We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Mr. P's Bistro

Mr. P's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A longtime Southport institution, one of the top dining spots in town. Low Country-leaning menu. Good wine list
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had our first dinner as an engaged couple here, and there's only one way to describe it: perfection. Excellent food, great service, awesome drinks, and perfect location in beautiful downtown Southport. We'll be back soon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ens0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    96
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Southport”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were in the area and looking for a place to eat in Southport - we found Mr. P's! The service was good, the food choices were tasty, and we were very pleased with our choice. We arrived early, and were able to get a table, but if you plan to eat after 6:00 or 6:30, you need to make a reservation. They even had good food choices for our picky children!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaDuck2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supply, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Impressive first visit. Blackened Prime Rib was perfect and larger than ordered. Lots of variety for side dishes. Companion had salmon oscar style (hollandaise); very tasty. Ashley did a great job. Will be back when I have another 70$ earmarked for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank jmoon16333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. Perfect for anniversary dinner.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I took my gf to Mr. P's for our anniversary and it was outstanding. Food was very good and they provided some of the best service I've ever had. It was a great evening and one of the highlights of our trip.

Helpful?
Thank IceUpSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richlands, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved It (Great Menu, Food, and Service)”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lived up to its great reviews. We dined here (at the bar) on the evening of the mostly rained out Southport Spring Festival. The restaurant was packed. We had a wait (no reservations), but the bartender was fast taking orders and getting drinks out to the wait staff and the other patrons--like us--waiting for a table. The wait seemed almost festive. We opted for the "first available" option, which was at the bar. Quick service there as well. We chose Mr. P's based on its reviews and the menu, which seemed the most interesting of Southport's downtown restaurants (lots of oyster appetizer options, and with the exception of fried green tomatoes, each appetizer was based on seafood). In additional to the traditional eastern Carolina fried seafood options, Mr. P's also offers Low Country specialities such as shrimp and grits, crab cakes, and gumbo. The entrees aren't cheap, but there's an option of sharing an entree for an up charge of $6.00 (with two additional sides), which we were actually encouraged to try when the bartender heard us discussing it. We tried the Oysters Bienville (if you like oysters, try this) and shared the Mixed Grill Seafood Platter, (a very generous serving for the $27.95), and the food was delicious. The exterior belies the elegance inside. No complaints. When we return to Southport, we will return to Mr. P's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adigression
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. P's Bistro also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mr. P's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing