We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Very accommodating staff, nice & clean facilities. Easily accessible to local beaches & attractions. The Slainte's Irish pub, located in the same shopping center, is a fun, easygoing atmosphere to enjoy spirits after a day on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you found our facility accessible to the local beaches and attractions that the town of Southport and Oak Island has to offer. If you are in the area again please call us personally and we will make your reservations for you.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Patricia O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My mother and I checked in to Room 406. I have attempted two or three times to talk with the manager, asst manager, Crystal, and since the stay have called Howard Johnsons. They assured me someone would get back with me by June 18, but I have not been contacted. To make a long story short, when we checked in the Room 406 the connector door was not bolted, allowing people in the other room in our room. Then when I got the bags in the room. A huge bug or something else, approximately 2x3 or 3x3 was crawling up and down the back wall. The next morning I spoke with the asst manager and she said they had not had the room searched yet, but that they would call me as soon as they did. That was May 31st and today is June 20 and I have still not heard back. Crystal was great that awful night and got us into another room (Thank God!), but still it was a horrible experience and not one I would want anyone else to have. I contacted Howard Johnson and Wyndham Southport never has contacted me. I stayed at this location last year and it was a wonderful stay, but no more. This clouded the whole stay and I was thankful we were leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a review regarding your stay with us. We do want to apologize for the concerns you had during your stay and we do want you to know that management done everything that they could do that night that you stayed at the hotel. The frontdesk employee did move you to another room as you stated in your comments. So very sorry that this happened to you and that you called Howard Johnsons trying to get in touch with someone here at the hotel, we are sorry for not getting back in touch with you regarding this matter but we had no idea that you were trying to get in touch with us. Also we did search the room that night after you were moved and again the next day and there was nothing in the room. Will bring this to the managers attention in the next meeting.

With Regards,
Wingate by Wyndham
Southport, NC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
2  Thank David Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WingateSouthpor... N, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Southport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
576 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 5 in Southport
291 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
438 reviews
24 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 3 in Ocean Isle Beach
531 reviews
10.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Southport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Southport

Address: 1511 N Howe St, Southport, NC 28461-2608
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range: £59 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Southport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 45 minutes from Fort Fisher Aquarium in Kure Beach NC ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Southport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Southport Hotel Southport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing