We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”
Review of Robert Ruark Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Robert Ruark Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Southport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Top notch”
Reviewed 9 May 2010

My wife and I spent a couple of days at the Robert Ruark Inn at the end of April. So as not to repeat what has already been posted here, I will just agree with and confirm what has already been said. We've been staying at B&Bs for two decades and have to say that RRI ranks with the very best of them. Most B&Bs pride themselves, and try to outdo one another, with their breakfasts. The RRI however, takes it to another level. The innkeeper is a former chef/restaurateur and goes out of his way to cater to his guests. We're "foodies" and he actually made us feel like we had a personal chef! There are several dining options in Southport and tons more 30 minutes away in Wilmington, but don't be surprised if your most memorable food and meals will be those you had at the RRI. We are tempted to return just to experience that again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranklinBusyBody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
187
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. David, the Inn owner and chef, was the nicest man! You can tell he is truly passionate about what he does, and he is a wonderful chef! I had shrimp and grits for breakfast, and my husband had a blueberry waffle that filled the entire plate. We were so pleased, and happy to have stayed there. The rooms are comfortable with modern amenities, yet have maintained the character and old fashioned charm you would expect for a home with such history. We will be coming back for years to come, and are grateful for our experience at the Robert Ruark Inn.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackford10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burtonsville, MD
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Captain Adkin's room after our wedding and before proceeding to Bald Head Island for the remainder of the honeymoon. It was the finest stay of our lives! The room was fantastic. It was unobtrusively appointed with period decor of a nautical theme, reflecting its namesake. The king bed was incredibly comfortable in all facets: mattress, sheets, blankets, pillows. The bathroom had an extra-large, clawfoot soaking tub, and a very large double vanity. The room included a writing desk, ample closet space, and a cute, private balcony with seating for two, overlooking the street below.

The manager, David, made the stay wonderful. He was perfectly inviting, and while he was easy to talk to and willing to engage on a personal level, he knew how to respect our wishes for privacy. He saw to it that we had a delicious evening snack complete with salmon cakes and bruschetta. If you have a chance to try his bruschetta, be sure you do! Breakfast was perfect, especially since guests are given the option of choosing from an assortment of items. During our stay, we could choose shrimp and grits, blueberry pancakes, German pancakes, and eggs benedict. While all options looked wonderful, the shrimp and grits were clearly the specialty of the house. The traditional low-country fare is faithfully represented in its native environment. An ample serving of shrimp sit amongst creamy grits with cheese, diced tomatoes and other accoutrements.

We felt especially well taken care of when David: 1) Let us make use of one of the refrigerators to store our wedding leftovers and 2) Personally gave us a ride to the Bald Head Island ferry so that we would not have to take a cab.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCStateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIlmington
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Wonderful trip. Excellent food & service. Extremely friendly staff. If your looking for peace, comfort & simplicity visit Southport, NC and stay at the Robert Ruark Inn. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grabow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2010

How could anyone write anything but glowing reviews on the Robert Ruark Inn? From the time I drove up and parked out front of this beautiful house, I was greeted with such warmth and a feeling of such welcome from Roger, who was skillfully planting seasonal flowers at the front of the house. I knew right then and there why the Robert Ruark Inn is the #1 B&B in Southport. As well as being a beautiful house, it is filled with happiness, laughter and obviously cared for with much love. Maybe this is the way it always was in the 1900’s and if that is the case the tradition has continued. When I entered Victoria's Room there was a note welcoming me with a special treat of homemade fudge which I enjoyed each night as a little treat. The bathroom has the most amazing shower and and once you lay on the bed you will absolutely melt into it. I so enjoyed the time I spent on the porch in the rocking chair absorbing the beauty of the neighborhood, hearing the birds sing, having a glass of wine and having such good conversation. If you are looking to spend time in a bed and breakfast where you are treated with such genuine care this is the place for you. David and Lisal were the utmost of hosts serving the most sumptuous breakfasts with such a flair of unobtrusiveness but positive conversation that flows if you want it. Ask David to play the piano. He is quite an amazing writer of music and a man who makes everyone feel like they're very special. But once you start and end conversation with David, you walk away and then realize who the special person really is.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The rooms are lovely, in Victorian character, but not overdone. The beds and linens were excellent. The food - delicious.! But it is the host, David, who sets the tone (and provides the expert cooking) making you feel like an old friend while at the same time treating you like an honored guest.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcubed48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Last minute trip for our 10th anniv. and thought we would just find a nice quiet place to stay in Southport. What we found was amazing!!! The Robert Ruark Inn is by far the BEST B&B in town! We were treated like royalty from the time we checked in. We cant say enough about the Inn Keeper David. He really knows how to treat his guest. His character, cooking, attitude and faith are all tops! Speaking of cooking, this guy can do it! Breakfast was incredible. Fresh blueberry pancackes for my wife and the BEST shrimp and grits I've ever had! If that wasnt enough, he prepared fresh country sausage and sugar cured bacon that was to die for. Ok, so enough about the food and more about the accomodations. Every room in the house has it's own perks. We reserved the Virginia room that was located downstairs. King bed, gas fireplace, flat screen tv and a shower that is straight out of the finest of spas! To wrap up this review all i can say is come hungry and be prepared to be pampered. Thanks again to David and the owners for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyfisher71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
24.1 mi away
Ocean Isle Inn
Ocean Isle Inn
#1 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Ruark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Ruark Inn

Property: Robert Ruark Inn
Address: 119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quaint village of Southport, NC and featured in Coastal Living in 2015 and 2013 , The Robert Ruark Inn is a beautifully restored Inn built in 1890 and restored in 2008. The entire Inn is decorated in fine antiques from the spectacular suites (all with own bath) to the parlor, formal dining room and throughout. There is a lovely front rocking porch, a warm and inviting brick courtyard with rockers and small bistro tables and plenty of bicycles to tour Southport, NC. A full, delicious breakfast is served every morning, wine & tea with light hors d'oeuves are complimentary every afternoon and a 24/7 coffee/tea service available.Service is a high priority at the Robert Ruark Inn. Exquisite linens, Aveda bath products, tours of Southport aboard the Inn's six passenger golf cart and service, service, service complete the picture. Whether touring or escaping for a weekend or few nights, the Robert Ruark Inn has the beauty, charm and service you should expect from any exclusive, elegant Inn. Come join us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Robert Ruark Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing