We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed at the Robert Ruark Inn this weekend for the second time to celebrate my husband's birthday.As on the first visit we loved everything about the inn.We stayed in our favorite room again-The Captain Adkins room and feel like this is our home in Southport.Thank you Rick and Linda for another wonderful weekend and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful TripAdvisor review. It was great seeing you both again. It warms our hearts to have guests come back to the Inn and share their stories with us. We also love hearing that the Robert Ruark Inn is chosen for special occasions and is a key destination for R&R. You two are a special, loving couple. Thank you for sharing your special times with us/the Inn! We feel honored. Have a wonderful summer. Take care!!! Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
171
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beautiful decor, elegant design. First class. Owner Rick is a great guy. Walk all over historic Southport. Waterfront and restaurants close at hand. Highly recommended. Live oak tree lined streets taker you back to a more genteel time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We love to hear that everyone enjoys our Inn and service. It means a lot and tells us we are on the right track! Thanks, too, for your kind comments about Rick. He really appreciated them. As his wife and business partner, I do agree. He's a pretty great guy. It's nice to be owning and running an Inn with someone who loves it as much as I do.

Thank you again for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review.

All my best,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trayciem
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were fortunate to find our favourite place on our 3 week vacation of the east coast in Southampton, we stayed in two rooms both stunning with fireplaces and comfy beds. Perfect location for the town, beach, restaurants and pier we had planned to stay one night before heading to dc but loved it so much we drove back from dc after one night for another stay. Rick and Linda were great hosts and ricks golf cart tour was really fun and informative. Linda's scones and tea at her tea room were fabulous and I lef a bit of my heart in southport. Thanks Linda and Rick we loved your place and town. Linda did the dog get you the right Mother's Day present ???? Ps if you're staying here plan to eat before 830pm it's not a late night town

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous but the ground floor one has a special bathroom that could shower a small arm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trayciem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Traycie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you both very much. It meant the world to us that you came back a second time that week!!! You both are so nice. It was great seeing your smiling faces again! Thanks, too, for your comments on the scones. I'm always trying to get them just right.

Yes....Maggie (our dog) bought me the perfect necklace! It has longitude/latitude on it so I'll never get lost whether on land or sea!

We hope to see you both again one day! All our very, very best for a wonderful summer and every future day!

Take care,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were back for another stay at our favorite bed and breakfast. We can never get enough of the hospitality of Rick and Linda. We tried a different room this time, Charlotte's Room, and it was charming. It has a cathedral ceiling and a claw foot shower (yes shower). The breakfast was great as always and we enjoy meeting the interesting people that stay at the inn. With it being spring we spent lots of time sitting on the terrace. Others were taking advantage of the rocking chairs on the front porch. The whole inn has such a welcoming feeling. I love Southport and can't imagine staying anywhere else but here. I find myself planning our trips around room availability at the inn!

Room Tip: We have stayed in 3 or the 4 rooms and each has its own personality. If you are going to be there m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review Susan. We enjoyed seeing you earlier in the month and look forward to seeing you again soon. We greatly appreciate your review and comments. We are continually looking for ways to make our guest experience the best! Your feedback helps direct us and reinforce our efforts. Thank you so much for the support in our endeavors to always be "raising the bar" and delivering the best guest service! Take care!!! Thanks again, Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had the happy occasion to stay here during her Spring Break week from teaching high schoolers in CT. From the moment I made the reservation until we unfortunately had to depart, our experience was superb.
We were greeted warmly by Rick on Monday afternoon and after checking in enjoyed a nice glass of red wine on the side porch reveling in the relative warmth of the NC shore and not missing for a minute the snow back home in CT. Rick and Linda were so thoughtful in providing gluten-free options for my wife for both the Monday afternoon appetizers and the Tuesday morning breakfast.
Rick's suggestion of Mr. P's Bistro for fresh seafood was spot-on as our flounder and oysters were wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed strolling through Southport and soaking up the atmosphere. We will definitely stay here on future visits and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a break from an institutional hotel experience. Thanks for being such great hosts!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hobie1Kenobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
You made our day! It was wonderful to read your review and to know that you had such a great time here! We enjoyed meeting you both very much and are honored that you chose us as a destination for your vacation. We hope we'll get to see you again one day and are happy we got to meet you this April!

Have a GREAT spring and summer!!!
All our very best,
Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I had traveled to Southport previously for a day and had planned a more lengthy return for over a year. Our research continually pointed to the Robert Ruark Inn as the place to stay. I booked it for our anniversary and had to pry my wife away with the promise to return soon.

I personally have never felt so comfortable and well tended to. The owners are great, great people. Rick and Linda are just as much the star of this house as is the beauty and history of the house and it's surroundings. Delicious, healthy breakfasts in the morning. The cart ride around town really helped plan our activities throughout our stay and was quite fascinating.

The location is in a perfect place if you want to be near everything, and yet just outside the bustle of tourist swarms.We can't wait to go back, and no one should hesitate to reserve their rooms at this warm and wonderful home. Thank you for making our anniversary one to remember and treasure.

Room Tip: Charlotte's Room was the smaller room (I guess) but it was plenty spacious and the high ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bvillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing our Inn for your special anniversary celebration! We feel honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn and that you enjoyed your time here. We were thrilled that you had beautiful weather for your long weekend....and especially your anniversary celebration.

We enjoyed meeting you both very much. You are such a lovely couple.

Thank you so much, too, for taking the time to write a review of the Inn and your time here. It means a lot to us and makes our day when we hear that our guests truly enjoyed their visits.

All our very, very best to you both. Happy Anniversary!!! We hope to see you again one day!
Take care,
Rick & Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I took my mom to stay here for her birthday. It was a awesome place to stay. The owners are so nice. My mom loved it and so did I. I would love to come back with my husband. My mom and I really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbbwjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
It was wonderful meeting you and your mother. We feel honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn for your special time together. Thank you so much for sharing your comments and taking the time to put review the Inn. We hope to see you again one day.

All our very, very best,
Linda & Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Property: Robert Ruark Inn
Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing