We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican”

San Felipe Restaurante Mexicano
Ranked #47 of 82 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I'm from a somewhat larger city and all of the Mexican restaurants here are bland and almost identical. San Felipe is amazingly different. The food is excellent, very flavorful, always wonderful. The staff is efficient and pleasant.

This is one of our constantly go-to places when we're working in Southport. It is absolutely worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food at the Coast”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I'm almost afraid to tell you how good the Fajitas are. Combine their Wednesday night Fajita special with their Wednesday night $.99 Margueritas and its great mid-week fiesta!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Southport211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Mexican good eats”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

From the outside, San Felipe does not inspire. Tucked in a strip mall it's outward appearance is not intriguing. Rightly or wrongly, for that reason we never felt inclined to frequent it until we began hearing good things about the food and finally one evening decided to try it. There is an extensive menu and on the multiple occasions that we have now visited it, have never been disappointed. The food is good, and also affordable. Best of all, Wednesdays are $.99 margarita days. It is always busy and now we know why.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We eat at San Felipe's often and have never been unhappy with our meal. Waiters are nice, quick and polite. Prices are great and food is delicious. They have specials on their drinks which is a plus. Will go back often.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peggy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Spring, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the Texas Fajitas”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family loves this place. Everytime we are in Southport we go to San Felipe. They have great salsa and chips and our favorite is the Texas fajitas (shrimp, chicken and steak). We have tried some of the other Mexican places in SP and OKI and this is our favorite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Felipe Restaurante Mexicano also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to San Felipe Restaurante Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing