We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Robert Ruark Inn
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Southport(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Southport)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Crest Motel(Oak Island)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
285
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia's roomgolf cart tourb brick's tourquichefire pitbald head islandfront porchlocal historybreakfasts were wonderfulperiod furnishingsin townbed and breakfastlittle extraswine and cheesebeautiful historic homesnacks and beverages
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I went to the Robert Ruak Inn, and we felt so welcomed from the first minute of getting there. The house is absolutely beautiful and elegantly restored to make you feel like you are back in time. David, the Innkeeper and Chef, is one of the nicest people you can meet, so welcoming and hospitable and his food is to die for! Best Shrimp & Grits I have ever had and all of his touches as so good, like homemade fudge and coffee cakes on display for you to enjoy. We cannot wait to go back for another getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtw0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

From the beginning of our visit to the end, we had a wonderful time at the Robert Ruark Inn. My wife and I celebrated our 31st anniversary at the Inn for two nights, and we couldn't have made a better choice. David, the innkeeper, is a wonderful host and conversationalist--he can tell you all you want to know about Robert Ruark and Southport and the surrounding area. He is a wonderful cook as well, and maintains a spotless, charming, comfortable, and thoroughly elegant inn. We plan to return to the Inn for many years to come! Stay in Virginia's room if you get the chance: simply wonderful! Thanks again, David! The coffee cake is all gone! :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southport-Gamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The Robert Ruark Inn freshens the entire bed and breakfast inn industry! This beautifully designed and decorated, meticulously kept, and expertly managed B&B will leave you wanting more! My husband and I spent four nights here and every aspect of this delightful inn exceeded our expectations! Love history? ... great local author connection (Robert Ruark)! Love exquisitely comfortable bedrooms and private baths? Love the seashore? ... shady, one-block walk. Love the best ever, cooked-to-please-just-for-you breakfasts? ... awesome shrimp and grits, blueberry pancakes and waffles, honeyed bacon, etc. Love an amazingly friendly, considerate innkeep? ... David, David, David! It's all here and more! We met great folks of all ages enjoying their stay. For us it was an absolutely perfect 40th anniversary destination and an inn we will definitely revisit in any season!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYwriter000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

My wife and I just celebrated our 15th at this inn. We could not be more pleased with the whole experience! The innkeeper ( David ) was so friendly we felt like family instead of guests. The house itself is just beautiful and the room we stayed in was awesome, we had the Captain Adkins Room. The food David prepared was so tasty we will be dieting for the near future. All in all we would recommend this Inn to anyone going to the Southport area. We plan to return many times.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo4669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the smell of cinnamon bread baking and stepped into the charming atmosphere of the Robert Ruark Inn. David is the quintessential host with his instantly likeable personality and unpretentious demeanor. Guests instantly feel welcome here. Southport is a pleasant Southern riverfront town with restaurants and shops, yet it retains its maritime heritage. The Visitors' Center is a block down the street. I read Robert Ruark's The Old Man and the Boy to get a feel for the author's loving relationship with Captain Adkins and Hanson Ruark, his two grandfathers, and exactly what it was like living with them in Southport as a boy growing up in the l920's. The two best rooms at the inn require a choice between Captain Adkins' Room (with a small balcony on the second floor frontside) or Virginia's Room (on the first floor with a fabulous jetted shower). David's shrimp and grits for breakfast rivaled (and beat out) any fine dining shrimp and grits entree we have ever eaten, and we live in a similar NC seaport town ourselves! A most enjoyable overnighter enroute to visit friends in Charlotte. Thank you, David, for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews