We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

southport is a nice, laid back place
to overnight... eat and drink on waterfront... the 2 waterhotels are a bit rundown
so we opted for comfort inn- 3.5 miles out...
nice, new... good service... rural setting... great pool... nice breakfast and good coffee

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayoutraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Southport is indeed a "nice, laid back" place to overnight. As you mentioned, opportunities for waterfront dining in addition to shopping, a less commercial beach area and local attractions make Southport a very nice stay. We are so pleased that you chose our hotel and appreciate your compliments to our service, rural setting, pool and complimentary breakfast. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    62
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
71
81
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very happy every time... except this one. We made reservations well in advance of our travel, and I am a platinum level Choice Privileges member. We arrived shortly before 6:00 PM. And our room was not ready. The desk person said that 50 people checked out late, so that meant no rooms were immediately available. While we were waiting to be served, the same story was told to three other people wanting to check in. I thought Choice Privileges membership meant something.... apparently not here, anyway. And then, after we checked in, we were told the elevator wasn't working. Finally, the hotel was completely filled which resulted in no place to sit for breakfast. Every table was filled, both inside and out, and there was a waiting line for seating. We opted to eat someplace else on the road. Now the room itself was spacious and comfortable. And because I am retired military we got a great rate. But I will think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent visit. It is difficult to hear when a guest has a less than satisfactory stay and especially so when that guest is a returning guest and a Choice Privileges member as well. The date that you stayed with us was an unexpectedly challenging time in accommodating the late check out needs of such a large group and as your previous visits confirm, not the normal occurrence for us. Our staff strives to meet and exceed the expectations of each of our guests, every stay and we failed to do so for you. When it rains, it pours? Very bad timing with a full house for the elevator to suffer a mechanical glitch and that was resolved as quickly as possible. We do hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and was just for overnight. The staff was friendly and breakfast was good with many options. We will stay here again. Remember this is a Comfort Suite and the rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneyLou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks so much for returning for a second stay with us. The best compliment that we can receive is that we make such a great impression on your first visit that you want to stay with us again! We are delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. Thanks for the reminder for other guests about how spacious our suites are - there is definitely plenty of room to spread out and relax!

Thanks for taking the time to share your positive experience with others on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is only 3 miles from the historic town of Southport NC.The hotel is clean and very friendly. I loved the rooms and fresh coffee was always ready. The hotel gave us a lot of tourist information and maps of the area.

Room Tip: The second floor has the computer set up and its private and great location to the entire floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Southport! Many of our guests love the convenience of our location - being so close to charming downtown Southport and also a close drive to the beach. Thanks so much for your compliments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We will happily pass along your compliments to our team! Our staff truly does love welcoming our guests to the hotel as if they were a guest in their own home.

Thanks so much for taking a moment to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Enjoyed my stay. Comfortable room and bed. Some items a little outdated but comfortable room and free breakfast was more than I expected. I did not have high expectations going in and they were met. Front Desk could have been a little more outgoing but they were friendly enough. I was upset as our room was missing shampoo. When I asked for some at the Front Desk late in the evening, they said they were out...??? really? Couldn't they at least go to the WalMart down the street and buy some mini bottles to provide guests upon request? Good thing I didn't expect much in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Otis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a family emergency and had to be in Southport on short notice. Fortunately one night was available at this Comfort Inn, as our usual choice was booked up. This property felt very new, very clean, and the staff were very friendly. Their rate was competitive and we will definitely stay here on a future trip to Southport.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking a moment to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry that a family emergency brought you to town, but we are happy that we had a room available for you. Thank you for the nice compliments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We are delighted to hear that we made such a great impression that we will be your new preferred hotel when visiting Southport!

Thanks again for sharing your experience with other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was in Southport during the 4th of July, and I couldn't find any vacancies as I planned my trip. It just so happened that the night before I was able to get this reservation. So I was very lucky. It was in a convenient location because Southport is known for their fireworks and activities during the 4th of July. I got there late, but they still held the reservation. The breakfast area was a little tight for the number of people that they had at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southport
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Southport
Hampton Inn Southport
#1 of 5 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Southport
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Southport - Oak Island Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
10.0 mi away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 4963 Southport Supply Rd SE, Southport, NC 28461-8742
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Southport
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Southport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This casual, all-suite hotel is 4 miles from the Oak Island Golf Club, and 5 miles from both the Bald Head Island Ferry and the Oak Island Pier. Airy suites come with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs, plus microwaves, minifridges, and coffeemakers. Complimentary parking and hot breakfast are provided. Other amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, an exercise room and a business center. Pets are allowed for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Southport
Comfort Suites Southport
Southport Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing