having their guests!

Room Tip: First floor room has a big bathroom with a special full body shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Manager at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you Dottie,
It was so nice of you to write a review of your experience at the Robert Ruark Inn. We do truly enjoy meeting and serving our guests at the Inn. It is wonderful meeting everyone and knowing they are having a great experience at the Inn and in our lovely coastal town, Southport.

That is why we started giving our tours of Southport. We want to make sure all our guests don't miss a thing.

Thank you so much. We enjoyed having you both at the Robert Ruark Inn and are thrilled that you had such a great experience.
All our very best,
Rick and Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Property: Robert Ruark Inn
Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing