We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation / family / good food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ports of Call

Ports of Call
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Downtown at 116 N Howe St. Southport, NC 28461 Two blocks from the water.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation / family / good food ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have now been here twice and the food is fabulous. Bar has a great wine selection - ask for Ben, he knows his stuff. Skip the long lines for mediocre food on the water and come here. Great food, great atmosphere. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    73
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My granddaughter wanted to visit this location because it was in the movie, Safe Haven! So, of course, we stopped in on Sunday for brunch. The food was great and the atmosphere was nice and quiet! I would definitely recommend visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajwhitehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We read Tripadvisor ratings on the many restaurants in this seaside town and settled on Ports of Call after agreeing that it would make a nice pre-Father's Day lunch spot. I ignored a few reviews by people offering low ratings simply because they had a tired or overworked food server the day they ate here, especially if they gave it high marks for food and atmosphere.
We made lunch reservations thinking it would be busy on a Saturday in June, but it was unnecessary. The interior is warm, romantic, and well-decorated, so don't come here with unruly children (ours are not). The host seated us at table where Josh Duhamel and Julianne Hough ate dinner in a scene from the critically panned film, "Safe Haven." There's even a small shrine to the movie near the restrooms and a nook where guests can sip wine or read, a unique feature. The bar is all dark wood and offers plenty of wine and beverage choices.
As for our lunches, my wife and I ordered the Sea BLT, which isn't a sandwich but rather a salad of Maine lobster, shrimp, and crab on top of fried green tomatoes. It is small and rather pricey but very flavorful and thus worth it. If you're starving and want fried seafood, you can have the fried oysters, lemon dill aioli, and hand-cut fries (my daughter did) with a mixed side salad. The lunch menu also offers Angus burgers, Cuban sandwiches, crab cakes and much more.
Our server was very attentive and helpful, too.
The location puts you in the heart of Southport and within a few blocks of the shore and right next to the kind of quaint and touristy shops you'd expect from coastal Carolina.
Note: If you have loud children please avoid since this is a great spot for romantic dining. I gave this 3 stars for families with children as a courtesy not a criticism.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family style tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After recently moving to Southport, we finally got to Ports of Call. What a great experience. We arrived early to have a drink at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and had several special drinks. Dinner was delicious. We decided to do all tapas and tried a few. The seafood blt was the favorite. The mussels and oysters were excellent also. Our waiter was very helpful with our dinner selections. The atmosphere and the people were very welcoming. Can't wait to return.


was the favorite

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Coconut Flounder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

If you love flounder you will really love this. Very light and flakey. Simply melts in your mouth. Great menu and excellent food. I expect to pay higher prices for execllence.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stubs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ports of Call also viewed

Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 
Southport, North Carolina Coast
Southport, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ports of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing