We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel on Howe”
Review of Mr. P's Bistro

Mr. P's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A longtime Southport institution, one of the top dining spots in town. Low Country-leaning menu. Good wine list
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Jewel on Howe”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Delightful in every way! Attentive, professional service, delicious food- the only problem is deciding what to order! Make a reservation during season- it fills up fast.

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    98
    30
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Southport does not lack for good places to eat. Mr. P's is one of the best. We went on a Monday evening about 6:45 pm. By 7:00 the place was almost full. I strongly recommend reservations. Our server seemed a bit distracted during the evening. It took her a while to ask for our drink order and she appeared to be overwhelmed after that. The food was delicious. I had the mixed seafood platter and my husband had the yellow fin tuna. Both were served with fresh corn. We split a piece of key lime pie for dessert. It was good but not outstanding. We would definitely return.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conover, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A great little restaurant in downtown Southport NC. Located on Howe Street. Best to make reservations as it is always busy and not that big. The grilled Filet Mignon was tender and had great flavor! The Grouper was also excellent! Save room for dessert as it is all homemade. We love the Pecan Pie.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suegirlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr. P's never disappoints.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I've been going to Mr. P's for the past 12 years, since before I moved to the Southport area. It remains one of my favorite restaurants in this area. The quality of the food is consistently high and the service can't be beat. Chris, the manager, is friendly, accommodating, and always "around" to see that guests are happy. Their Shrimp and Grits, Oyster Sampler, Fried Green Tomatoes, and Underground Tuna are my favorite dishes. Although they have a fairly large menu, I keep returning to these favorites because they are so good. If you want great low-country food in a comfortable atmosphere, Mr. P's is for you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice, Good Food and Service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This restaurant was recommended by locals and was deemed the best food served in town. We were not disappointed. Food was promptly served and the service was good. Our initial drinks were a little delayed in getting to us but that was not that big of a deal.

The menu offered many items and they were willing to substitute items, cooking methods or sauces which we do not see that often. I asked them to add chicken to my Fried Goat Cheese salad and they gladly accommodated my request. I will definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. P's Bistro also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Mr. P's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing